We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Ranked #13 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tirgoviste
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just come back from our 4 days holiday at Lion hotel. We were very pleased with everything from the beginning.
We checked in immediately after arriving to the hotel. We had a spacious room with a huge bed. The room was clean every day and the towels were changed on daily basis, too. We had a "view to the sea", but unfortunately the were other buildings that blocked it. The mini bar was filled with all sort of things that were not so expensive. The air con worked very properly , without making a lot of noise. The restaurant was nice and we were able to eat on small terrace.at the ground floor. The breakfast and dinner were tasty and as soon as the food was finished the the trays were filled up immediately..So, do not worry, there is always food, even though you are arriving late. The hotel has two pools- one bigger and one for the children. We have used the pool only once to see how it is. The water was very clean and it did not had a funny smell like the other pools. But who uses a pool when the sea was so warm and welcoming....
The weather was so nice and we went to the beach every day. The beach is situated 10 minutes walk away. from the hotel.
The personnel speaks very good English and they were always welcoming us with a smile- same thing goes for the waiters.
I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Traveler200782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    100
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We enjoyed a week there last summer and we have fond memories. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and we had nothing to complain about. It is a little bit away from the beach but it is the advantage when you want to be away from the crowds.
We already booked a week there in July. This time more friends have joined.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRaykovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel was clean and the rooms were large enough and comfortable. the pool was clean and the pool area was big enough for the size of the hotel. We were half board, but after the first day we did not eat at the hotel, it was bland, limited and luke warm at best. the hotel is in a quiet location which is nice and we were not hassled by 'sales'. The main beach & strip is about 10 minutes walk away. Overall we had a reasonably good time in the hotel & great fun in sunny beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here for 10 nights and i must admit, from the moment i arrived (in the late early hours) the 'manager' at the reception desk was very rude. There was a few nice staff members such as the bar man and a couple of waitresses but the rest was extremely rude! Even when politely asking for cutlery or a drink i didn't get a response i just got ignored!
The staffs English was very poor, although i must admit, i wasn't sure if most of the time they was pretending they couldn't speak good English to get out of answering questions.
When they did speak to you they tutted at you, rolled their eyes and gave you a blunt response!
The maids in the hotel openly come into your hotel room and start cleaning when you are still in there getting ready for the day.
The food was very bland and appeared to be the same food most nights!
The pool is also very cold!
The rooms are nice and spacious and are kept clean although the sofa bed in the room is very uncomfortable and the shower often ran out of warm water!
This sounds like a very negative review but the hotel staff really did ruin the atmosphere of my holiday for being so rude and unhelpful! Along with the Russians as we was the only English in the hotel i could not believe how rude they was!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel was very clean in fairly good location, away from all the noise. Rooms decent size with good maid service. We were on 5th floor, so our balcony had no cover, so when it rained we were unable to use the balcony as everything was soaking wet ad the floor was slippery. Aslo had two evenings where we had no hot water to shower, mentioned it to reception, but they were not that interested really. The food was not good, but edible, the choice was very limited and kept repeating itself, having sprouts or broccoli with hard boiled egg and frankfurter is not my idea of breakfast! The hotel consisted mainly of German and Russian guests only heard one other couple speaking English. Some of the staff were very unhelpful, whereas others were fine. We asked reception where our homebound times were in the reception to be told they don't put up the English flights!! So had to call our rep who we only saw the day we got there, no sight of her the rest of the holiday. There is nothing to do in the hotel and the small swimming pools are very cold. Would certainly go back to Sunny Beach, but not this hotel. Next time we are going to an apartment as the food is so cheap and there are brilliant restaurants around with good food, just a shame that we had to use them so much after paying for half board.

Room Tip: Do not have room on top floor as no cover on balcony. Eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 km away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.7 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.6 km away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#23 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#16 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.2 km away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LION Hotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Property: LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price range (per night): $40 - $135
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Sunny Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LION Hotel SUNNY BEACH opened at the beginning of July 2005. The hotel offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation in wonderful surroundings. Ideal for unwinding with a drink at the pool bar or a walk to the nearby sandy beach or the resort center. This stylish, modern complex is located in the north part of Sunny Beach resort 300 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your LION Hotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LION Hotel Sunny Beach Bulgaria - Burgas Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing