We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel is not new and has been around for at least 10 years but it has been extensively remodeled and might as well be new! I was pleasantly surprised. I stayed here back then, almost the first day it opened and when we entered the room that day, the drapes had yet to be hung up....they came and hung them up:)
Well, those drapes are now gone and the window treatments are beautiful. It is a welcoming place...the staff is friendly and the rooms are kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. I just didn't care for the idea of an envelope being left to tip the housekeeping staff.....maybe it is okay...and I did put a few dollars in.
The breakfast is good but the area where you eat the breakfast is quite small and as it was a busy weekend in GF it was very crowded. so we ate it in our room. They have a pancake maker that makes pancaked really fast. Quite the hit!
The pool area is quite small....crowded as well but the water is warm. It would be okay on a different weekend perhaps. This hotel has a great location. You can walk to a lot of the shopping and it shares a parking lot with IHOP and the wonderful Ruby Tuesdays. It is super easy to find as it is right off the interstate, at exit 138.....no getting lost! I loved all the upgrades to this property and no scaffolding was visable on the 10th of November and the hotel looked beautiful and inviting in the dark with its blue glowing lights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    65
    8
    4
    11
See reviews for
47
32
4
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The hotel seemed to be very new - still had that newness smell about it.

The room was big, the bed was comfortable, the tv was a large LCD with a great picture, staff was very good and most importantly the hotel & room were very clean.

The hotel is adjacent to several stores & restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Had no complaints about the hotel, expect the construction. There was no mention of construction when I reserved online or on my confirmation emails. However when we arrived we found scaffolding up the sides of the hotel. We were awoken at 630 am by the workers right outside our window. When we enquired at the desk later that morning we were told they were not supposed to make noise before 7am. Really? 7 am. Hey I'm all for getting up early, but to be awoken again the following morning by a reciprocating saw right outside our room at 0715. When we checked out I politely indicated our displeasure with our stay. I then had to ask if I was really going to be paying the full price. Only then were we given a slight discount. Despite the clean room, good location and good breakfast, I will not be staying here again due to the lack of courtesy from the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

we traveled to see UND and I wanted two separate rooms so my husband and teenage son could watch exploding things on tv while I watched quieter things... Beautiful room, very comfortable beds with a "soft" pillow and a "hard" pillow for each person, full kitchen (wish we were there longer to make use of it,) nice breakfast area. And it was two separate rooms with an actual door between them (not like many "suites" where there is really no separation for noise.
would love to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I was very impressed with the hotel and every thing about it! BUT. it was undergoing renavations when we arived and we had not been told this when booking our room we were told at the counter that the construction would only start at 10 am which was ok with us as we would be long up by then and out shopping well on Monday morining at About 7:30 am they started using a power saw right out my window and when i called down to the desk they went out to ask them to stop and i here the desk person and the workers out side laughing about it. would i stay their again? if i had to ya, but i would try to avoid it because of the uncaringness when we complained about this as we checked out.

Room Tip: do not a room by the stairs ,try top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
3.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 28 in Grand Forks
539 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
#13 of 28 in Grand Forks
261 reviews
2.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
2.7 km away
Expressway Suites of Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
Address: 4051 32nd Ave South, Grand Forks, ND 58201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Forks
Price range (per night): $112 - $168
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located just minutes from the Alerus Center, Columbia Mall, and the Ralph Englestad Arena, and is a perfect stop for your next visit to the Greater Grand Forks area. Our hotel is located just off Exit 138 on 32nd Ave South. Target, Lowe's, Best Buy, and other shopping destinations are within walking distance. There are also plenty of restaurant options for you to enjoy near our hotel. Our Smart Start Hot Breakfast features our Cinnamon Rolls and a variety of other items to get your day started right. Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Grand Forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing