We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Had a great time. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The food was great. And the view is just breathtaking. Definitely a place to go back to you again.definitely a place that you will enjoy. Very close to other fun things to do in the area

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank swtmelissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2015

This B and B was once a mountain estate built for the Kress (Dime-store) family. It is secluded up a gated mountain road. The room was large and quiet. Shower was very good and king sized bed was very comfortable. We went on the Blueridge Parkway, to Waynesville, Sylva, Dillsboro, Bryson City, and Gatlingburg.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrynorcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

After reading the reviews was a little skeptical of staying there. Had received a weekend as a gift, so decided to give it a try we could leave if not acceptable. First it is off the beaten path so if you are looking for active nightlife or anything other than a great view off of a veranda on site this is probably NOT for you. Also if you are looking for pampering,luxury linens, a surplus of amenities, Nope not even going to find a TV or micro or telephone or hairdryer in room.. Your in a lodge built in 1940, that is owned and ran by a family. The family is very nice and very accommodating. Enjoyed every interaction I shared with them. Seems most have difficult time getting cell phone service, we did not have any problem with that. The thing that caused me the greatest discomfort was you can not lock your room when you leave it. They will keep valuables and there was a safe in room, just feels odd and uncomfortable..Near by you have Dillsboro, Sylva,Cherokee, so you can find food, shops within 30 min. Due to the narrow steep road going up to lodge we chose not to return after dark, noted others who stayed there did without problems. Also you need to be able to climb stairs, not handicapped accessible. If you have allergies not a good choice as cats/dogs are all around....

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank loretta8315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

Enjoyed our weekend getaway to the North Carolina mountain lodge in Whittier, NC. The Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge was very nice; accomodations were excellent; the lodge being at the top of a mountain had a fantastic view; the owners were very friendly and eager to please. The breakfast menu (which was included) was extensive and everything we tried was delicious; had dinner one night and the meal again was delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms beautifully appointed; best location would be facing the mountain view; rear rooms faced a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Q2053KKdianes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

This place was downright CREEPY.
DO NOT stay here whatever you do.
I read most of the reviews on here before deciding to stay with my fiance for a two night getaway. Families raved about this place saying how quaint it was and how much fun they had. Well either this place just became a creepy horror movie dump overnight or everyone on here is delusional. We showed up at 4 pm on Sunday. We were told that check-in began at 3 pm. There were only two cars in the parking lot and no sign or any indication of a check in or even a front door! We walked up the sidewalk and knocked on a few doors, there was no answer. We even walked up to the stone deck and went in one of the open doors but could find no one. We felt like we were intruding on someones creepy home. There was no air conditioning and no lights were on. We said 'hello' very loudly and walked up and down the hallway but could find no one. Eventually my fiance went to the end of the house and up a very rickety set of porch steps and found an older woman sitting in her room watching TV with the door open. He told her we were there to check into the inn and she she should would meet up downstairs. She showed us around and it was still just as creepy as we thought. There were no lights on, junk everywhere, her inhospitable husband (who walked out of the room as soon as we entered and gave us a dirty look), old dirty furniture, and no air conditioning. The "innkeeper" if you can call her this was nice enough. Her "office" however, was a broom closet with jewelry supplies and junk all over it. She used a small day calendar with names written on it. I would not have felt safe giving her my personal information let alone my credit card number. We did not want to be rude so we told her we would be back later that evening after exploring the town but when my fiance and I got to the car we both wanted to leave and find somewhere else to stay. We ended up driving to Asheville about an hour away just to find a decent place to sleep. I will never return to Bryson City and I don't want anyone to waste their time or money driving to this monstrosity they call a "Bed and Breakfast".

Room Tip: DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. Whatever you do don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whittier hotels
9.5 km away
Gear Head Inn
Gear Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Whittier
54 reviews
4.5 km away
The Chalet Suites Boutique Hotel
3.6 km away
Sunset Farm Cabins
Sunset Farm Cabins
#5 of 9 in Whittier
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Qualla Cabins and Motel
Qualla Cabins and Motel
#2 of 9 in Whittier
27 reviews
5.6 km away
Fort Wilderness RV Park and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

Address: 1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-7804
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing