We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay, will book again”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Goose Cove Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Goose Cove Retreat from the railway access road.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View of Goose Cove Retreat from the railway access road.
Inspired by a ship deck, Goose Cove Retreat has upper and lower decks, and a bonfire pit.
At night.
With beautiful panoramic views of Trinity Bay, Goose Cove Retreat still remains secluded.
The Retreat's hot tub operates year-round.
The kitchen, living and dining areas are open concept. Perfect for family gatherings and foodies!
The main living room houses a custom-built Rumford fireplace, and deep couches for reading.
View of the dining area.
Main bedroom, overlooking the oceanfront.
Three bathrooms are fitted with showers, towels, and toiletries.
For work and play: the lower level boardroom table also converts to a pool table.
View of Trinity proper from the water.
Kayaking and water sports operators work in Trinity during summer months.
Trinity is located on Iceberg Alley, where ‘bergs float from the arctic, down the island’s coast.
Whale watching is abundant in Trinity in particular. These social creatures often show off!
Goose Cove is minutes from a vast network of hiking trails. This is the view from Skerwink trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trinity, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahS681...
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, will book again”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great long weekend with 4 couples. The house was perfect and the hot tub was great. Be warned that you have to climb a ladder to get to 2 of the smaller bedrooms, so it would be difficult if you had too much to drink or weren't fully mobile.

Very impressive kitchen, lovely modern decor. Sauna was also a treat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that your experience was great. We love the magic of this place by the sea and love to share it with others where memories are created that last a lifetime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Q
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beauty with the comforts of home”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

What a treat to stay here! This retreat had every comfort of home! Usually when you rest a house you have to bring all your condiments and food ! This place had coffee and condiments and some food items in fridge/freezer if needed! There were house coats and slippers and flip flops for the hot tub! There was a barbecue and fire pit! Canoes! Everything you could think of! Was just so nice! The care takers even brought us fresh fish to cook for dinner!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you for review Goose Cove Retreat. We are happy you enjoyed the experience. Our goal is to anticipate the needs of our guests and surpass their expectations. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amost wonderful stay in Newfoundland”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our long over due visit to Newfoundland led us to the Goose Cove Retreat across the bay from the town of Trinity. The property is exquisite and perfect for a family of 8 adults.
The layout and style especially the kitchen and living room gave us so much space to relax. the high point was the large patio overlooking the bay with the fire pit and hot tub.
The large rec room with pool table and the sauna were a real bonus.
Our caretaker hosts Jim and Gerry met us there for a the grand tour and were very helpful during our stay. Jim brought around some delicious cod that we ate all week.
There is nothing we had to ask for ..it was all there
The area is wonderful great hikes, places to eat , bars and of course the amazing people...
Highly recommend the early morning canoe across the bay to Trinity.
The area is wonderful loads of whales, eagles and puffins to spot off shore in the vicinity
Thanks for the best holiday in years. ! so worried about recommending to a friend because
we want to come back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: leaving !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you Jonathan. You and your family were wonderful guests. We hope you come back and glad memories were created for your family. We agree that there is some magic in that place by the sea. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaPatte...
1 review
“Fantastic location for a girls retreat!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What an amazing place! Four of us went out for a girls weekend retreat for my 35th birthday. We knew from looking online that it was going to be a beautiful place but we had no idea what we had in store! It was truly spectacular!!!!! The house is perfectly appointed, such a great space for entertaining, cooking together, playing games or just relaxing inside and out (we did it all)! The hot tub and suana were an added treat for sure. They have truly thought of everything. We can not wait to go back!! Highly recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing place that is truly a hidden gem!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words. We love to share the magic of this magical place by the sea. Hope your memories last a lifetime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S
1 review
“Great place to celebrate 60 years”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our family and friends recently gathered to celebrate my 60th birthday at Goose Cove Retreat. It was a fabulous and well-equipped spot for great meals, lounging in the hot tub or sauna, canoeing on the calm Goose Cove waters and hosting a birthday bash. Lots of room for everyone and space to find your own quiet nook for reading in the sunshine on the morning after, with a coffee in hand. Highly recommended for a place to celebrate a life milestone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Lots of outdoor spaces, hot tub, dock; lots of private spaces inside
Liked least: Kitchen island a bit cramped against fridge; fireplace smoked somewhat; some visitors found it hard to find
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Happy belated 60th birthday! We are glad to have been a part of this special milestone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing