We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
10
56
49
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
56
49
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubone nightnothing fancynorthern lightswould stay againcement blockincluded breakfaststaff were politeroom was clean and comfortablesmall townhot breakfastcoffee makeryogurtvancouver islandsmall fridgecampbell riverblack bear resort
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my daughter and her hockey team on a weekend road trip. Stayed one night. Room was better than expected. Nothing fancy but clean and functional. Beds were surprisingly firm and comfortable. In room microwave, coffee maker and fridge were a nice extra. 26 inch flat screen HD TV looked decent, but unfortunately did not work. Our team and parents were all put on bottom floor, which was perfect. Kids played mini hockey in hallway, parents enjoyed happy pops in rooms and the pub in the motel. Pub was pretty good with decent calamari and reasonably priced beer and cocktails. Service was friendly and accommodating. There is also a decent cold beer and wine store on site, along with a small restaurant beside the pub. Unfortunately children were not permitted in the Pub. The building is constructed of cinder blocks with no drywall in the rooms which is a little odd. Gives it the feel of perhaps a luxurious Mexican prison suite that a narco might be housed in such as El Chapo. Room rates were significantly less than the unchildfriendly motor inn across the street, which had very similar rooms. This establishment was very child friendly and likely sees a lot of hockey teams that go up for road trips. Would definitely stay here again. Only thing that kept me from giving it 4 stars was the non-functioning TV. I was not given any credit or partial refund for this inconvenience. Another bonus! This motel is about a block from the arena.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

If you every need to stay in this motel ask for the cleanest room which is on the top floor Room 376 the bedsheets and the bathroom were clean. We just had to spend a night here so it was convienent.
We always carry our blanket with us so we did not have to use theirs.
The first room we got was on the ground floor and smelt of cigerette smoke.so we asked to change of room and thats how we got the upstairs, nothing fancy just basic, but very important it was clean.housekeeping lady was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This motel is amazing for hockey teams needing accommodation. Nothing fancy at all but clean and functional and very reasonable.
There is a restaurant and pub and they put our whole team on the bottom floor so the kids could have fun and not disturb any other guest.
Would recommend to anyone staying in the Port McNeill area for hockey or other sports.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank MauiFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed here for three nights prior to our two day whale watching trip. It looked a bit glum from the outside but the receptionist was friendly enough and check in was swift. We were on the first floor and there were no lifts. Breakfast was just about OK, cereals and toast and rock hard scrambled eggs. The rooms were clean and tidy but old fashioned and nothing special. Pretty basic but it served our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

After driving from Qualicum beach six fishermen were persuaded to stay here as it ha s a bar on site.
It has basic rooms with friendly workers but is is pushed towards the cable, logging or transport workers who are regulars here. The evening food in the bar is basic but good but the breakfast, of which you need a voucher from the hotel to get, separately run, is beyond bad. Best thing I can say about the cooked breakfast of eggs or sausages or porridge is the cereal is fresh and the milk cold. We were six fishermen from Belfast finishing our island fishing trip and were treated well here but some modernisation would be required if wanting to appeal to a wider tourist audience.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank billmayhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews