We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
222
29
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
29
10
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the pub fire pit botanical beach the penthouse avatar grove outdoor fireplace get away gift shop family vacation full kitchen check in was easy west coast experience amazing place beautiful location this past weekend amazing views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

Our reservation was handled by a very friendly staff person. The "no contact" check in process was easy. Our cottage was cozy, comfortable & very clean. We would definitely stay at Seaside Cottages again.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank BKandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2021

We had an excellent stay at the Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages with our 2 kids in March. The cabin was spotlessly clean and perfect for our family of 4. The cozy space is new and tastefully decorated. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, dishes and utensils. The restaurant pub is close by and offers great food. Port Renfrew is a lovely base camp for many wilderness hikes, beach walking and a visit to Lonely Doug (a must see!) and the Avatar Grove Forest . I think this is likely the best accommodations in town. Have a great trip!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CarolinefromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021

We went up to Port Renfrew this past weekend and everything from booking to check out exceeded all expectations. The guest services manager, Katie, was incredibly helpful and organized everything for us for a flawless stay. All Covid policies and procedures went above and beyond and at no point did we feel uneasy about anything. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite at the Seaside Cottages and really lucked out with weather! The views of the ocean and mountains were breathtaking and made you feel like you were almost vacationing somewhere in Hawaii. Absolutely a wonderful stay with Wild Renfrew, would definitely 10/10 recommend.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q1436ERrachelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Renfrew, Owner at Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Wow Rachel!
Thank you for your thoughtful review, we are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and that the hardwork and dedication of our team put you at ease and made you feel comfortable. We will be sure to share your kind words with the whole team, especially Katie and we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021

This was a place that I had been yearning about going to for years. Finally we bit the bullet and booked. That is where things went sideways. First let me say the site is amazing and the staff at the Pub were lifesavers. Our tale of woe goes like this; we arrived after a drive from hell, in the pitch dark, rainy and with road construction taking place adding to the ordeal. When we arrived and went to the office there was a notice informing people that the office had moved. Please remember the comment of pitch dark and rain. Not knowing Port Renfrew and having no idea where the office was (we discovered we had driven past at the top of the hill, but because of the lack of lighting and clear signage we missed it) we were understandably concerned and truthfully miffed. When my husband returned from the non-office he was met by another couple who had arrived earlier in the day and confirmed there was no staff available. Into the pub he went and was told by staff that this happens frequently. To cut out the step by step happenings I am going to go to the conclusion of this. First we missed the online regristration (this was our error) and it was only by fluke I had the IPad with us so we after a good length of time we sorted out which cabin we were in. When we returned home and I was in contact with the manager there was no taking any responsibility for: no lighting on the outside the cabin, could not even find the numbers on the unit, no lighting in order to be able to unlock the door which has a specfic sequence to follow in order to gain entry (again the people from the parking lot came to our rescue demostrating how it worked), when we booked there was a special on when you booked you got a $75.00 prepaid Visa WRONG!! the value was only $65.00, and because I had read there was a possibility the Coastal Kitchen might be not be open I specifically asked if it was in operation and was told it was at the time we would be there. The correspondence with the manager was a waste of time. Not once has there been any movement to acknowledge the failure by them to show any customer service. We completely felt that we were a dollar sign and after getting payment really did not matter. They have a beautiful setting and tough luck for you if something goes wrong. It was pointed out that there was a physical danger because of no lights and that did not matter a whit. In end the result has been that the weekend that a group of us were going to spend there was cancelled, the whole experience (with exception of the pub staff. Kudos to them) has left a bad taste in our mouths and we recommend from our personal experiences and in our personal opinions there are other options available to visitors that are better priced and have actual customer service.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q9424HNsandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Renfrew, Owner at Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

We make a great effort to respond to each review with appreciation and an open mind allowing every situation be a lesson for us to grow and improve. We assure you that we will also try to take away growth and improvement from this situation but there are moments that we feel like we need to defend our kind and hard working team.

Our manager and staff have gone back and forth with you in private to try to help mediate this. The hard thing for us about your review is you really dusted over the part where you missed 3 pre arrival check in emails full of vital information especially during a critical traveling time. We did everything we could before you arrived to ensure you were prepared for your visit with us during a global pandemic.
We are practising a contact free check in to ensure the safety of our team, our guests and our remote community.
You disregarded every email we sent you before you arrived and then you were furious with us when you didn't have the important information you needed for location, check-in process etc.
We are truly sorry it went this way and we sincerely wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020

We had a very comfortable 4 night stay in the Penthouse suite. This is a 2nd floor unit right at the end of the properties with an expansive view of the waterfront and the government wharf from the wrap-around deck and large windows. We found the king bed a bit soft for our taste (kids liked the twin beds) but everything was clean and the unit was well equipped. There is almost no counter-space in the kitchen but it had everything you need to self-cater. Groceries are limited in Port Renfrew so stock-up before arriving. The Renfrew Pub was great and very covid -safe.
Staff were all very responsive, contact-free check-in was easy. I would have given a 5-star rating except that the main light fixture in the unit was not working and couldn't be fixed during our 4 night stay. This wouldn't be a big deal if it was high summer but it was dark at 5pm and we wanted to enjoy the cozy evenings which was compromised by the dim-lighting. We had to ask if they had any extra lamps and were provided with 2 small bedside table lamps which didn't really make much difference. I think given the duration of our stay and the price of the room a small reduction in the rate as compensation would have been a nice gesture.
Otherwise we had a great visit and I would stay again and recommend to others.

Date of stay: November 2020
1  Thank islandgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Renfrew, Owner at Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review.
We really appreciate your honest feedback as it gives us opportunity to understand where we can improve.
We'd like to start by saying we are sorry about the malfunction of the central light fixture in your cottage. We are discussing now as a team what should have been the kind and fair process to ensure you left your vacation with us feeling 100% happy with your stay. We are grateful to hear that even though there was a mishap that it didn't tarnish your stay and that you and your family enjoyed the cleanliness, coziness and amenities of your cottage and the service of our friendly team.
Again, we apologize and we hope to have you join us again so we may exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews