We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drayton Valley
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Drayton Valley
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at this Holiday Inn. The staff was attentive and friendly. The rooms are spotless, with very comfortable beds, spacious, and quiet. Little things, like great lighting in the bathroom for those of us who need makeup, the showerhead delivered a real "shower", and the soft towels were wonderful. No smoking rooms were truly fresh, and the comp breakfast catered not only to bacon lovers (not me), but had yogurt, brown bread, cereals, great muffins and very good coffee. This is the ONLY place to stay in Drayton Valley, if you are at all squeemish about cleanliness and smelly things. (I had the opportunity to check out other places, and would not stay anywhere else). No complaints at all! Congrats to Holiday Inn for keeping a high standard - this is a real gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
5
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

If this hotel could be moved to a more populous town, it would be an amazing place to stay. We're on a fly-drive and this hotel was in the right place for our needs on that day. However, the town was either an oil or logging town so there wasn't much for us to see and do. This was a shame as we were looking for somewhere to spend a few days as we had already done a lot of driving. The staff were amazing and refreshingly honest about the lack of attractions.
The breakfast was not great as they had no licence to fry on site so it was either microwaved bacon and eggs or cold cereal etc as well as toast. There wasn't a plentiful supply either which was disappointing compared to other Holiday Inns.
This was clearly a new hotel, our room actually smelt new according to my husband. I wish them all the luck with it, I hope it is a successful site for them.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed one night while visiting family who live 20 minutes out of Drayton. It was easy to find, there's plenty of parking, and the staff was friendly. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, and of course everything was new! The continental breakfast that is included with your stay is always great at Holiday Inn Express hotels, in my experience. They have more hot options now too, including a very tasty egg and cheese omelette.

It didn't matter to us this trip, but one potential downside I noticed was there isn't a whole lot nearby the hotel. But as long as you have a car it isn't far to restaurants, etc.

  • Liked — The bed's comforter - like sleeping in a cloud
  • Disliked — No complaints. We had a great stay.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2008

The hotel, being new, is still in pretty nice condition. I will definitely give kudos to the beds: they are very comfortable.

It's nice to have hot breakfast in the morning. I hope they add the ability to make waffles. The eggs were a bit spongy, but I never have very high expectations for continental bkfsts anyway. Overall the brkfst was definitely a plus.

The rooms are nice. Great big flat screen TVs. Very nice.

My only complaint is that the wireless doesn't work. My first room was on the fourth floor. The front desk told me they were having trouble getting reception to their 3rd and 4th floors, so I changed rooms to the 1st floor. They gave me a room all the way on the end - no reception. As nearly as I can tell, you basically have to be in the lobby or in an adjacent room to get wireless. This was particularly frustrating for me because I prefer to make my international calls via VOIP.

This should be an easy fix for the hotel. I hope they make the fix before my next visit, because I will be back.

Staff was very friendly.

  • Disliked — Wireless didn't work anywhere but the lobby
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rooksclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Stayed 4 nights in this new hotel. Drayton Valley has a lot of hotels; a new Ramada is being built down the street. When a hotel is a new building, it really is a pleasure to stay in. This hotel has the benefit of friendly staff.

This Holiday Inn Express has four floors; hallways and stairwells are wide and carpeted. A fitness room has sufficient (and of course, new) equipment e.g. treadmill, eliptical, stationary bike, fitness station, a few free weights, a tv, sound system, and is open till 11pm.

Next to the fitness room - in a separate glassed area - is a hot tub. Also a shower. Just outside is a computer room.

Breakfast 6:30-10 is definitely an event at Holiday Inn Express. The new 2008 feature is hot items. Bacon some days with scrambled eggs, sausage rounds another with cheese omeletes. There's also bisuits under heat lamps - in addition to cinnamon rolls. A fridge has milk incl skim, boiled eggs, individual yogurts. Various other breakfast items featured.

Breakfast buffet setup is more spacious than other hotels. This carpeted breakfast room by the lobby has flat panel tv above a double sided stone fireplace and some leather furniture around it. Several tables, chairs, and lots of windows. Trays if you want to take food to your room. The nicest breakfast space I've encountered (and this is about hotel review #60 for me).

Hotel room features include comfy bed with pillows labelled firm and soft. Great carpet. Large flat panel tv with satellite - so also has 'radio' music stations. Coffeemaker. Digital temperature controlled air/heat. Window has sheers and blackout drapes. Open closet with real wood hangers, iron & board. Lots of mirrors. Free High Speed: I mostly used a cable, but there's also wireless.

Bathroom has curved shower rod, really nice tile, tasteful striped wallpaper, hair dryer, and thick/soft towels.

Vending machines and ice are on 1st and 3rd floors. Coin laundry. Soap available in the vending machines.

The area is not pedestrian friendly, but you could walk to the IGA food store. You'll need to drive to dine in restaurants.

  • Liked — New!
  • Disliked — Restaurants/convenience stores not nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drayton Valley hotels
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Drayton Valley All Suites
Best Western Plus Drayton Valley...
#1 of 11 in Drayton Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.2 km away
Foxwood Inn & Suites
Foxwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Drayton Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Drayton Valley
Ramada Drayton Valley
#5 of 11 in Drayton Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Service Plus Inns & Suites Drayton Valley
Service Plus Inns & Suites Drayt...
#4 of 11 in Drayton Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.6 km away
Home Away Inn
Home Away Inn
#6 of 11 in Drayton Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.8 km away
BCMInns - Drayton Valley
BCMInns - Drayton Valley
#9 of 11 in Drayton Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drayton Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drayton Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drayton Valley
Address: 5001 Brougham Drive, Drayton Valley, Alberta T7A 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drayton Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Drayton Valley
Price range (per night): $97 - $127
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drayton Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Drayton Valley in Canada Our Drayton Valley hotel, located in the heart of downtown Drayton Valley, is one of the newest hotels along the Cowboy Trail. It's 139 km from Edmonton--home of the famous Edmonton Oilers Hockey Team. Our Drayton Valley hotel provides easy access to many Drayton attractions. One of the city's trademark locations, the Ominplex, is only one kilometer away from our Drayton accommodations. If you want to get close with nature, consider exploring Drayton on horseback and taking a ride along the Riverside Horse Trails. And, make sure your schedule has time for a round of golf at the Drayton Valley Golf and Country Club (one km). If you are in town for business, our Drayton Valley hotel is ideal. Major companies including Weyerhauser, Alberta North Petroleum and Imperial Oil are all within two kilometers of us. We have an on-site Business Center to assist with your copy, courier, fax and printing needs. In addition, we are located within walking distance to the Civic Convention Center. While lodging at our hotel in Drayton Valley, you can enjoy several choice amenities including high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Business Center, a spa and our free hot breakfast bar with our signature cinnamon rolls. So, on your next visit to Drayton Valley, discover the newest place to call home and stay with Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Drayton Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Drayton Valley
Drayton Valley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Drayton Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing