We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats in the restaurant - Read the whole story”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranweli Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed in this hotel twice as part of a trip through Sri Lanka. Fist stay was a deluxe bungalow with sea view, the second one a standard sea view bungalow. Difference between both is 25 euro and a newer bathroom, not worth the upgrade. The area is well maintained by the gardeners and their stops the positive note about this place.
The service by the reception isn't client friendly at all. They made multiple errors during invoicing at the end of both stays; you really need to ask the signed sheets. We also saw this problem with other clients.

One night our son became sick and had a little accident in the bed, we tried to phone housekeeping but no answering, finally phoned reception and they told us they couldn't help us and answered that housekeeping only started at 6AM. They were just not able to bring some sheets and blankets!

The restaurant serves mostly the same, one evening nearly only local stuff, hot like hell and not made for our stomach.
But the most intriguing was a huge rat, about 50 cm big, never seen this huge, running in the restaurant and underneath the buffet tables, some clients were completely frightened to continue eating. We also saw the common brown rat on multiple occasions on the premises and near the kitchen meaning they really have a rodent problem. Other problem in the restaurant is the unfriendly staff; they chase you out in the morning when you enjoy your coffee.

On arrival some clients receive a welcome drink and refreshing napkin, we arrived twice, never seen the drink. Don't know why but again not really client friendly.

You also can freely hire a canoe to go on the river, but this is depending the reception manager on duty, sometimes possible until 4PM, sometimes until 5PM, they always have a good explanation. Don't do an effort to discuss with them.

On Sundays, a lot of locals come over to the hotel, a lot of noise at the bar and a swimming pool filled with people. At the end of the day, the water had a milky color, far from clean. The swimming pool and cleaning system needed 2 days for having cleaner water.

And last: Anthony, the guy with his shop in front of the hotel entrance, really annoying. Go else and you will have much better at lower prices, he is a real rip-off. Also for drinks and bottles, go 100 or 200 meter to the left, these tiny shops are much cheaper and offering the same.

TIP to visit: 200 meters from the hotel you will find some roof tile factories (look for the high chimneys), go and have a visit, don't be afraid to enter the premises, they are extremely friendly and show the whole process with heart and soul: the making, the old equipment, the drying and baking in the oven. It is extremely hard work and these people deserve a royal tip after your visit!

I won't recommend this hotel, mainly due to the uncooperative/unfriendly staff and the rodent problem. The place could be great but isn't.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This place is located close to my residence. I have been to this place 18 years ago for my honeymoon. I was attracted with the place at that time. However I am not happy with current quality, services of this place. Standard room allocated for me is congested and roof height is very low. Room is not attractive and toilets are not equipped with all toilets except sop and shampoo. AC is horrible and can not control its temperature properly. TV with very basic channels. Dinner and b'fast buffet is with limited items. Most of the staff are unfriendly and seems that not properly trained. Cleanness is average.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Prasad_Siriwardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Would have had a 5 but for the cost charged for phone use . The hotel phone charged for the time they look at the time on their computer when you first start to use the phone, not when they pick up at the other end, up to the time that you leave, not the minutes actually spent on the telephone but also for the time between calls waiting for reception having a minute to dial the number for you whilst seeing to other guests. £37 for me to cancel 4 credit cards lost, they did reduce this for me though, to what it should have been in the first place around about.
The staff are generally wonderful and very attentive, the hotel appears to take note of any complaints and tries to remedy them quickly. A slick waiter on the snack bar though did try to charge me for two meals when we had ordered only one, so beware of what you are signing for as all bills are paid at the end of the holiday, the waiter had mistakenly brought us two meals and l suppose tried to cover it up as l think management there is so vigilant that he didn't want to lose face..he lost it with us instead though...
Just as a tip, do not buy the so called chicken sandwich, it is basically onion in two slices of white stale bread, no chicken there at all...the wrap however is much to be recommended as are the main meals from the main menu.
Another thing, choose the accommodation near the sandy beach which is further from the path, our holiday was pretty much ruined by constantly being pestered by Antony , the hotel are aware but are unable to stop him walking on the beach and path behind the hotel, l didn't want to seem rude and ignore him as l wanted to book his trips as they are 50 % cheaper than the reps and there was nowhere else to go for trips, but it's very off putting to see him looking into your bungalow window from the path, and despite promises that we would visit his shop he would not leave us alone.
This hotel itself despite all this is wonderful, they try their very best to make their guests happy, it is obvious that staff here work very hard. We loved the food, there were lots of choices for us and we were never made to feel that we couldn't go back for more.
There were fresh flowers on our bed every day, and our rides in the kayak bird spotting made my holiday, despite getting very wet. It is easy to forget that this is a budget hotel, remember what you paid and be happy.
Tuc Tucs outside the hotel wait to take you to Waikkal, Negumbo, or a nearby town with a market, it is 300 rupees to Waikkal train station, from there are trains to Negumbo and Colombo, the train tickets are very cheap, 25p or 49 rupees to Colombo, be safe, there are con men in Negumbo happy to pretend to be your friend.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the beach, and behind the sand is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marveloussnessess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We spent here 2 days after a long flight from Holland to Columbo. The hotel is situated on the beach at a very quiet spot. The sea was too wild to enter, but there was a nice pool. Rooms were large and clean, direct view to the sea. Wifi was only available in the lobby (but very slow). Dinner in the restaurant was good, friendly staff and live music. No mosquito's or other annoying creatures. In summary: we had a good time. If you stay longer you need to entertain yourself, because the hotel is isolated was nothing to do. If you want resting, this is the place to be.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank edlauwerens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel after arrival in Sri Lanka. To reach the lobby you have to pass the river by boat. Friendly staff, And great room directy located at the beach. More than enough choice in dishes, both in the morning and evening. Also European And local dishes to choose from. Clean room with perfect Working AC. No critical points from is during our stay and we recommend this eco friendly resort for sure!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
1.2 km away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,307 reviews
5.4 km away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 44 in Negombo
573 reviews
3.5 km away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 44 in Negombo
924 reviews
5.2 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
540 reviews
12.9 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 44 in Negombo
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range: $134 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Sri Lanka/Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing