We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Ranked #16 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is in a great location just back from the beach 10 min walk, The rooms are big enought and the staff are really freindly, Thats the good. The food is where is goes BAD on our frist night we went to the restaurant for dinner there was a limited selection and so I went for the chickhen when i cut into it it was only half cooked, I went back to the serving area and told one of the waiting staff and she took the chicken away so i was happy they had paid attenion the problem is 10 mins later another tray came out and it was the same. I spoke to the manager who said it would not happen again but we didnt eat there again. But i would stay there again just stay out of the restaurant. There are loads of good place along the beach anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Foxy1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for LION Hotel Sunny Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just back from a two week stay at this hotel. Couple of hitches at start of holiday. When we got there at 6pm our room was not available until the following day. We had booked an apartment with two rooms (interconnecting door) but were given a room with a six foot bed and a sofa bed for the night. The room was good but we could not relax and unpack. The following day we were shown the room we were supposed to be in and were really pleased with it. A really large room with a six foot bed and a double and single sofa bed (sofa beds not very comfy). The room was huge. Then there was another large room with a six foot bed. There were two bathrooms, one in each room with plenty hot water. More than enough space for 2 adults, and 3 teenagers. We also had a south facing balcony that overlooked the 2 pools. The pools were immaculate and a lifeguard was there all the time. There is a small bar beside the pool and a snack bar selling pizza and kebab. £1.25 for a large slice of pizza and £2.50 for a chicken kebab. There are 3 supermarkets within 100 yards of the hotel. The beach is a very slow 10 minute walk and there is also a huge promenade with shops and restaurants there too. We were half board and the breakfast consisted of the usual continental type food, cheese, ham, salad, bread rolls, sliced bread that you could also toast. A variety of eggs, hard boiled/poached, scrambled, baked beans, pasta, hot dog sausages etc. Evening meals were varied and consisted of fish, chicken, pork in different sauces, rice, salad, sausage etc. One night a week usually Thursday were pizzas. Desserts were mainly fruit or ice cream. Nothing fancy but definately edible without an upset tummy. Coffee and tea available at breakfast and you need to buy your drinks for the evening meal but they do not rip you off too much a decent bottle of wine will cost about £10. Sunbeds are always available up to around 9am - 10am so no need to rise early to reserve them. A lot of nationalities use the hotel but everyone was fine. No entertainment in the hotel which is great if you just want a relaxing holiday. There is a night club about 200 yards away but never heard a single noise from it. Beer costs about £1.50 a pint and some bars offer it for 50p a pint in happy hour. Loads of activities on the beach. Hire of 2 sunbeds and a parasol on the beach is about £11 per day. Family of 5 ate out one lunchtime. All had pizza/pasta in a beachfront bar with drinks and ice cream for kids for £25. Only downside to the hotel for us was that when we switched rooms the bell boy took our cases to the new room. Unfortunately he dropped the case with my laptop in it and it broke the screen. The hotel would not pay for the repair as their insurance does not cover damages. ~We were offered the safe free of charge for the whole of our stay due to the inconvenience of our room not being available when we arrived. The staff were always polite and helpful. This is a true and accurate report of this hotel and the negative comments can only be from a reflective image of the complainer. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed when you left them on the floor. Bedding changed a couple of times a week. All in all the rooms were spotless.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caz13en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Lion in Sunny Beach with my parents, who live in Romania and booked this hotel for us. It is a modern building with an attractive but cramped pool area outside. The front desk staff are helpful upon arrival and spoke good English (among other languages) and we were given adjacent rooms quickly. The rooms are basic, but appear to have been recently refinished (a 'damage list' provided on the desk will alert you to the expense of causing too much ruckus; maybe that's an issue in Sunny Beach: it's sort of like Bulgaria's version of the New Jersey Shore!). Every room has a balcony, some of which have views over the pool. A buffet breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate, but don't expect anything remotely fancy -- it's a rather cursory affair, with limited choices likely to only appeal to certain palates. That said, everything I did eat was very fresh tasting and satisfying. Breakfast is a similar story: the Bulgarian yogurt is excellent but I did not find the rest of the offerings as appealing. If you're a coffee addict as I am, you'll want to avoid the stuff they provide for free. Do yourself a favor and order some coffee from the bar: it's inexpensive and rather good. Be warned that many amenities in the hotel, such as safe deposit boxes, parking, and beach towels are levied an extra fee. Location wise, it's not the closest to the beach -- you're about a block out , but it's near a few clubs and bars, as well as a corner store that'll keep you stocked of the sorts of food one needs for a beach vacation (provided that you, like me, find the pairing of beer and potato chips an epiphany) and allows you to further undercut the reasonable minibar charges. Safety was never an issue; there are always people around and many families as well as younger folks. I haven't sampled any other hotels in Sunny Beach, but as much as I can tell from speaking with others, the Lion compares with other 'four star' hotels in town. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would consider it again on another trip to Sunny Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a poolside view; their are two buildings with the pool in between.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank awanless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were pretty worried after reading a few reviews here, but we had no need for that. Lion Hotel has a great location, although some might say it's a little far from the beach. Those hotels on the beach are very noisy, music plays at the bars and restaurants around them all night. Lion Hotel is far from all this madness and it's a four minutes walk to the beach. You cross the boulevard, go by Orange Disco and right through the little fun park and there you are, at the beach.
We were also worried about the food. But breakfast was really great. They had cheese, salami, different types of bacon, sausages, boiled eggs, omlet, yougurt, cereals, 3 or 4 types of bread every morning, milk, tea, nesquick, coffee, butter, marmelade, nutella.. What else could you ask for? Dinner indeed was a little poor.
The hotel rooms are exactly as you see them on the internet. Spacious, very practical, you can turn off all the lights in the room by pressing a button in your bed.
You've got plenty of things to do in Sunny Beach and around it. The view from the beach at night is amazing. Nessebar is very interesting and don't forget to go to Aquapark Paradise in Nessebar. It's so much fun and only 24 leva after 3p.m.!
Be careful where you exchange your money in Sunny Beach. We got tricked once, we got only 79 leva for 50 euro. Crowns sells best and every local will tell you to use only Crown!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ElenaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked this last min - 6 days before we flew. We were looking for some where cheap. It was our first Holiday without our girls 5 and 7. This hotel is family friendly but when we stayed there were only a couple of kids there.
We didn’t know what to expect as the reviews were so bad. The photos showed a nice place but you can’t always trust them. I have to tell you the photos don’t show how BIG these rooms are we asked for a pool view with balcony and that’s just what we got. A modern spacious room with big bathroom with shower and a phone! Our towels were changed when ever we left them on the floor, and made in to swans on the bed! The sheets were also changed half way through the week. The housekeepers were excellent.
Orr tour operator recommended that we use only CROWN to exchange our money and there is one in the loby of this hotel which is very convenient. The rate of exchange is 1 euro = 1.19 leve. Value for mone would be bottle of wine in restaurant 14 leve=7 euro dinner for 2 , mains sides desert and beer 35 -55 lev= 17-30 euro depending on dish ordered.
Breakfast(7-10) is bread rolls, cold meat, pasta, cheese, eggs, sausage, cereal coffee tea and juice. Be warned the first day we had to tell them that the water needed to be boiling for tea! It was only luke warm -but after that it was boiling. We didn’t have the dinner but it look good for a buffet.
There is a mini bar fridge in the room which we used for juice ect. if we had the kids we would have requested they empty it so we had the full of it for kids snacks. We found that the Hotel is a walk from the main strip and there are no maps available so the first night when we arrived we got lost!!
The Disco is out the hotel right cross the street and on the right opposite it is the open air summer cinema which shows all the new releases. Shows 21.15 and 23.15 nightly. Continue down the road for another 200 mts on the right is a road with a barrier and you are on the main strip.
• Left and on the right is the beach. In all it is a 10 min of 600mt walk. It is easy but with kids it might be just a little to far.
• Right and 400mt on the right is a bar called the FAT CAT which has gr8 food and beer on Tuesdays and Fridays from 5.30 -9 they have ½ liter beet for 1.5 leve =75c
The back of all these places opens onto the beach most have swings and some kind of beach play for children. All have children’s menus.
• .50 lev =25c to use the bathrooms even if you are eating or drinking in the restaurants and it is worth paying at the bathroom is clean and they always have paper. If you don’t have to pay the toilets are usually in a bad way

I would recommend you get a map before you go from google map and get some basic directions. If you get them to the Kuban Casino which is on the main street.
Come out of the Lion Hotel turn right walk to the road on the right before you cross is a bus stop get a bus for 1 lev each ( 50c) and get off at the second stop( not counting the stop you got on at)
• go the right and the road on the right leads to some shops and markets Djannys is also here it is a famous restaurant – if you don’t book expect delays . Definitely worth the wait.
• Get off the bus go right at the traffic lights cross and you come to the main strip down and to the right is the best leather shop ( the one after the mex restaurant)
• On the left is markets worth a look good bargains but don’t forget to look for a discount.
• On the right about half way down is the way to the other half of sunny beach and very lively and full restaurants. We didn’t find this until our last night !!!
Back to the hotel. The bar will stay open all night if there is someone there drinking. The cocktails are the best I have ever tasted and good value for money. There is a pool table for a charge. The safe boxes are behind reception and cost 4 lev= 2 euro each day. The hotel also rent beach towels for 3 lev each time you change it. We just kept it for the week! The pool is in two parts and the one by the bar gets the sun early for the whole of the day while the other bigger pool gets the sun later in the day. We only stayed at the pool one day and had to get up at 6.30am to put the towels down to get a sun bed. This would be the only negitave we would have about the hotel. We had an early start on the journey home and they gave us a packed breakfast which we ate at the airport. Be warned they are very thorough with the security checks.
We were going to book with the tour operator the catamaran cruise which was 56 euro each, but there was no spaces left as it fills up early. We found out that the local operator books all the tours from the tour operator and only charges only 56 lev for the same tour. So look around and book early if you want a trip.
We also found that water sports are reasonable and worth doing as they are gr8 fun. If you are doing the paragliding find the yellow boat it is 55 lev per person but this is the best boat to go with .
We had a gr8 time at the Lion Hotel and would recommend it. Remember to get a map from google map before you go!!!
http://www.beachbulgaria.com/sunny_beach/pages/sunny_beach_en.html

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shazms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 km away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,418 reviews
0.7 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 221 in Sunny Beach
672 reviews
2.1 km away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#14 of 221 in Sunny Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#23 of 221 in Sunny Beach
96 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#20 of 221 in Sunny Beach
481 reviews
1.6 km away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LION Hotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $51 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Sunny Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LION Hotel SUNNY BEACH opened at the beginning of July 2005. The hotel offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation in wonderful surroundings. Ideal for unwinding with a drink at the pool bar or a walk to the nearby sandy beach or the resort center. This stylish, modern complex is located in the north part of Sunny Beach resort 300 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your LION Hotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LION Hotel Sunny Beach Bulgaria - Burgas Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing