We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First B & B stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #4 of 16 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First B & B stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I purchased the living social deal because I figured that the #1 ranked B & B doesn't come up everyday. Anyway this was my first B & B and I now know why it is ranked number 1. Mr Michael was extremely helpful and if you want to know the best places to eat during you stay he knows them all! (if you like Turkish food you have to try Black Sea Grill, ask Michael but it is only a block over)

The room was clean and offered everything we needed. The location and the innkeeper we keep us coming back. I fully recommend The Clarendon Inn (even after leaving all our hanging clothes at the inn, Mr Michael has been nothing but helpful in trying to get those back to us).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nwmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
132
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was the first time I had stayed in the historic district of Wilmington. Living Social had a great deal to stay at The Clarendon Inn that I couldn't pass up, especially after reading the reviews here. The location was perfect, which allowed us to pretty much park the car and walk to wherever we wanted. Our host Mike was very friendly and engaging, helping us out with excellent restaurant recommendations and other tidbits that made our visit truly special. Our room (#5, the music room), was very private, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The Gilchrist & Soames amenities in the bathroom were a definite plus. Our room had an ironing board, hair dryer, and coffee pot as well.

A few other things worth noting: the building is secure, with key fob entrances after normal business hours.The parking in the rear is private and for guests only. There was coffee, tea, and fruit available in the lobby at all times (self-serve), and umbrellas in case of inclement weather. And the front porch was charming. If the weather was a little warmer we would have spent some quality time just sitting on one of the porch swings.

Other reviews mentioned the lack of the "traditional" breakfast you may expect to find at other B&B's, but what was offered suited us just fine. The were plenty of fresh biscuits, vegetarian sausage patties, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, fruits, and cereals to satisfy us. We didn't take advantage of this, but you can also pre-order your food and have it delivered to your room if you choose. But if you go to the breakfast area to eat you get the added bonus of visiting with Mike, which we looked forward to each morning. If you're lucky, he may have his adorable little dog D.J. with him. You can't miss her - she'll be wearing a tiny little dress :)

In short, I would recommend this B&B to anyone that was considering staying in historic Wilmington. Location, comfort, and friendliness of the staff earned an excellent rating from me. Trust the #1 rating - they've earned it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated, so it was hard to decide. We loved room #5. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machu500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I took my boyfriend this to the Clarendon for a quick Valentine's weekend getaway. I got a deal through Living Social for 2 nights, which included breakfast and a bottle of wine all for under $200! I have been to the Wilmington area a bunch but usually stay at the beach and then come downtown for a night. Staying downtown however was awesome. Here is a breakdown of my review:

Location - The Clarendon's location cannot be beat. It's a quick 5 minute walk to Market and Fronts where you have all the restaurants and bars at your fingertips. We literally didn't drive one single place.

Room/Parking/Inn - We stayed in room 6 which was a large room, with a king bed and private bath. It was extremely comfortable, clean, and charming. It also had a minifridge, microwave, coffee maker and other comfort items you can think of. The Inn has their own private parking off the back of the building and there is plenty of it. Like I said above, we left our car in the spot the entire time. Clarendon has many community areas - kitchenette with complimentary water, teas, fruit, etc, sitting room with couch and tv, and a business room which we didn't use at all but would be ideal for business travelers.

Breakfast - Breakfast would be the only area of improvement for this Inn. Although its listed here as a B&B, the bfast is really more continental. Although the choices are limited, everything was delicious. The only thing I would possible add would be bagels and cream cheese. While we were there they had hard boiled eggs, toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, mini-muffins made by the inn keepers wife (YUM), and meatless sausage with biscuits. This latter was our favorite and you honestly couldn't tell it didn't have meat in it. They also have coffee, juices, water, etc. You are able to eat in one of the many common areas or load up a tray and bring it back to you room, which is what we did. If the weather was warmer one of the patios would have been a fantastic place to enjoy some morning coffee.

Overall Service - I have been to many B&B's and guess I have been lucky because every place I have gone has been really wonderful and Michael from the Clarendon was no different. He was extremely helpful and responsive when it came to booking the room and was able to make any recommendations if you needed any. His sunny disposition and welcoming spirit really makes the Clarendon a warm, special place to stay.

I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends and we will certainly be back to visit.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 6 which was not on the street so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC_BeachGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at Clarendon Inn in Wilmington, NC on December 25 and 25 this past year (2011). We were very pleased with the accomodatons and the price as well as the friendliness of the staff and the excellent trip preparation emails we received from the Innkeeper to make our stay more enjoyable. We were concerned about the availability of places to eat since our stay was during Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and we were concerned some places would not be open. The Innkeeper was very helpful in steering us toward places that would be open. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your very kind review of the Clarendon Inn. It was our pleasure to share the Christmas holidays with you and your family.

We strive to give the very best customer service to all of our guest and it is nice to hear that we are doing a good job.

We look forward to having you visit us again very soon.

Michael
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed there for a wedding. It is a nice place. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is located within walking distance of many good bars and restaurants as well as the river walk in Wilmington.

We loved the outside patio on the street side. It is an nice area to sit and have a drink and watch people walk by or watch the film crews working down the street.

We found the inn keeper (I don't think he was the owner, not sure though) to be rather rude. At breakfast I asked him where I could put my dirty dishes and he very condescendingly told me I could put them right over there by the sign that says "dirty dishes". I heard him use that schtick on several others and I found it rude. Most of my dealings with him were similar in nature. It is a nice hotel but the staff is not really cut out for the service industry.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Clarendon Inn. I want to apologize for appearing to be condecending when asked where to put the dirty dishes. I simply was pointing you and others to the place designated for dirty dishes.

We strive to give the very best customer service and I believe if you read the other reviews here you will find almost every other review here comments about our customer service in a positive way.

Again I ask you to please accept our sincere apology for any misunderstanding.

Michael
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.1 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price range (per night): $176 - $299
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing