We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, no frills and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
“Clean, no frills and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I had a great stay while traveling on business. The front desk staff was very helpful although when I asked for an aspirin the Bayer packet they gave me expired in 2008. Also what ever they use to clean in the hallways smells like peppermint schnapps, this smell DOES NOT permeate into the rooms though. Overall this place was cheap, clean, with incredibly nice staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviGrandForks, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words and feedback! We take pride in our cleanliness and our service. We had no idea the Bayer was expired and appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we could immediately replace these. We look forward to serving you in the future! :)

America's Best Value Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    134
    46
    23
    29
See reviews for
93
86
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
roseisle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have come to this hotel many times and have passed on the hotel to friends who also have always found the hotel very clean. The rooms are clean, smell clean and very comfortable. The beds have always been in very good condition. also NO BED BUGS. The bathrooms are clean and in working order.
There is a minor problem with the breakfast area as sometimes it is not kept quite as clean as it could be and there maybe should be another staff person to make sure that supplies are kept clean and neat and full. Sometimes the garbages are overflowing during the breakfast time and not cleaned until later.
We have always found staff helpful

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviGrandForks, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking a minute out of your day to send us some feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us; cleanliness has always been one of our TOP priorities. We know while you are on the road it is important to get a good night's rest. We special order all of our mattresses for this very reason and glad you've had the opportunity to experience them! Your breakfast bar feedback will be addressed; you'll see the difference on your next visit with us.

Thanks again!
America's Best Value Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The train was running about 4-5 hours late, i got in just before 7AM and my flight didnt leave till 5PM. When I explained to the guy at the desk, he went ahead and gave me the "extra day" free so I could check in and sleep in, instead of checking out at 11AM like normal. It was very kind and thoughtful of him to do so.

Aside from that the price was decent and the stay was decent for the price, I was pleased with my overall stay because of the guy at the front desk.

Room Tip: They do not have a shuttle but you can get a cab, its not too far to walk from the train station if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviGrandForks, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are thrilled we could help you. It is our goal to make sure that all of our guests have everything they need to relax while they are away from home, even if that includes making exceptions from time to time to accommodate your travel arrangements. We certainly look forward to spoiling you on your next trip to town as well!

-America's Best Value Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Came to Grand Forks to visit UND. Arrived at 1 am. Tour was at 8:30 am. Alarm went off in the room next door at 6 am and no one turned it off. Went to the front desk at 6:40 am to ask hotel management to handle. Was informed that they could not go into the room. They tried to call and no answer. Walked back to room and guest on the other side of the room stated that the alarm went off everyday at that time and no one was in the room. Went back to the desk to explain. Was told that they could not go into the room to shut off the alarm. I suggested that when they cleaned the room they should shut off the alarm to make it easier on the other guests in the future. NO ONE HAD THOUGHT OF THAT???? Checked out at 8 am and the alarm was still going off. Explained that to the new staff that had taken over and asked what the hotel would do for me. Answer was that they could do nothing based on the stupidity of others. Interesting. Terrible customer service. All of sudden, it was not problem to go into the room to shut off the alarm. Stated that I thought it was unbelievable that nothing could be done for me from a customer service perspective. Was told that they would bring it to the manager's attention and if it was deemed appropriate, there would be a credit of some sort. Surprise, surprise ... no credit offered to date. Experience was frustrating and I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anayone.

Room Tip: Staff is inexperience and not empowered to review a situation and make an appropriate customer servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Riverton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is one of a couple of hotels we have stayed at in Grand Forks area. An affordable hotel, with internet in the lobby, many options in their continental breakfast. Have always enjoyed a quiet, comfortable sleep and staff has been incredibally accomidating. Very home-like environment. This is our 3rd or 4th stay in this particular hotel.

Cleanliness is very important to me, especially smell and this has always been a sweet experience. Never smelled mold etc. I think they work hard to have a clean establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7flames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbviGrandForks, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review our property. Cleanliness and friendliness are our top priorities! Your words mean a lot and I will be sure to pass your words along to my staff so that they are aware of a job well done. Oh and in case you are not already aware, in addition to the computer that we have for guests use in the lobby, we also have high speed wireless internet in all rooms that you can take advantage of. We definitely look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Warmest regards,
America's Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
4.5 km away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#10 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.4 km away
Days Inn Columbia Mall
Days Inn Columbia Mall
#12 of 28 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.0 km away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
Address: 1000 N 42nd St, Grand Forks, ND 58203-1916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Forks
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Forks
Price range (per night): $62 - $184
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn welcomes you to the Greater Grand Forks area with 117 single, double, and suites to accommodate you. All guest rooms have microwaves and refrigerators, Free Wifi and Enjoy a Free hot & healthy breakfast in our Americas Best Value Inn " Early Start" breakfast area. Guest garden patio to enjoy through the seasons that is centered between our one level guest rooms. Guest laundry and lobby business center to accommodate any traveler or extended stay guest. Free on-site large vehicle parking. Close to UND Campus, Interstate I-29, Alerus Center and the Grand Forks Convention and Visitors Bureau. We welcome you to Americas Best Value Inn with a warm greeting and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing