We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely drive up motel!”
Review of Tara Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Received a warm welcome on check-in.
Drove up to our room and walked into a clean, neat older style room.
Enjoyed a wonderful sleep on a very comfortable bed.
Helped ourselves to a continental breakfast in their nautical kitchen area.
Staff were always available if they were needed.
Would definitely come back if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RETIREDTRAVELLER06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmacke, Owner at Tara Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you for taking time to comment. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had difficulty finding somewhere in Pictou so we looked at the hotels/ motels in New Glasgow which was only about 15 mins away. We were glad we did!. I always tend to steer clear of 60s motels with drive ups and I'm glad I got over my snootiness in this regard :) The Tara Inn is certainly not new but it is clean as a whistle - it was spotless and had been refurbished a few years ago. It had comfortable, queen beds ( not too hard,not too soft....Goldilocks would have approved) the towels were white and fluffy, the tv worked well, as did the free wifi. We had looked at places twice the price. Here we had a wonderful night's rest and although our room was towards the front of the hotel and the main road into town it was quiet. Breakfast was just fine. Pancakes and waffles in the fridge, a variety of breads and cereals as well as fruit. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave good advice about where to eat out. We had a great overnight stay. Good for you Tara Inn for having such a good motel at such a good price. If I were to change anything I would change the hand soap. The shampoo was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank assenavab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmacke, Owner at Tara Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We strive to provide a good product.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We were in the area for a family wedding, and also did some sightseeing. We stayed six nights. This is an older place that has been kept up; it was all we needed as a base for our activities, although it wouldn't be a destination resort. There is lots of space for dog running. The breakfast room is in a separate building; no "bacon and eggs" but all we needed. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Our kids and friends stayed in the same motel, which was nice. We'd stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmacke, Owner at Tara Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Your comments appreciated.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Staff at desk very friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious and clean.I found bed a bit hard and not as comfy as ones at rooms had in past. Others thought comfy. One night stay for Brett Kissel concert. Great central location as everything was nearby and only $5.00 cab fare to and from concert. Right across street fr Shoppers, Kfc, Subway, etc. just up road. Close to hospital if anyone needed that. Price was excellent and included breakfast that I enjoyed in am.Good selection and clean and cozy eating area.Would stay again if needed a place to stay there.

Room Tip: rooms had own entrance with parking outside door so don't think makes much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmacke, Owner at Tara Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for taking time to comment. Your comments greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed there again on our way home from Celtic Colours . Room 111 where we stayed as usual was very clean .. Carpet just shampooed. Bed very comfortable .. Breakfast fine ..highly recommended unless you want luxury .. Luxurious enough for us . Very easy access off of exit 25 ..

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmacke, Owner at Tara Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you for your comments. No , we are not luxurious but we try to provide a feel-like-home atmosphere at a reasonable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
1.9 km away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
2 km away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
107 reviews
13.1 km away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
127 reviews
12.8 km away
The Scotsman Inn
The Scotsman Inn
#3 of 12 in Pictou
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Inn

Address: 917 East River Rd | New Glasgow, N.S., New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 3S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range: $86 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tara Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Inn has 32 drive-up units and one two bedroom suite. Complimentary continental breakfast and high speed internet. Quality rooms at a comfortable price. Canada Select 3 Stars. All rooms non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing