We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Stay in Wilmington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #4 of 16 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay in Wilmington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We loved everything about our visit to Wilmington, especially the Clarendon Inn. This lovely inn is so quiet and yet so close to the waterfront and all of the restaurants and shops. We were able to park our car (and the parking behind the inn is spacious) and walk everywhere. Our room was immaculate and very nicely decorated. The bed, linens, and towels are top of the line. There were numerous common areas with plenty of outdoor seating both in front and back of the inn. We enjoyed the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning and a free concert on the waterfront on Saturday evening. We toured the Cape Fear Museum, took a sunset cruise, toured on the horse-drawn trolley, and shopped on Front Street. There are so many restaurants to choose from and all were excellent, but our favorite was Caprice Bistro. Thank you, Wilmington, for your hospitality, and thank you, Glenda, for being such a gracious hostess! (And thank you for mailing my husband's clothes back to us!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrolltonTXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
132
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place is so consistently well-reviewed that you wonder if it is for real or whether you will be disappointed.

It is - we weren't.

Nothing really to add to the other reviews on file. You can rely on their own website and the trip advisor reviews to give you a totally accurate picture of what to expect.

This is somewhere you feel very comfortable staying. We stayed for one night on our way South to Charleston and were happy enough both with the Clarendon and with Wilmington itself to arrange a further night's stay on our way back North.

It has to be a good choice for central Wilmington - especially at the $110 special midweek rate offered on their website.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuwaitGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Clarendon Inn for our nieces' wedding. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful decorated. The staff was so nice and helpful in any way all you had to do was ask. The Innkeeper, Michael made you feel welcome as soon as you entered. Parking was great and you could walk to anything that you wanted to do. It was nice waking each morning to coffee and breakfast. I loved going on the porch to read the paper each morning with my coffee. Thanks to Michael and his staff for a great vacation. Will return. I love the Wilmington area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Clarendon Inn for my niece's wedding in downtown Wilmington. The rooms were spacious and beautiful and everything was impeccably clean. The staff was so friendly and accomodating in every way. Made you feel like you were staying with a family member! The location was great in regards to walking distance of everything downtown and it was wonderful having a private parking area. We had never been to Wilmington and we had never stayed at a B&B before...we loved BOTH! Thank you to Michael and his staff for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Great virtual tour on their website...can see every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our daughter's wedding was in Wilmington, NC in August/2011. We toured downtown accommodations for out of town guests and fell in love with the Clarendon Inn. Mr. Michael is the biggest seller and DJ doesn't do a bad job herself. Upon entering the Inn, you can tell immediately that Michael and his staff simply love what they do. The whole Inn is immaculate. Our friends and family rented the whole Inn and it was a great family reunion with an "open door" policy the whole weekend. The rooms were decorated so tastefully and each one different. Each room was spotless and very inviting. The beds sleep very comfortably and it's wonderful to awake to Mr. Michael's breakfast each morning. He is there to help with anything and everything you need but does not bother anyone, unless asked for help. You are in the heart of beautiful downtown Wilmington and you never have to move your vehicle. Everything you could ever imagine to do is in walking distance. We had "porch parties" each evening and the massive front porch accommodated everyone that wanted to "attend." Thank you Michael for everything and we will definitley be back, we only hope you are ready for us!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.1 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price range (per night): $176 - $299
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing