We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth and comfort in historic Wilmington”
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A very attractive room, genial innkeeper, location in the heart of historic Wilmington. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is unique--use the website to see a 360 view of each room and pick what looks good to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Clarendon is a renovated Catholic school. It has been a heavenly conversion. Our room and all the common areas are beautiful, well-appointed, and immaculately clean. Michael, our host, is a wealth of information, dining recommendations, and down home storytelling. In short, the Clarendon exudes southern hospitality. Our perfect veggie breakfast, fresh coffee, and pleasant conversation with other guests made our too-short stay in Wilmington an answer to our prayers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fandsvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had a wonderful experience at Clarendon Inn. Michael, the Innkeeper, was so welcoming and kind; he made me feel right at home. The room was clean, spacious and had great amenities. The location is just blocks away from the Historical District which was my favorite part. Thank you so much for making my trip to Wilmington such a unforegettable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDTerps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

For our guest to take time from their busy lives to post a review of the Clarendon Inn means the world to us. We have said it before but it remains true..."The Clarendon Inn has the best guest in the world" Please hurry back and recommend us to all your friends for business and pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I purchased the living social deal because I figured that the #1 ranked B & B doesn't come up everyday. Anyway this was my first B & B and I now know why it is ranked number 1. Mr Michael was extremely helpful and if you want to know the best places to eat during you stay he knows them all! (if you like Turkish food you have to try Black Sea Grill, ask Michael but it is only a block over)

The room was clean and offered everything we needed. The location and the innkeeper we keep us coming back. I fully recommend The Clarendon Inn (even after leaving all our hanging clothes at the inn, Mr Michael has been nothing but helpful in trying to get those back to us).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nwmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was the first time I had stayed in the historic district of Wilmington. Living Social had a great deal to stay at The Clarendon Inn that I couldn't pass up, especially after reading the reviews here. The location was perfect, which allowed us to pretty much park the car and walk to wherever we wanted. Our host Mike was very friendly and engaging, helping us out with excellent restaurant recommendations and other tidbits that made our visit truly special. Our room (#5, the music room), was very private, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The Gilchrist & Soames amenities in the bathroom were a definite plus. Our room had an ironing board, hair dryer, and coffee pot as well.

A few other things worth noting: the building is secure, with key fob entrances after normal business hours.The parking in the rear is private and for guests only. There was coffee, tea, and fruit available in the lobby at all times (self-serve), and umbrellas in case of inclement weather. And the front porch was charming. If the weather was a little warmer we would have spent some quality time just sitting on one of the porch swings.

Other reviews mentioned the lack of the "traditional" breakfast you may expect to find at other B&B's, but what was offered suited us just fine. The were plenty of fresh biscuits, vegetarian sausage patties, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, fruits, and cereals to satisfy us. We didn't take advantage of this, but you can also pre-order your food and have it delivered to your room if you choose. But if you go to the breakfast area to eat you get the added bonus of visiting with Mike, which we looked forward to each morning. If you're lucky, he may have his adorable little dog D.J. with him. You can't miss her - she'll be wearing a tiny little dress :)

In short, I would recommend this B&B to anyone that was considering staying in historic Wilmington. Location, comfort, and friendliness of the staff earned an excellent rating from me. Trust the #1 rating - they've earned it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated, so it was hard to decide. We loved room #5. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machu500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,425 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
0.1 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $181 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing