We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. Don't bother with breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haida Way Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The pics on tripadvisor tell all. It's not a b and b and it's not a 5 star hotel. It's a tired 60s era motor inn that's making ends meet while it operates as a hotel. The rooms are actually fine and the location in Pt McNeill just a few blocks from the shoreline. However, FD staff are variable...some awesome and some not. Breakfast is a weird experience...rates are $81 a night, but they go up to $99 with breakfast. Not very good....better that you pocket your dough and spend it elsewhere. Nice coffeeshop near the water and Tia's Cafe makes a great breakfast. N. Vancouver Island is the working end of this amazing landscape...so expect it to be rough around the edges. In hindsight though, I think we'd stay in an eco-cabin in Port Hardy or a B and B next time, to get a better experience and better sense of what it's like to be staying in an amazing area.

Room Tip: Stay in a bed and breakfast instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Banffperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. What more do you need. The rooms would be deemed basic to some and the decor is not The Ritz. However, for the price there's comfortable beds, shower and bath, fridge, WiFi, desk and dressing table, cable TV, suitcase stand, coffee machine and supplies, microwave, hanging space, chairs, bedside tables, shower and bath, mirrors, hair dryer.... I can't think of anything else you'd need. There is a bar and restaurant and the staff there are very helpful and cheerful.

The area is ideal for those wanting to see Bears, Orcas and similar wildlife on special tours.

We recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

A basic cement block building but very clean, comfortable beds, quiet. Friendly helpful staff. Well run. Only negative is the included breakfast. Runny scrambled eggs, greasy sausages. Bland cold buffet style. On the other hand the pub serves great food at very reasonable prices. The tuna steak was phenomenal. Will stay again. Even if you go somewhere else for breakfast, it is worth the the price

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We have used this place as a place to get our head down before heading out on a kayaking excursion in Telegraph Cove. This was convenient to us because prices in Telegraph Cove are a lot higher. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. There is a liquor store onsite and a few dining options in the hotel. The prices were great and check-in and check-out was easy and the staff were polite. Would stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Submariner_Escaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We booked ahead of time to ensure this place would have everything we needed. We were two families travelling on the Prince Rupert ferry which arrived in Port Hardy (30 min drive) at 11:30pm. They assured us we had two rooms, with two beds each. They even said free breakfast. So with that we booked the room as it was a better deal than those in Port Hardy.

We show up at about 12:15am with toddlers who are tired and cranky to find one of the rooms only has one bed. Finally get a cot delivered about 20 mins later.

Wake up the next morning and we have no hot water. Call the front desk and we are told to wait an unknown amount of time while they find someone to go "push a button". No apologies. Nothing. Just wait.

We then find that breakfast is only free for adults. Our four children need vouchers that cost $6. This was never divulged over the phone and they knew full well we had four kids with us. They just said free breakfast and that sold us.

The breakfast was horrible anyway. Don't bother.

Oh and the wi-fi did not work at all.

If you're like us and traveling from Prince Rupert, save the 30 mins and get yourself into a nice bed in Port Hardy. Trust me, you can't do worse than this place.

Customer service was abysmal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank megagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port McNeill
6.6 km away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
48 reviews
33 km away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
90 reviews
32 km away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
179 reviews
0.5 km away
McNeill's Inn On The Harborfront
12.3 km away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haida Way Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haida Way Motor Inn

Address: 1817 Campbell Way, Port McNeill, British Columbia V0N 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port McNeill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port McNeill
Price Range: AU$101 - AU$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haida Way Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haida Way Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haida Way Motor Hotel Port Mcneill
Haida Way Motor Inn Port McNeill, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing