We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa from the Beach side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa from the Beach side
Living room and kitchen Master bed room, upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Villa from the Beach side
Living room and kitchen
Master bed room, upstairs
Master Bedroom Bathroom
Master bed room WC
The study and TV room, upstairs
Large bedroom, ground level
Small bed room, ground level
Bathroom 1. ground level
Bathroom 2, ground level
The beach
Fresh fish and lobster.
Monica on the beach
The 16 m pool in front of the beach
The pool, 16 m
View from the Master Bed Room
Entrance from the landside
Garden visitors
The clay tennis court
The entrance
Chef Pushpa preparing coconut milk
Dinner is ready
Driver Rex
Nangi
The guardhouse
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wadduwa, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Nicholas...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our third visit to the villa and we've had another wonderful holiday. Pushpa's cooking is fantastic whether it's authentic Sri Lankan or Italian. Taking Nangy the dog for walks on the beach was a favourite activity for our youngest daughter and exploring the local countryside with Rex as our guide was very interesting,
We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
Thank you for your very nice Review. We look forward to your next visit.
Olof
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We really look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest regards.
Olof
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheBeers8...
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wow, fantastic house, location, facilities and holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 6 stayed here in July 2015 for 14 days, we had the most fantastic, relaxed time.

Prior to booking we were concerned about the weather reports, but during our stay we had maybe 2 rain storms whose duration was longer than 10 minutes, so I would disregard the monsoon prospects

The pool was nice and clean, we went in the sea most days, but some days it was a bit too choppy

The food was fantastic and worked really well, the house keeper Pushpa would ask us what we would like, she then went shopping for the produce and we paid for it. A daily shopping bill was between 300 and 800 lkr about £15 to £40 per day for breakfast, lunch and dinner for 6. The quality of the food was fabulous and plentiful.

We played tennis daily, it was possible to walk in to town- took about 40 minutes, there wasn't alot to do in town, but that suited us.

We took the train to Kalutra, rented a mini bus to go to Galle, which was all interesting stuff

We hired a car, but progress on the road could be slow due to the mass of roadworks

Rex tended there garden to ensure it looked bright and colourful.

There was an on site security guard, but his main uses were to open and close the gates. Not once did we feel we needed the security.

We had a wonderful stay here in this luxurious house, and would not hesitate to recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Totally relaxing environment. We could do what we wanted when we wanted
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silly_Tra...
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thank you, Olaf and staff, for an amazing week at Villa Margareta. Our only regret was having to leave! The villa, huge pool, and the grounds are beautiful, and every small detail has been thought of in advance to make guests comfortable and relaxed. The place is even more beautiful than shown in the pictures and the sunsets are stunning. We traveled with our 18-month-old daughter and the place is well-suited to having a toddler running around. Pushpa the cook was very sweet and kept us fed and happy, and Rex was a great, punctual driver who knew the roads like the back of his hand. I have been recommending this place to everyone I know!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. Also appreciate your recommendations to others.
Thank you and welcome again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A truly memorable holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at this Villa for 10 days and were absolutely bowled over by its location and surroundings but the real impact and lasting impression has to be the wonderful local people we had the privilege of spending our time with. Pushpa cooked us amazing meals everyday of our stay and is such a lovely person, Rex organised excursions to Safari where we saw Leopards, Sloth bears as well as 3 week old Elephants roaming free in their natural habitat in Yala. Rex and Pushpa then took us off shopping and exploring in Rex's Tuk Tuk which was great fun and a real experience. Silva was our resident security guard making sure we were left free to enjoy our holiday uninterrupted and secure in the knowledge he was on hand whilst we were fast asleep in our beds. That's not to say we ever felt unsafe or threatened once but the piece of mind was very reassuring. Monica the Elephant came to visit the Villa and gave us all a ride up the beach and back as well as a fair well cuddle. If you are looking for a complete family relax and unwind then I think you would be hard pressed to beat a stay here. Olof the owner made booking and organising transfers to and from the airport very easy and we thank him and the wonderfully sincere and genuinely humble people who look after the Villa whilst he's not there for allowing us to share their little piece of paradise. We stayed in July and had very good weather - 30 to 32 degrees most days and only one night time storm which was actually quite exciting, but we were reminded by lots of people that we had come in the off season, but because of school term times and our Children's A' level and GCSE exam schedules could not come any other time of year, but we may well be back in high season when all that is over as we are led to believe the sea is very calm and tranquil in December. Chris, Lisa, Abi and Nat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing