We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World of Whirlys”

Vollis Simpson Whirligig Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Wilson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Totally worth it. The whirligigs are quite simply a visual display, of unabridged imagination and talent in art form. Stopping to admire each whirly is such fun. Each time your eyes scan over the magnificent art, you notice another unique thing.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank delwaydarling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"folk art"
in 15 reviews
"his creations"
in 5 reviews
"moving parts"
in 2 reviews
"fun stop"
in 4 reviews
"downtown area is"
in 2 reviews
"scrap metal"
in 6 reviews
"pieces of art"
in 2 reviews
"stretch your legs"
in 2 reviews
"great collection"
in 2 reviews
"downtown wilson"
in 8 reviews
"pinwheels"
in 2 reviews
"took pictures"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"wind was blowing"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

I was lucky to meet Mr. Simpson and see his creations at their original location. I was a little concerned about what they'd be like in a more planned area, but i was knocked out. Fortunately a windy day and they were going like mad making lots of noise. Made an extra hourlong trip each way from Raleigh to see this and glad I did. The tumbledown town of Wilson was also very interesting to explore. Ragged but beautiful old buildings and maybe some hope for the future.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dayjeffreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

A friend and I were meeting in Wilson and I was looking online for somewhere to meet. I saw this and we decided to check it out! We were so glad we did. It is so unusual! We were trying to determine what the whirligigs were made out of. Some of it was obvious and some, not so much.

It was cold the day we met but, we walked around, took pictures and checked it out. It is so worth checking out!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Beachn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

These were so lovely and intricate. The windy day had them spinning and clanking. Each one is a true marvel of Mr. Simpsons imagination. Something not to be missed. We stopped here and stayed the night on our trip north on 95 just to see these.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank susane244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The Vollis Simpson Whirligig Park is amazing year-round, but in March, the wind takes it to another level! There are more than 30 large wind-driven sculptures and you could easily spend an hour or more walking through the park. The artist put some many small details into his work that I am always discovering something new.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MattShaw9365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vollis Simpson Whirligig Park also viewed

 

Been to Vollis Simpson Whirligig Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing