We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here for a friends wedding and they couldnt have been more obliging, friendly, helpful and accommodating. This rooms were spacious and we had a lovely view over the inlet. breakfast was great, lots of choice and friendly service, they even remembered day to day how you liked your coffee or in my case hot tea.
Price was reasonable and the car service to drop you off at a local restaurant was great too. Didn't have dinner there, wedding dinners etc but did avail of the sunset cruise which was very romantic and interesting. We will be back and next time we will take the kids as from observation they were xvery kids friendly as well

Room Tip: The view is great whether you go for ocean or inlet view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 542malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    563
    218
    91
    45
See reviews for
713
646
64
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We love this chic oceanfront resort which feels like a true island getaway and we always feel special here. The staff is excellent: attentive, professional, and friendly. The rooms and lobby are beautifully appointed. In the later evening times, when all is quiet, we often use the lobby as our library.

The grounds are gorgeously groomed and remind us of an arboretum. There are plenty of chairs and chaises around the pool and more of them set around the "backyard."

We've used the indoor sauna and spa, great for relaxing. The exercise equipment is convenient and we acually use it! Everything in these areas are well-maintained.

The breakfast buffet, which is included, is always good. It's especially fun to eat outdoors under the umbrellas at this time.

I recommend this resort, give it 5 stars, and add that it's a great value!

Room Tip: There are great views from any room or floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnanansharmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I can't say enough good things about this lovely hotel. I was there as part of a weekend quilting retreat and from start to finish, the staff there was accommodating, knowledgeable, and polite. My room was clean with a gorgeous view, and the hotel grounds are just beautiful, even in chilly late fall. The free breakfast buffet was a spectacular perk, with any sort of thing you could possibly want to eat in the morning, not just cereal, milk, and old apples. Our quilting group can't wait to return next year, and I'll certainly consider bringing my family there as well for vacations in the meantime.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We try to take at least one trip to Wrightstville a quarter and we always stay at "The Runner"!
My wife is from Wilmington and remembers going there as a child when friends would come to visit. The rennovations have turned out very well and have a modern art deco style but the nostalgia is still there. Being from Chicago I always take friends and family there when they come to visit as it is one of my favorite perfect little places to go and have a relaxing weekend. The staff is always very accommodating and the food is excellent. The price and proximity is right for one of the most perfect little beach town gettaways in this country.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We opted to stay at the Blockade Runner, as it has the best views of the flotilla. Service (front desk, valet, and restaurant) was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxMahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.2 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
4.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
20.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price range (per night): $249 - $468
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing