We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Host for Perfect Weekend”
Review of Stemmerman's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stemmerman's Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2015

My wife and I got married in Wilmington and had our reception next to the Stemmerman's at 128 South. We worked with our guests to book all six suites at the Stemmerman's and never regretted it for a second!

Regarding the rooms and service: Mr. Michael is the ideal host: Great!!! He met all the guests at the door and gave everyone a tour of the Inn and its facilities. He is a "one man show," as he said, so guests can't quite expect a 24/7 presence at the desk downstairs but he does his best! On that note, guests should keep their keys on them at all times, in case someone is not there to unlock the doors for you (thankfully we never had this problem). The rooms are clean and spacious. Many had the beds on a second level. Free coffee, too. Yum. Each room comes with a complimentary parking space which is across the street. Mr. Michael was very attentive. For example, when the clocks changed (we "fall" back one hour) he put a note on everyone's door reminding them of this. I think the only negative characteristic anyone mentioned was the spotty Wifi in some of the rooms.

Regarding the Inn in conjunction with a wedding: VERY recommended! Mr. Michael regularly works closely with the staff of 128 South. He was extraordinarily helpful in assisting me in loading and unloading the decorations we brought for the reception next door and even allowed us to store a bunch of them in the small Stemmerman's office. Finally, if you book the whole Inn there is a small discount for each room.

Thanks, Mr. Michael! Hopefully we can stay with you on a less crazy weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zjanewkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2015

Michael has service down to an art. He let us know when our room was ready and directed us personally how to get through the baracades for the Ironman competition. The room was clean, well equipped, and beautifully decorated. Even though athletes were running down the street into the night our room was quiet. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows and soft bedding. Bottled water, orange juice and muffins were in the refrigerator. We were within easy walking distance of everything in the historic area.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heelraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Michael, now that we're back home in Ireland, we can reflect on our stay at Stemmerman's. Thank you for your service and hospitality, not to mention the advice on local restaurants, bars and places of interest. The loft accomodation provided plenty of space and all the mod cons.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoKcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Can NOT say enough about how wonderful this place is!!!! First and foremost, the innkeeper, Michael, is the BEST! The location is PERFECT! It is IMMACULATE! It is CHARMING! It is close to MANY fine restaurants! It is within walking distance of EVERYTHING in the historic district, including renovated homes, churches, museums, shops, trolley rides, carriage rides, etc. I can just can not say enough. Our first visit to Wilmington was perfect and when we return to this awesome city, we will NOT stay ANYWHERE ELSE!!!

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were planning a short trip to Wilmington NC. In searching for accommodations I decided I didn't want to stay in a regular hotel. While searching the internet I found Stemmerman's. The reviews were excellent so I decided to book them. The reviews were very accurate. Mr. Michael was a wonderful host. He met us on the sidewalk, checked us in and helped carry our luggage to our suite. It was a fantastic few days. When going back to Wilmington I will definitely be staying at Stemmerman's!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bfs1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
1,480 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riverwalk
Hotel Riverwalk
#3 of 18 in Wilmington
293 reviews
0.1 km away
Front Street Inn
Front Street Inn
#8 of 18 in Wilmington
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stemmerman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stemmerman's Inn

Address: 130 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4465
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $99 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stemmerman's Inn is located on the banks of the Cape Fear River in The VonKampen Building in historic downtown Wilmington, NC. Our accommodations are charming, spacious, and cozy. Each suite has high ceilings, large living spaces, a kitchenette and an upstairs sleeping loft. Wilmington is famous for its southern hospitality and we are just steps away from the shops and restaurants of The Riverwalk. So join us at Stemmerman's Inn and experience all that Wilmington has to offer. This Inn is not handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stemmermans Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing