We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in the restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbour Quarters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonavista
Certificate of Excellence
n.s.can
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dinner in the restaurant”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place was recommended to us as the best place to eat in Bonavista and a place where they would know what was gluten free that I could order. The food was very good but the wait staff were not very helpful. I had to figure out the gluten free stuff myself. However, they do have a great view of the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We loved our room and wished we stayed longer than for one night...It is so close to everything in the town and to attractions such as the lighthouse and Dungeon Provincial Park. The room was clean and comfortable. There is wi-fi as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Building is historic but they have done a rather poor renovation to add the rooms which lack quality finishings. The industrial type carpet in our room was stained. They were doing construction around the hotel and it felt like we were staying in the middle of a construction site. While it is on the water it is surrounded by barren dirt and it has no connection to the water. I think they might be building a boardwalk but the hotel needs a deck and places outside for the guests to go.
The restaurant was adequate. They had three nice lobsters in the tank and it was on the menu but I was told the owner had spoken for these and since the season had closed some time before there was no way to have the lobster on the menu. The menu was otherwise mostly fish house fried stuff.
The historic buildings next door were interesting to tour and the staff was helpful and friendly but otherwise Bonavista has not set itself up very well to cater to tourists as there is no real waterfront or places to walk.

Room Tip: You definitely want to be facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed just one night at this inn in mid July. We had an ocean view which we paid extra for.We checked in about 4 pm and found the room clean and pleasant. Just outside our window however, there were 2 excavators working on clearing ground for a new boardwalk and the noise was unbearable with our window open ,and annoying even with it closed. There was a notice in our room re the construction, but no notification in advance of our arrival. Not being able to open the window, I opted to turn on the air conditioning but we had no remote for the ac unit and cound not work it manually. We were told that there was nothing they could do. Sooo....window up and table top fan on all night until 7:20 am, at which time the excavators started up again!! (the notice stated that they may start as early as 8 am). During the evening and night there was also a noise sounding like a compressor cutting in about every 10 minutes or so. Upon checkout we complained about the ac and the noise and were discounted $20. Even without the excavators, I feel that this inn is overpriced. We ate at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the cost the ocean view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettystanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our large room overlooked the harbor and was within waking distance of a lot of the nearby sites we wanted to visit. We ate one night in the restaurant, just OK. The rooms were clean and although we were warned about some construction happening nearby it never materialized. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
2.3 km away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
34.2 km away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
2.1 km away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
35 reviews
2.3 km away
White's Bed & Breakfast
White's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Bonavista
49 reviews
36.1 km away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Quarters Inn

Property: The Harbour Quarters Inn
Address: 42 Campbell Street, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonavista
Price range (per night): $120
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Harbour Quarters Inn Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing