We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just passed way

i was in hurry,i was busy with my team to catch the flight,because of this i cant able able to... read more

Reviewed 10 March 2017
JawadS148
Paradise!

We recently rented one of the select few houses that have been built on this remote coral Island... read more

Reviewed 15 September 2015
Remy200
,
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

ok, the hotel structure needs TLC the staff were lovely but we found the beaches less than majestic and the rooms ordinary

Thank Villamolina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

i was in hurry,i was busy with my team to catch the flight,because of this i cant able able to experiance it,may be luck another time

Thank JawadS148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We recently rented one of the select few houses that have been built on this remote coral Island off the North East Coast of Mozambique. There were 5 in our party and a staff of six - mostly Zimbabwean - looked after us during our seven night stay. It was sheer magic! We spent our days relaxing, fishing, diving, snorkelling, picnicking, sunset cruising on a Dhow etc. There is a very professional fishing/ dive team with sophisticated boats and equipment. Both diving and fishing are reputed to be some of the best in the world.
Getting to Vamizi is somewhat of a challenge. We flew from London to Jo'burg, then Jo'burg to Pemba, Mozambique and then by charter flight to the Island. Alternatively, fly to Dar Es Salaam, and then by small charter plane to Pemba ( for Immigration/Customs clearance into Mozambique), and then on to the Island. But once there, this is truly an experience not to be missed. June to October are the mainly dry months.

3  Thank Remy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Vamizi is very unique in terms of community, villas and other activities like fishing. I love fishing but the experience in Vamizi is amazing. The services they provide to their guests are really appreciable. If I got the opportunity, I would like to visit this island again.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Revwied as a specific Hotel.

As an Island - this is gorgeous, beautiful, awesome, idyllic - an apparent paradise.

Staffed by some super folks - mostly Mozambiquans (sic)

1  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014 via mobile

Vamizi island is the simply one of the most quietest places on earth . The sounds of turquoise waters lapping the white sandy beaches allow for early awakening drifting into long days where "Nothing to do" is the theme for the day . The island has it's main lodge with accommodation with the nearby diving centre in easy access . Luckily we were a working photographic group staying on the island occupying 2 of the private villas so we were extremely lucky to experience the professional management and knowledge headed up by Sharla and the villas under the careful watch and eyes of Beauty and her team . The island team too many all to mention were amazing , always there to help us at any time should it be necessary . Our villa chefs that created delicious food from sunny side up eggs with grilled tomatoes at breakfast plus plus , lobster and crab salads at lunch and delicious fresh fish with local spices B&Q'd or steamed accompanied with just enough to keep your tummy full for dinner. I've rarely been away and enjoyed great food everyday without a hitch . Let's not forget the langoustines and the freshly prepared sashimi , spring rolls and samosas . Well done boys !! You did us proud , you really did .!!
Now of course this doesn't come cheap , not cheap at all . So once you've decided on Vamizi enjoy it for all the right reasons , this is the place to take yourselves on honeymoon or the exhausted exec in need of no communication from the outside . The love birds swanning for a walk along the deserted white sandy shores, there is NOTHING to do except enjoy yourselves , read a book or 5 snorkel and swim , eat and drink and SLEEP .. Hallelujah !! There are sill places on this earth that you can actual get away from it all and don't take the children , you'll have mummy daddy what can I do all day . This island is not for them.
We flew from Europe via Istanbul and Dar Es Salam on Turkish Airlines . We had a stay over and connected to the Islands charter flight . It's a long trip , interesting stop over experience but all in all knowing where you will arrive makes it all worth while .
So spend some of the savings , take your loved one , your tired one or self but get there and enjoy every minute . Bugs none , Mosquitos none , monkeys a few , snakes never to be seen , whales breaching , turtles nesting . No wonder this is a world heritage island . Enjoy !!

5  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Definitely worth donning a mask and snorkel to view the underwater life around Vamizi. Did you know Vamizi is one of the Top 10 Dive sites in the world . . the amount of fish and coral you see is just amazing.

3  Thank HMcQueen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything! I could write a book! White Powder Beaches onto clear ocean, empty beaches stretching for miles. Snorkelling and diving WORLD class. Pampered by the staff tending to all your wants and needs!

1  Thank Vforbes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a ten day family holiday staying in a private villa on Vamizi. Quite simply the best "hot" holiday that we have ever been on. A genuine Paradise on Earth. We relaxed more than we believed was possible and had to pinch ourselves each day to appreciate that we really were here. Air and water temperatures are ideal at this time of the year. Also cold enough at night to sleep very well with fans rather than air con. Falling asleep each night to the sounds of the waves gently breaking a few yards away is a guarantee of a good nights sleep.
We flew in via Johannesburg and although a long jourey, no hassle and absolutely worth it.

The Villa, Kipila, was extraordinary, far larger than we expected with beautiful accomodation and its highlight - the staff who could not have been more attentive, more amusing, helpful and genuine friends, they made our holiday.

The beach is icing sugar soft and fine and like nowhere else we have been and because of the distance between villas, seemingly entirely ours. Scuba diving is world class with good reef fish and large pelargic and coral that is untouched and better than i have seen anywhere. We did not fish and so i cannot comment on that. Our only sadness was that the Humpback Whales were late in arriving and so although we saw a couple, they were not as plentful as they will be in a couple of weeks.

Picnic spots are mind bendingly beautiful and have to be seen to be believed. My sons bought out and used their Kitesurf equipment and declared it to be the best they have ever seen with constant onshore breezes of around 18+knots in crystal clear water only a few inches to a couple of feet deep.

If you are someone who wants to relax in Paradise but have plenty to do, not waterskiing, jetskiing or any other intrusive sports i am glad to say, save up and just go. You will not be disappointed.

Tears were shed on departure, we will be back.

4  Thank Alverne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Id agree with MaldivesLondon- its a real toil to get there but its well worth it.
Beaches are stunning and swimming is a real joy- right outside the villa- we rented one of the private villas as we had the whole family.
No mosquitos which was perfect as there was no air conditioning- not a problem as went in October so temperatures were perfect.
Do the beach picnics- just perfect- lovely food and all private.
I hate to be negative on my reviews but a lot of the staff are bordering on the surly- understandable in a way if you remember how long the conflict there was raging but at this price its not what you pay for,plus thye food in the villa is/was not a patch on the food on the picnics

2  Thank terriblegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews