We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Quick stop

We made a quick stop at the state park while traveling highway 1804. Would be a lovely spot to... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2016
Cherie P
,
Pahrump, Nevada
via mobile
Beautiful Park on Lake Sakakawea

We stayed for one night here and loved the setting and quietness. Being mid September, we didn't... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2016
Jim B
,
Grapeview, Washington
via mobile
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
5
12
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
12
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake rv campers campsite camping shore trees ranger
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Visited the Summer of 2016. I didn't know the park and booked a site on the outer rim, for seclusion, but found out that was the newest section with the smallest trees. Our spot also had a view of an oil well pad and the gas flaring was both loud and bright. We'd definitely camp there again, but would choose a site on the interior of the campground. Helpful staff, handy headquarters with convenience store.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLCSP, Manager at Lewis and Clark State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Good Morning Carol G,
Thank you for your review.

The campground loop that you stayed in 'Plover Loop' was newly created in 2015/2016. We have planted over 800 trees in that area within the last few seasons so in a few years it will be nice and shady! The sites are also significantly larger than our previously established loops in hopes of providing a more spacious experience. We hear feedback from our campers that they love staying in Plover Loop in the spring and fall when temps are cooler and then campers move into the shady part of the campground during the high heat of summer.

We hope you visit us again soon! - ManagerLCSP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Absolutely beautiful location on the N shore of Lake Sakakawea. We stayed for a night in the campground - the staff was out-of-their-way friendly and professional, the campsite was clean and the bathrooms were world class. We enjoyed skipping stones and strolling amidst the driftwood, and listened to the wavelets lap the lakeshore at night. From what some of the other campers say, it fills up on the weekends with young men from the oil industry as well as families, but camp there during the week if you can as it is very peaceful. Fantastic park - best overall state park I've stayed at in several years. Hwy 1804 is torn up awful to the West of the park presently.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank kedalion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLCSP, Manager at Lewis and Clark State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Good Morning kedalion1,
Thank you so much for your review! There is map posted on www.parkrec.nd.gov of the alternatives around the construction going on in the area. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Manager LCSP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We made a quick stop at the state park while traveling highway 1804. Would be a lovely spot to boat and camp in the summer months. The gal in the store was friendly and helpful. Loved the view of the Lake/River from the park.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Cherie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLCSP, Manager at Lewis and Clark State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Good Morning Cherie P,
Thank you for your review! We strive to provide the best experience possible for our campers! We hope to see you again soon!

ManagerLCSP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed for one night here and loved the setting and quietness. Being mid September, we didn't have any trouble getting a site. The sites are quite large, very level, and have a lot of space around them. Also has a lot of great shade trees. There are trails to walk on with great views of the lake.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLCSP, Manager at Lewis and Clark State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Good Morning Jim B,
Thank you for your review. Staff work hard to provide the best experience possible for our campers! We hope to see you again soon!

Manager LCSP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We had a hard time finding the location but when we did it was very nice. There was a very nice lady ranger that helped us with weather updates. The campground was very nice along with very clean showers. We wanted water and electrical hookups but ended up with electrical only. We had to work hard to get that working. We stayed in a tent at this location. Was suitable for tenting.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank janelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerLCSP, Manager at Lewis and Clark State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Good Morning Janelle H,
Park Staff strives to provide the best experience possible for our campers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the park, the staff, and the accommodations. We do hope you come visit us again.
Thank you for commenting!

Manager LCSP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews