We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for the budget.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Ranked #14 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Targu Mures
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for the budget.”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Were here in 2011, and spent a flawless week. Solid hotel, nothing to complain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    108
    31
    18
    7
See reviews for
60
116
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We found that The Lion Hotel exceeded our expectations having read a few negative reviews on a different site prior to travelling.We arrived late afternoon and was greeted by a porter who took our luggage straight up to our room. We had booked a family room as there was myself, my partner and our 11 year old son....more » I emailed the hotel a few days before we travelled and requested a high floor with a sunny balcony facing the pool and that's exactly what we got. The rooms was huge!!! We had so much space, it was lovely. It had an interlocking door to another room which wasn't in use. To be honest, because that room shared our balcony I wouldn't have expected it to be occupied although later in the week, they put someone in there which I was a little miffed about. Fortunately, they didn't use the balcony but I would have felt a bit uncomfortable if they had have done.We found the staff to be very friendly and the whole place very clean. The bar prices were very reasonable, 3 lev for a pint of lager (£1.26) A large pizza and a free pint for less than £4.00 from the pool bar. Every night, they had happy hour between 6 and 10pm where you got 3 glasses of wine or beer for the price of 2 although I went to the bar one night and they told me it was only till 9pm. There is also a notice on the bar saying that it's open from 8am till 12pm but most nights it closed at 11pm. We hired a safe which was in reception and cost around £15.00 for the week. There's satellite t.v in the rooms although he English programmes are a bit limited.The main bed was huge and very comfortable but my son had a small camp bed which was fine for him (age 11) but I wouldn't have thought it would have been very comfortable for anyone older than that. There was a mini bar but if you didn't want to use it, you could take the stuff out and put your own in which was obviously much cheaper from the shop.The breakfast was quite nice, there was a good selection and it was always fresh and hot but the evening meal was a bit hit and miss so we ate out most of the time.There weren't many British people staying whilst we were there, they were mostly Russian but that didn't bother us.Despite us reading that the hotel was only 200 metres from the beach, it was a good 400 metres over the main road then down an unlit road which was fine during the day but a bit spooky on an evening. It was about a 10 minute walk to the main centre but there were bars and restaurants on the way.I would definitely consider staying at The Lion Hotel again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main pool, they get the sun all day.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Naburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Firstly i think i stayed at a different hotel to the previous reviewer we came back from a 10 day stay at the lion on the 11th June on the plus side the rooms were large and very clean ,daily towel change ,the hotel was in an excellant position close to the beach ,shops and bus stop without the noise .On the minus side we found restaurant staff to be efficient but surly also the girl on the exchange bureaux was mannerless and did not know how to smile, reception staff pleasant bar one .Sunbeds were cramped with no mattresses .My main gripe was the food breakfast was repetative but okay evening meals were awful we checked every night but ate out instead maybe as british people were a minority this is why ?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgoviste
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just come back from our 4 days holiday at Lion hotel. We were very pleased with everything from the beginning.
We checked in immediately after arriving to the hotel. We had a spacious room with a huge bed. The room was clean every day and the towels were changed on daily basis, too. We had a "view to the sea", but unfortunately the were other buildings that blocked it. The mini bar was filled with all sort of things that were not so expensive. The air con worked very properly , without making a lot of noise. The restaurant was nice and we were able to eat on small terrace.at the ground floor. The breakfast and dinner were tasty and as soon as the food was finished the the trays were filled up immediately..So, do not worry, there is always food, even though you are arriving late. The hotel has two pools- one bigger and one for the children. We have used the pool only once to see how it is. The water was very clean and it did not had a funny smell like the other pools. But who uses a pool when the sea was so warm and welcoming....
The weather was so nice and we went to the beach every day. The beach is situated 10 minutes walk away. from the hotel.
The personnel speaks very good English and they were always welcoming us with a smile- same thing goes for the waiters.
I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Traveler200782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We enjoyed a week there last summer and we have fond memories. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and we had nothing to complain about. It is a little bit away from the beach but it is the advantage when you want to be away from the crowds.
We already booked a week there in July. This time more friends have joined.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRaykovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 km away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,370 reviews
2.1 km away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 220 in Sunny Beach
265 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#18 of 220 in Sunny Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#25 of 220 in Sunny Beach
78 reviews
1.2 km away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#10 of 220 in Sunny Beach
347 reviews
1.1 km away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#80 of 220 in Sunny Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LION Hotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Property: LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price range (per night): $60 - $176
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Sunny Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LION Hotel SUNNY BEACH opened at the beginning of July 2005. The hotel offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation in wonderful surroundings. Ideal for unwinding with a drink at the pool bar or a walk to the nearby sandy beach or the resort center. This stylish, modern complex is located in the north part of Sunny Beach resort 300 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LION Hotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LION Hotel Sunny Beach Bulgaria - Burgas Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing