We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
11
58
52
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
58
52
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub one night northern lights nothing fancy would stay again cinder block included breakfast staff were polite room was clean and comfortable bit dated yogurt coffee maker vancouver island small fridge campbell river black bear resort ferries
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. What more do you need. The rooms would be deemed basic to some and the decor is not The Ritz. However, for the price there's comfortable beds, shower and bath, fridge, WiFi, desk and dressing table, cable TV, suitcase stand, coffee machine and supplies, microwave, hanging space, chairs, bedside tables, shower and bath, mirrors, hair dryer.... I can't think of anything else you'd need. There is a bar and restaurant and the staff there are very helpful and cheerful.

The area is ideal for those wanting to see Bears, Orcas and similar wildlife on special tours.

We recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

A basic cement block building but very clean, comfortable beds, quiet. Friendly helpful staff. Well run. Only negative is the included breakfast. Runny scrambled eggs, greasy sausages. Bland cold buffet style. On the other hand the pub serves great food at very reasonable prices. The tuna steak was phenomenal. Will stay again. Even if you go somewhere else for breakfast, it is worth the the price

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We have used this place as a place to get our head down before heading out on a kayaking excursion in Telegraph Cove. This was convenient to us because prices in Telegraph Cove are a lot higher. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. There is a liquor store onsite and a few dining options in the hotel. The prices were great and check-in and check-out was easy and the staff were polite. Would stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Submariner_Escaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We booked ahead of time to ensure this place would have everything we needed. We were two families travelling on the Prince Rupert ferry which arrived in Port Hardy (30 min drive) at 11:30pm. They assured us we had two rooms, with two beds each. They even said free breakfast. So with that we booked the room as it was a better deal than those in Port Hardy.

We show up at about 12:15am with toddlers who are tired and cranky to find one of the rooms only has one bed. Finally get a cot delivered about 20 mins later.

Wake up the next morning and we have no hot water. Call the front desk and we are told to wait an unknown amount of time while they find someone to go "push a button". No apologies. Nothing. Just wait.

We then find that breakfast is only free for adults. Our four children need vouchers that cost $6. This was never divulged over the phone and they knew full well we had four kids with us. They just said free breakfast and that sold us.

The breakfast was horrible anyway. Don't bother.

Oh and the wi-fi did not work at all.

If you're like us and traveling from Prince Rupert, save the 30 mins and get yourself into a nice bed in Port Hardy. Trust me, you can't do worse than this place.

Customer service was abysmal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank megagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I consider this hotel strictly an average choice for the area. However, it appears that they had been quite busy from the night before and despite arriving at 4PM after a long days drive, our room was not ready until 4:30PM. We recently stayed in very busy hotel chains and able to check in much earlier and where we never encountered this problem. The office staff, although friendly enough, seemed to be rather disorganized, preoccupied, and not particularly attentive when we approached the desk. This caught our attention on more then one occasion. Our second day stay was met with a room that was given very little attention by maid service. As an example, the coffee pot was left uncleaned from the morning prior(used coffee filter) and no new coffee packages were left for use the second morning. However, the breakfast area within the hotel that was separately owned was excellent with a very attentive and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernLite16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews