We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
216
98
88
55
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
98
88
55
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome cookie sea view animation team big room aqua park choose this hotel pools siri disco language
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

I have returned home this morning 10th of June 2017 with my family of 11 people which have been at this hotel for 1 week. From the moment we stepped off the bus we had no representative that greeted us, and then received our welcome pack 4 days in to the holiday. The cleaner only cleaned the room once in 7 days and never made the bed or gave clean towels and cups, as pathetic as it sounds you sort of expect that as part of a cleaners role.. Reported to reception that I had 2 Brand New Ralph Lauren t shirts stolen out of my room.! But was told that this is the 4th time it's happened recently. No outcome came of reporting it just brushed aside. The food is absolutely awful and gave my kids upset stomachs and sickness for the holiday also, the bread was mouldy the milk was sour and the eggs and meat under cooked. They have kids animation at night but told to walk to other end of hotel by the manager herself for a drink as they are under staffed and even though we were all inclusive it didn't matter, her attitude was disgusting, we were looked upon as if we were like a typical British holiday moaner which when being around a family of 11 we certainly were not. The staff are very rude and don't speak English so there is a massive language barrier in trying to sort trips out for the family. I am absolutely disgusted with the way it's run and the way the management and staff treat their guests, as we use Hilton hotels all over the world. It's a 2* nowhere near 5* do not waste your hard earned money going here as it's all misleading on they're website, it is described as a family hotel but also full of stag and hen parties which isn't made clear as well which at 1 o clock in the morning with a 2 year old in bed your woken up to chanting from stags that are in the surrounding rooms, my wife had a full massage and was also walked in on by a male barman 'accidentally' in the Aphrodite spa, but ask yourself why would there be a barman in the spa???. Hilton really should be embarrassed by this sham of a hotel and strike it off. We clearly will not be returning here and if anyone does after reading this does proceed to go is clearly a fool too. Thank you for reading.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Z, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Gareth B,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your comments with us, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
On behalf of DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, I wanted to extend my sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had during your stay at our hotel.
At DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, we pride ourselves on giving our 100% every day to ensure that our customers’ needs are being met. Therefore we would appreciate if you informed either your tour operator representative or the hotel management about the issues you had, so we could react immediately and make it right.
I would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention; the corresponding Head of Departments will investigate each situation in details.
We are always looking for ways to improve our service, and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process.
Kindly ask you to send us on doubletree@hiltonvarna.com your contact details so we can inform you about the results.

With best regards,
Victor Zhukov
Director of Business Development
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We have really enjoyed our holiday at this hotel. We will probably return. The kids enjoyed kids club and mini club and various other activities. Lovely indoor and outdoor pools and friendly staff. Clean spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Loved the private beach and in walking distance of the aqua park. Just a short walk from town but still in a peaceful place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella J, Marketing Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear J L,

Thank you for this amazing review! We are grateful for your warm words about our facilities and friendly staff. We also appreciate your review on our rooms and private beach.
We look forward to serving you next season.
With kindest regards,
Gabriela Anastasova, Marketing Coordinator, DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Been here for 5 days, all inclusive, 2 adults + 1 child and it costs 250 euro. Indoor pool and outdoor. Food was good but unfortunately our fellow romanians are not so educated and over fill the plates leaving them untouched.... but the hotel has no quilt in this. Rooms are spacious but in ours they changed the carpet and the adesive was smelling. It's prety far from the beach and the private beach ot's very far. In rest it's very good.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank AlexT_ROMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella J, Marketing Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Alex T,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear the food quality and our facilities came to serve suit your preferences. Although the hotel is located a bit far from the beach, it is set in the ancient and protected forest of Golden Sands Natural Park, overlooking the Black Sea coast. Therefore, we arrange a shuttle bus with its schedule at reception which could take you to the private beach of the hotel. Advance reservations could be listed at the concierge desk or at reception. We thank you for spending your holiday with us.
Best regards,
Gabriela Anastasova, Marketing Coordinator DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The only plus for this is the view from the room, if you are lucky to have the room with sea view.
The hotel is not a 4*...best case a 2-3*. The food is the worst possible. No internet in the rooms. The rooms look very cheap and somehow dirty, even if the cleaning ladies are coming every day. The drinks are a nightmare and the staff in general have a bad attitude. The only one ok was a girl from reception.
For me it's the first and last time in this hotel and in Bulgaria.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank silviuionutn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella J, Marketing Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Silviu Ionut N,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
It is sad to hear that you left unhappy with your stay at the hotel. We are offering a great and rich menu for each taste. Did you share your doubts with any manager in the hotel? Should you had difficulties with the internet our concierges were always ready to assist. Please send us the information who from the employees made you feel the hotel staff in general has a bad attitude: doubletree@hiltonvarna.com. This will help us to focus our efforts in right direction and make the service better.

With best regards from Bulgaria DoubleTree by Hilton Varna Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed at the end of April and were surprised at how busy the hotel was. The hotel is nice with a good choice of food in the restaurant, and a lovely terrace overlooking the pools for a drink or dinner. The reception/guest relations staff were all very helpful with Yasen Andonov being an absolute star, with nothing being too much trouble for him and a lovely smile to greet you day and night. The barman in the lobby bar was also very funny always smiling too! I would go back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Z, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear Keri B,

Thank you so much for your warm review. We are glad you had a great time staying with us and we will be happy to welcoming you again this season. Also thank you for the appreciation of our staff and Yasen in particular.

With kind regards,
Victor Zhukov
Director of Business Development
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews