We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife in jail!”

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, a magical place on the edge of a continent where past and present come together to celebrate Canada’s diverse heritage. Please note that we have three seasons throughout the year: Low season Opportunities to experience the Fortress of Louisbourg's quiet streets during the low season allow visitors to imagine life in the toughest of conditions almost 300 years ago. While there are no services available, a low season visit may provide the best opportunity for visitors to experience the stillness of the streets, take in the beauty of the exterior architecture of the buildings, or simply enjoy the treasures that life's quietest moments may bring. For a new way to experience the site in the low season, try our Explora app. Through sound, video, photos, quizzes and text, you will hold stories about Louisbourg in your hands as you walk through both the reconstructed town and the fortress's ruins. Explora is available to download for free at the App Store and through Google Play. Shoulder season For those seeking quiet opportunities and some on-site services, visiting during the shoulder season is recommended. Visitors have the opportunity to enjoy an inspiring setting with beautiful visuals as they stand on our history-laden grounds. Several buildings with exhibits are open for you to discover. Explore the site on your own or embark on an Explora tour of the grounds. To enhance your visit you may purchase a guided tour or participate in the Time Travel program. Accessible guided tours are available as well. We recommend reserving a place on these tours in advance. By the end of June, the site will begin to fill with costumed interpreters as we ramp up for peak season. After Labour Day, the Fortress of Louisbourg winds down once again with costumed animators interpreting some buildings into September. No matter the season, be sure to find out from reception what activities and experiences may be on offer that day. Peak Season Peak season brings a different kind of magic on-site as costumed people add life to the streets and the homes. A foggy day cloaks the site in mystery and creates scenes and images not to be forgotten. A cold day with wind and rain may draw visitors to the warmth of a welcoming fire or to the cozy inn for a warming bowl of soup. A hot day shows the town and its various gardens at their brightest. On summer feast days colour and pageantry break the routine of daily life as the townspeople promenade in their finery. Chores are the order of the day on summer and fall mornings. With the rooster's crow comes bread from the ovens that supplies both soldiers and hungry visitors. Louisbourg's inhabitants are happy to share their stories, and can be found working the forge, tending the gardens and running the kitchens. The beat of drums and the chime of the garrison clock order the soldiers' day. The sound of a cannon marks midday. You can even fire a cannon or musket yourself by taking part in our 'Have a Blast' or 'Have a Ball' programs. Music might be heard from a waterfront tavern. Children play games in the streets, while the sentry at the gate challenges those who wish to enter the walled town. A public punishment gathers spectators. Sheep run through the streets, called home by the stable hand. Each hour offers something unique and real. During the peak season you can immerse yourself in an 18th century dining experience, available daily, at the Hotel de la Marine and Grandchamp House. For those who prefer a modern experience L'Epee Royale Cafe offers a cozy stop for hot and cold beverages and a variety of pastries. Groups can pre-arrange a dining experience by calling 902-733-3552. The daily fare varies with the season. Please check in advance for menu options and our ability to accommodate any special dietary requirements. Hours of Operation Low season: October 11, 2016 - May 21, 2017) Open Monday to Friday (except statutory holidays) 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Shoulder Season: May 22 2017 to June 30 2017 and September 5 2017 to October 9, 2017 Open 7 days per week 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Peak Season: July 1 - September 4 Open 7 days per week 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Dining Establishment Hours of Operation Grandchamp House Lower class (Less formal dining) July 1 - August 25 (Doors open at 10:30 a.m.) Hotel de la Marine Upper class (More formal dining) July 1 - August 25 (Doors open at 11 a.m.) Hotel de la Marine Lower class (Less formal dining) August 26 - October 9 2017 (Doors open at 10:30 a.m.) L'Epee Royale Cafe May 22 - October 9 2017 (Doors open at 10 a.m.) When the Fortress of Louisbourg is in low season, programs and services are provided through the Fortress Louisbourg Association after-hours programs. Whether it's the bustling street or the solitude of the shore, a visit to the Fortress of Louisbourg offers many opportunities for memorable experiences.
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Yes! My wife was thrown in jail for wearing red!!! The reenactment taking place in the 18th century is so real that, has we entered the Fortress with my wife and three daughters, my wife was surrounded by french soldiers in their original outfits and asked politely to follow them to the jailhouse as she was suspected of being an english spy! 2 minutes in the slammer and she was released! My kids were laughing so much it was the highlight of our visit! And yes one of my ancestor was in the Fortress in 1744!

3  Thank Serge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,465 - 1,469 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

If you wear Nylon, you will be instantly spotted as a member of this century!

This was one of the most authentic historic recreations I've ever visited. Only Stong, in Iceland, took me back farther.

Stay at least half a day, to take your time realizing how well rich folks lived without electricity. Tiny beds (people were smaller) with enclosures to keep the warmth in. Chicken rotisseries with weights and governors. Water filters. Gold and tapestry.

The French knew how to live, and thanks to the Bountiful Cod Fish, they lived well. Until the British sneaked from behind, through the marsh and wiped them out ...

2  Thank SailboatDagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent the day at Lousiburg from the moment it opened until it closed for the evening. There is plenty to do and see with character actors to assist in your adventure. We signed up for a tour with a guide to start to give us the general overview of life in the fortress. This served as a great frame of reference to enjoy the rest of the site. The fortress has several events happening through the day which I would recommend planning for as they are very well portrayed. We enjoyed watching the procession and cannon firing, the bread making, and musket demonstrations. We enjoyed some lunch at the period restaurant and some sweet treats from the bakery. There were delightful touches like sheep and chickens tending the grass around the buildings, and the musicians playing in the streets. Well worth the visit, and with a Parks Canada Discover pass it was very inexpensive.

1  Thank cjc118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Allow a half day. Fantastic recreation of 18th century French military life, coupled with how the rest of the non-regimental community lived. If it's a beach day, definitely drive down past the fortress to the second beach at Kennington Cove. Probably the best beach in Cape Breton. There is no entrance fee. P.S. At the Fortress, July 01 (Canada's birthday) and August 25 (King Louis Day), entrance is free for all. This is a saving of $70.00 for a family of four.

1  Thank Bluenosers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Lots of interesting historical buildings and great animators make this a great attraction. It is also fun to eat in the cafe in the style of the times.

1  Thank nsjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing