We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect starting point”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marbella Cottage

Ode to Newfoundland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ode to Newfoundland
Ocean Side Cottage What an Inspiring Day!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Ode to Newfoundland
Ocean Side Cottage
What an Inspiring Day!
The Sky is the Limit
Master Bedroom - 1 Queen Sized Bed
Electric Fireplace
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Bathroom
Second Bedroom - 1 Single Sized Bed & 1 Full Sized Bed
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Sunroom
Sunroom
Sunroom with Washer & Dryer
Kitchen & Sink
Kitchen & Sink
Dining Room & Living Room Open Concept
Stairs to upstairs & Door to Second Bathroom
Dining Room & Living Room Open Concept
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bonavista, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Erados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect starting point”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great house, large enough for my Parents, Spouse and myself. Felt like home, very clean and well kept.
People were really nice in this area.
During our stay there were so many whales just steps from our door. We also took a trip to Puffin Point and to also see the Root Cellars.
Ate at the Bonavista Social Club which was worth the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not quite as it shows”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

cottage does not actually look out on the water, it's one house back. The beds left a bit to be desired. We could not sleep together as the bed was noisy and not very comfortable. Kitchen was nice and well equipped but we had to go to the neighbour to borrow a pot to cook our large lobster. Nice washer dryer in house.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for review of our cottage. I am sorry to hear that you found the beds noisy and uncomfortable. We just bought a brand new mattress for the Queen bed this season! Based on your feedback, I just ordered a new bed frame to see if that helps. We really appreciate your feedback! And yes, the cottage is "ocean side" not "ocean front". Apologies if you felt mislead.
Sincerely,
Marbella Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IcebergZ
Stouffville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A vacation within our vacation!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Absolutely beautiful cottage!
We stayed with our kids for 2 nights as part of a 2 week road trip around Newfoundland and it was, by far, our favourite accomodations for the entire trip! The cottage was beautifully decorated and spotless. There was coffee, tea and even sugar stocked in the kitchen and the laundry room had detergent and fabric softener.
The cottage is located right across the road from the ocean and is a 2 minute walk from a lovely point of land where you can sit and watch spectacular sunsets. Our kids spent hours poking around the beach and throwing rocks.
The location is quiet and the neighbours were friendly and welcoming, as was the caretaker.
I would highly recommend this rental and would love to have stayed there for longer than the 2 nights we booked.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
I am so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay! I take my 2 young children out to stay there too whenever I can (usually in the fall if it's not too busy). It is a magical and wondrous place for children and adults alike. We particularly love having a fire and marshmallow roast on the beach after nice BBQ supper. And my father, Randy, well you couldn't ask for any better. He is the best caretaker and goes above and beyond to ensure a great stay for guests! We hope to see you again!
Thanks,
Miranda McCarthy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivamexic...
courtenay, b.c.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bonavista area well worth seeing and exploring from cozy Marbella Cottage...”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved this well cared for property at the tip of the Bonavista Penisula - just across the road from the ocean. Randy the owner's father came and met us in his car on the outskirts of Bonavista and we followed him right to the cottage door, he was very welcoming and insisted we call if we needed anything at all. It is obvious from prior photos on the cottage walls that this salt box home has been lovingly restored. Downstairs is a well furnished large living and dining area, with a smaller separate area for doing washing up. There is more than enough dishes and cutlery to want for nothing... with full size fridge,stove, microwave. An attractive sun room runs the length of the cottage, and there is an area with a washer and dryer. A smaller bathroom with toilet and sink in on this lower level. Outside a good sized deck with a b.b.q. Upstairs are two good sized bedrooms, and a smaller room suitable for a child. Also a bathroom with bath, shower, sink and toilet, supplied with plentiful towels etc. Throughout this home is beautifully painted and furnished - certainly would have stayed longer if we had time. Marbella was one of our best stays in Newfoundland, It was a pleasure to feel so comfortable, and our only regret is we didn't spend more time in our lovely accommodation but there is so much to see and do in this area. Thank you Randy and Miranda, we will recommend your cottage to anyone travelling to the Bonavista penisula.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the service and the care that went into making sure we were comfortable
Liked least: there was nothing we could improve on!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for the lovely response!!! My father is a FANTASTIC caretaker!! I couldn't ask for any better. He goes above and beyond the call of duty and takes great pride in caring for this cottage and ensuring our guests have a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again!! Kindest Regards, Miranda McCarthy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylandT...
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in Bonavista”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a lovely restored house that sits close to the ocean. Modern kitchen appliances and bathrooms, full washer and dryer. Very clean. Sun porch and side porch. Half bathroom on first floor. Note that while close to the ocean it does not have a direct view. We were very happy with Marbella, and you will be too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A chance to stay in an authentic house just 30 seconds from the ocean.
Liked least: Nothing -- it was all great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our cottage. Even though we are not literally ocean front, we do have views of the ocean. However the main living area of the house faces the road - away from the ocean. But the upstairs bathroom has a spectacular ocean view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing