We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“groupon coupon made this an economical getaway in winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“groupon coupon made this an economical getaway in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

we got a two night deal and I called to make sure we got a king bed. they gave us a very nice room overlooking the golf course. the weather cooperated but mostly we drove around to see the sights. a good day trip was driving through the great smokies national park which is a similar roadway to the blue ridge parkway (which is closed at this time of year). there was a great ranger station at the entrance with lots of displays and info. it takes about an hour to do the drive and you cross the appalachian trail where you can park and read the plaques and walk around. it ends at gatlinburg which was not my cup of tea...a little too touristy for me.
back at the inn our package included a dinner which was pretty disappointing and hot buffet breakfasts which were fine. waynesville is quiet in winter with some restaurants shut down during the week. like I said it was just a two night change of pace for us and the hotel delivered...it was clean, more than comfortable and roomy and included a fridge, micro and wet bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking a little time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a nice change of pace, even if it was only for a couple of nights. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the evening meal as much as the remainder of your stay with us. If you have any specifics that you would like for me to pass along, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly. Thanks again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    205
    93
    47
    30
See reviews for
94
292
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We thought that we got a deal on Groupon and we went for our anniv. The staff (Tom) was rude and the room was a run down motel. The groupon included a meal and breakfast, but the staff also came around to collect their tip as they said that the tip wasn't included. When we checked out - the hotel also added the gratuity for the meals and they were rude when we told them we had already tipped the staff $50! I guess they laughed all the way to the bank! We wouldn't go back here if it was free!! NO CLASS!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gret60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to post a review. First, I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding meal gratuity. We work very hard to spell this policy out, which does vary by package, in both reservation confirmations and at check-in. I'm also sorry that it seems you did not enjoy your time with us whatsoever. If you would like a refund of this meal gratuity, please contact me personally. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I don't understand all the bad reviews. We had a great stay this weekend. The weather was the only disappointment. Our room was perfectly clean and very roomy. Nothing was outdated. We stayed in room number 187, a deluxe, with a golf view. Perfect for a family of four. Everyone was very friendly. Wish we could've played golf but the rain kept us indoors. The views were amazing. Breakfast buffet both mornings and dinner one night left us with no complaints. Also, we had dinner at Bogarts just down the road. I highly recommend it. Great service and food.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thanks for taking a few moments to share your experience at the Inn. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, food and staff so much. We're looking forward to your next visit already ... And we'll work on keeping the rain away for next time! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere in Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I can't understand the bed reviews I've read. I have just come from a very satisfying meal for two at the Cork & Clever that was included in my economically priced two night package. For an appetizer I had a crab cake. That was followed by a 12 oz ribeye, and the third course I chose was a warm chocolate brownie a la mode. It is true the quarters could use a little updating, but they are hardly run down. Moreover, the staff are friendly. I would come again.

Room Tip: I am staying in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you so much for logging on an sharing your thoughts about our property so quickly! I will pass along your kind words about the evening meal and friendly service to the staff and management team. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We found this deal on Living Social, as did many of the reviewers. The price was too good to be true and now I am reluctant to purchase anything from the Living Social website after this trip. The Golf Course was beautiful, thats it. We intended on a 3 day 2 night romantic weekend. We were excited until we walked down the dark extremely narrow hallway to find our golf course view room. They handed us keys, not cards, and I knew we were in for an outdated weekend. As soon as we opened the door I wanted to leave. The furniture, bedding, bathroom, EVERYTHING was really old. There were drop ceilings, and the tiles were old discolored, I felt at any moment something would crawl out of them. The bathroom door, was a pocket door that did not slide closed for privacy. The Bathroom ceiling was stained and had hair stuck to it. The bath mat had black curly hairs it was disgusting. The area outside the bathroom to wash hands, brush teeth and do hair and make-up was so small and the lighting was flourescent. Terrible. Only one plug in the outlet worked as well. The room was musty. The heat didn't work right and I had to keep getting up at night to change the settings, needless to say we were upset with the room. One other MAJOR issue, you can hear EVERYTHING above you and next to you from the other rooms....not my idea of romance!

The restaurants were just as bad, Cork & Cleaver had a limited menu, so we got up and left. The morning buffet was gross, no gloves were used, the eggs were mush, the food was gross. We only attempted that one morning and left without eating there as well. The best part of our entire stay were the little restaurants in the little town, they were amazing. We were extremely upset with our stay and the staff and service at the Waynesville Inn. I would not recommend this place to anyone, ever. This place needs a complete overhaul.

Room Tip: My only tip to choose a good room is to NOT stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for offering some insight into your stay with us. It is certainly not going unnoticed. I do apologize for you leaving the Inn not as happy as we have come to expect from most of our guests. While many people love staying in the lodge, we do find that some prefer to stay in a couple of the outlying buidlings on property, where the rooms are more modern in style and the atmosphere is a bit more private. I have noted some of the things that you have mentioned as areas in which we can strive to improve. Again, I apologize for your stay being less than enjoyable. I am glad that you are a fan of the area and I hope you will continue to visit Waynesville, whether staying with us or not. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
7.1 km away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 20 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.9 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
10.7 km away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price range (per night): $131 - $193
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing