We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alert Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Bayside Inn(Alert Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alert Bay Cabins(Alert Bay)
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orca Inn(Alert Bay)
USD 76
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haida Way Motor Inn(Port McNeill)
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Inn(Port Hardy)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Inn(Port Hardy)
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Side Landing(Port Hardy)
USD 139
USD 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
45
23
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
23
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomcommon roombed and breakfastu'mista cultural centremidnight sunadditional costcouple of hourscomfortable stayliquor storebring your ownhostsjoelcultureislanddogviewsferry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

The room was big (2 large beds) and the lodge keepers did all to make the stay comfortable and nice. The common room reminded me somehow to scences of the Myst game.
Breakfast is ok and if you decide to dine, you can choose from some variations. We did the Grizzly tour and that was excellent too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alertbaylodge, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thanks Thomas for taking the time to review the lodge. The lodge is a labour of love for Scott and I and every year we take on a new project to make it better. I hope you will come again to see the changes. We will definately be working on improving our breakfast and hope that next time it will be better than "OK"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Tons of potential, beautiful cabin that needs a bit of work, some more elbow grease would make this a jewel, greeted with a smile,however bed was terrible, but employees , Joel and Estelle were great cooks and extremely professional! More than made our poor sleep forgotten!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunner007, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Joel and Estelle truly enjoyed hosting you and all of us on the Lodge team are thrilled to hear that our service exceeded your expectations. While we were delighted to learn that you found the lodge beautiful, we were disappointed that your mattress was not up to par.

Thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help our operations. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We loved our time in Alert Bay. Our hosts at the Lodge were a huge part of our experience - there names were Joel and Estelle (their contract ends in October but the owner clearly has great hiring skills and should be trusted to get strong replacements). We are vegans and they accommodated us happily and with gusto. Imaginative, creative, witty and deeply caring people who take great pride in their work. They made the trip for us. The Lodge has a lot of charm (a converted church) but it could use a bit of sprucing up. Can't quite give it a perfect rating due to some rough edges (we are fussy about bathroom cleanliness, soundproofing and mattresses could be better) but the setting is gorgeous and we had a pod of orcas playing merrily a few hundred feet from us one morning, as we had our coffee on the deck. Alert Bay is an unpretentious town dripping with soul - we were deeply smitten - and the Lodge is a fine place to lay your head while visiting. Thanks Joel & Estelle from the bottom our hearts and tummies. Our dog Clyde misses you, as do we!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunner007, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We appreciate the sincerity of your comments about the Alert Bay Lodge and Alert Bay. In many ways the service we provide emulates how we like our guests to view their total Alert Bay experience and we are happy you enjoyed both. That being said, the lodge is both a work in progress and a labour of love. We’ll continue work to smooth out those rough edges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

From the Ferry we arrived at this Lodge on a little Island where everything shuts at 6.00pm, has 500ish inhabitants and looks like everything has seen better days from a 4* Boutique Hotel in the bustling City of Vancouver. Our Jaws dropped & we thought my god what have we done.
Well how wrong can you be - No Flat Screen TV, No Power Shower, No USB Charging point, slow Wifi and deathly quiet. Again how wrong can you be, you don't realise how lovely peace and quiet is until you actually hear it (the sound of silence).
Whilst part of the Lodge could do with a lick of paint and a bit of maintenance, I'm not sure if that would spoil the quirkiness of the place.
We had 4 nights here and came away feeling totally refreshed and human again.
Joel and Estelle as the management team are really cool, nothing was too much trouble, they sorted out a dickie shower head out for me in a couple of hours and we really looked forward to the breakfasts in the morning.
We were booked on the Orca & Grizzlies tour through Midnight Sun Travel. The whole tour could not be faulted, supremely well organised from start to finish from Joel or Estelle running us to the Ferry or Dock, checking Taxi's for us & sorting out tickets. To Glide the Taxi Driver in Port McNeil, ferries, planes & buses all sorted and organised like a military operation.
They even organised the Bears to come and see us as well as the whales.
If anybody wants to reconnect with nature, quietness and learn some Culture then I can't recommend this highly enough.
I left the Island a different person and couldn't fault one
part of this trip.
I want to thank everybody involved in this Adventure because you are all Bloody Brilliant

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alertbaylodge, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank-you Tracy! It was great fun hosting you and so glad to hear you had a wonderful time! The bears must of heard you were coming !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Alert Bay is remote and the town is small. The excellent U'mista Cultural Centre is a big draw. Amenities are somewhat scarce and the town closes down early. So when the owner of the Lodge said they offered dinner for an additional cost that was the deciding factor in booking our group of six. The Lodge, in a converted home, has 4 rooms and a very pleasant great room where meals are served. The large light-filled room is completely conducive to relaxing with a book or glass of whatever you are pouring. Bring your own or visit the liquor store in town. The grocery store doesn't sell alcohol. In town, which is to say the shops along the harbor, in addition to the grocery store there is a drug store, gift store, pub and sandwich shop as well as a couple of other accommodations.

The owner of the Lodge is generally off sight and this season, it is being managed by a lovely young couple who we thoroughly enjoyed. They were very cheerful and accommodating, preparing meals on our schedule and offering a ride when needed.The rooms were adequate and fine for our stay. It was homey, kept very clean and well-located. We were so pleased to enjoy Alert Bay Lodge as our base.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the largest room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews