We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“In the Lands of Serendib....Serendipity can still...”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from the front door at The Mangroves AKA 'Kos'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the front door at The Mangroves AKA 'Kos'
The view of the cottage from the water. The view from the side of the cottage!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The view from the front door at The Mangroves AKA 'Kos'
The view of the cottage from the water.
The view from the side of the cottage!
View from the front in the evening
The veranda!
The cottage at night.
Art on the wall
Our little collection of books.
The Master Bedroom
Th 2nd Bedroom - with a 'Tibetan' double bed.
#3 - two single beds
The Master Bedroom shower
The shared bathroom.
The 'waterspout' shower - emulating the 'pii le', a traditional roadside bathing spot!
The 'Zen' Kermit
The 'Yellow Banana' ready to be taken out!
Out on the lagoon, heading East.
Shisha Pipes for a quiet evening.
The best place for an afternoon snooze!
Part of the 'fleet'.
The five man row boat
One of our roaming neighbours.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kosgoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gabriella...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the Lands of Serendib....Serendipity can still be found!”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Many things have already been said about this friendly villa at The Mangroves. We, a family ranging from 85 years to 7 months, can all only agree: this is a gem indeed!

The house has a special atmosphere, which made us feel at home immediately and more that happy to be able to stay for 16 days.

Everyone had their own highlight: Grandpa appreciated the speed of the internet, Grandma adored the endless stretches of pristine beach (and eventually she found the perfect spot to "bathe" in the sea as waves tend to be strong), husband enjoyed the great music collection inclined toward "world music" with some African influence, me myself the spiritual feel of paddling along The Mangroves at 6 AM with the eagles sitting vigilantly on top of the palm trees and small fish jumping, brother the ease with which to travel from the Mangroves to other places, either by tuk-tuk or taxi to explore other cities (i.e.Hikkaduwa, Ambalangoda), girlfriend the ingenious structure of the showers, and baby girl the intelligence of the owner who added a small gutter to the veranda as to keep it cool so she could happily practice to crawl, as well as the warmth and friendliness of the caretaker Wasantha who did everything imaginable to cheer her up, be it to chop down a coconut or give her a special head massage.

So as you can see: this place is really suitable for everyone!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you - to hear that your stay was a memorable one, that your stay was a pleasant and happy one is all that we want to hear; so thank you. We do hope that we will see you all again one day, our doors will always be open to you - you were wonderful guests to have!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynnhipk...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect start to your travels”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

this was the first stop of our travels around Sri lanka, with a lovely warm welcome.
we had a incredible host, which we didn't expect who catered to our every need.

you give the family who live in a building outside money for breakfast, lunch and dinner and they prepare all the meals for you, plus provide coffee.

we experienced our first taste of amazing Sri Lankan food, and it was delicious.

we were also taken out on a boat, to a beach, got shown animals and the sunset.

we had a amazing time to get use to the heat here, and it truly is a perfect start to your holidays.

ALL credit goes to the family who cook and care for you whilst you are there.

*****

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Thank you for the positive review and the 5 stars! That your stay was a pleasant one, that it set such a positive tone for your holiday in Sri Lanka is just what we love to hear. It was a pleasure to have you all and we do hope that we will see you all again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydpere...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location.”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Everything this place has to offer was good. They have a kayak and a small boat that can fit around 4 people. When you step inside this place, you will go back in time. Its an "Old Colonial" type setting. They do have hot water and very clean bathrooms. The only downside was the caretaker was a little rude.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review. We certainly will look into the point made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre L
1 review
“An idyllic place to stay.”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Knowing nothing about where to stay in Sri Lanka, choosing The Mangroves was sheer potluck- of course it looked idyllic but you can't always go by the photos. It is idyllic and the photos do do it justice and we had a wonderful two weeks enjoying the beautiful views, messing about in boats, walking to the totally unspoilt beach and watching the sun set over the Indian Ocean, lying in bed watching the monkeys and chipmunks in the trees outside the window, tuk tuk rides to Bentota and just generally lazing around enjoying the fantastic weather.
The house itself is very well equipped and comfortable, set well back from the road and very secluded. The star of the show however, as many others have already said, is Wasantha, the perfect host. After an initial wariness on both sides,we soon got to know and understand each other and communication was not really a problem. With kindness and humour he looked after us so well, washing our clothes, ordering tuk tuks and taxis, advising us on where to go and cooking the most divine meals three times a day. He was always there when you needed him but was never intrusive.
Thank you Sumudu for your speedy replies to my emails and thank you and Wasantha for a truly wonderful and memorable holiday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
That your stay was a pleasant one and that we met your expectations is just what we hope to hear. We've past on the feedback to our Man@Kos who asked us to thank you on his behalf. We do hope that we'll see you all again one day - it was a pleasure to have you all, thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalana D
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great retreat for a fabulous friend's reunion”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Superb location for a peaceful gathering. Big rooms, but 2 rooms had to share a washroom. Better to have small pedestal fans, than the industrial fans. Caretaker "Wasantha" was giving us a great service. Canoeing in the bay was super fun. Will surely visit again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Thank you for the review - that your stay was a positive experience means a lot to us. Points noted, will certainly act upon them. Till the next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing