We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peaceful and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Date of stay: December 23 to December 27, 2011

Reason: Spend Christmas as a family snowboarding together.

Expectations: Cozy/Home-like, quiet, easy access to the slopes, clean.

I stayed at this lodge during december christmas break. I overall found the experience very plesant.
The staff I got were polite, not very efficient, but for a very laid back atmosphere it is something to be expected.
When I first walked into the lodge I found it to be very family geared...very cozy and does remind me of a lodge.

The lady at the checkin was really friendly (and like most staff out of town or country). She did fail to tell me when cleaning time was (which was different each day) and maybe it was expected but the wifi there was free and you had to ask... But the wifi was extremely slow and painfully unuseful. Even though it was free...I couldn't use it at all... Talk about being quiet :)

So the room we got was on the 4th level. It reminds me of a Vancouver downtown apartment but more "lodge" styled. The ceilings were really tall. The windows we had were big. And you can open them. The fireplace was electric and has a timer. The kitchenette overall is good. Something you'd find in most hotels/motels in Vancouver that had a kitchenette. They supplied most cooking utensils which is a nice bonus because I remember a few stays at another hotel and it was ironic how I got the whole kitchen but no cooking utensils... Maybe it is standard but it was a great feeling to know there were pans and pots to use. The only complaint about this was the kettle...it had like scale...I ended up using the coffee maker but it is glacier water and not completely filtered so it tasted a little "different" them what I was used to. But I took care of that by being bottled water and boiling it in the pot.

The beds were Simmons (at least the room I stayed in were)... But they were a little soft for my liking. The bathroom is generic...like best western or holiday inn (like the cheaper rooms). They had a very clean tub...the shower pressure wasn't really hard so we all had to accommodate with longer showers...which isn't so bad after snowboarding but is bad when washing your hair and it doesn't feel like the shampoo is rinsed out but that isn't in our control so we accommodated).

The room cleaning service came at odd hours. The first day it came at 1: 30...them the next was 4 and the day after was 11am.

The service is nice overall...like I called to ask for more blankets...I didn't have to wait too long for them...I asked for clean towels I got them... But they are (during busy season...) Not so sufficient in supplies of luggage carriers and small services... But it isn't too big of a deal on our end...but nice to mention if you plan to go and have elders or people that can't carry a lot then be forewarded.

There are a lot of free amenities. Hot tub, gym, play room (which I've mistaken for as a small conference room). The hot tub does remind me more of a sauna... But maybe it was the cohabitants that made it that way. The gym was very very small, but it does its job because it us sort of weird if everyone goes there to ski or snowboard and after a long day of that you'd want to go to ever gym... But it is nice. I did wish they had cleaning sprays and paper towels to wipe the used equipments. If you want to watch movies or play with the Wii console then young have to ask dbms sign it out. There are loads of board games too.

The lower level rooms had hot tubs outside...it was pretty nice until I saw young half naked ladies prancing around... It just got a little weird seeing it cause they were way out of the perimeter of the hot tub location. :)

There wasn't a restaurant attached to the lodge, but one that is built connecting the other hotel... It is a little strange to explain because threw hotels are disconnected yet the restaurant is built in such a way that you'd think it is for Cahilty but it is for the hotel beside it.

The lodge is close to the slopes and there is a small shopping complex for your needs. The grocery store does closer at 4pm though. Lots of dogs...very friendly.

If you need more information please contact me...just in case I have missed something.

Will I go back? Yes.
Why? Because it offered a good price for the rooms and they gave all the basic needs at a good standard...for the reason I went I got a lot more out of the room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilk_nio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    278
    115
    37
    13
See reviews for
307
184
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Sun Peaks is essentially paradise for me and my wife. The Cahilty is an basic hotel but the location and price is perfect. Ski in/ski out and in the evenings it is an easy stroll to the village for shopping and grabbing a drink (alcoholic or non-alcoholic) quite easy. Very nice front desk staff too! There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that has changed multiple times so I can't really comment on the food.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountain are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beancounter314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the location great but the building itself extremely noisy. Footsteps reverberated through the room whenever anyone walked by in the hall or in the room above. This went on all hours of the night Conversations in the hall and room next door were heard by all. Also, went to use the coffee pot the first morning and it was dirty, the sheets on my beds were stained with either coffee or blood-hard to say but kind of icky. The biggest issue was the noise, as a full day of skiing on a few hours of sleep is not optimal. Friends stayed across the street at the Fireside for the same price and it was a much nicer, quieter building.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fouramigos61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

very nice hotel. good value. Very clean with great amenities. excellent ski in/out. very nice hot tub, indoors and outdoors. room had a nice large flat screen TV. Tiles in bathroom were heated.

Great hotel and very well maintained. Front desk were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVR154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We deliberately planned our ski vacation to coincide with the Winter Okanagan Wine Festival at Sun Peaks. What a great way to enjoy wonderful skiing and sample Okanagan wines with no cars or designated drivers to worry about!.
Cahiilty Lodge delivers on its promise of excellent ski-in / ski-out access. You literally go out the door, up the steps, and onto the ski hill. They offer a variety of room choices from lofts to studio efficiencies to full one-bedroom suites. Over the years, we've tried them all and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill side provide a passing parade of skiers enjoying the run down to the chair. The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanTourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
0.2 km away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 km away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 km away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#7 of 7 in Sun Peaks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
27.2 km away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites

Property: Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
Address: 3220 Village Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price range (per night): $117 - $239
Hotel Class:3 star — Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s mountain biking, hiking or skiing in one of Sun Peaks’ breath-taking mountain trails, Nancy Greene’s Cahilty Lodge has what you need to make your stay in the mountains as comfortable and memorable as it can be.Cahilty Lodge is a family friendly condominium style hotel with a number of rooms ranging from cozy traditional lodge rooms, studio kitchenettes and family suites to spacious three bedroom accommodations. All of our rooms have a TV with cable channels recently upgraded. A DVD player, coffee maker, kettle, complimentary coffee & tea, alarm clock, full bathroom with heated tile floor, hair dryer and daily housekeeping. Kitchens are available in most of our rooms and we also have a secure storage room for your sports equipment. Each room also has access to our newly upgraded high speed WiFi for your research needs. We have limited pet friendly rooms available upon request.We clearly understand what it takes to make your vacations in Sun Peaks more pleasurable — and it helps to be surrounded by spectacular mountain views and only be steps away from all the delightful ambiance of Sun Peaks Village and its amazing shops and restaurants. The winter home of Olympian Nancy Greene, her husband & Sun Peaks Mayor Al Raine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nancy Greene`s Cahilty Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing