We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Down-To-Earth Excellence”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Rear deck with awesome mountian views
Master bedroom
Main level guest bedroom
Lower level
Rec room
Bar
Bar
Lounge
Gas fireplace
Guest bedroom #3
Guest bath with steam shower
Media center
Welcome to Bear Lake Reserve
Pool at Lake Club
Kayaks and boats for rent
Golf course by Jack Nicklaus
Two mountain lakes
Lake Club
Bear Creek Park
Fishing for all ages
Dogs love High Country Lodge too!
Slipstream
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tuckasegee, Jackson County, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
W0rldtrav...
Lilburn, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Down-To-Earth Excellence”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed @ Bear Lake Reserve in Cashiers Region, NC for a wonderful weekend. Actually stayed another day! This was one of the best weekend get-a-away that we experienced. The cabin pictures don't do it justice. It is a stunning serene place to stay. All the amenities of home in the woods and the lake was just magnificent . We did it all; Took tours of the for sale houses, saw the sunrise and set atop the Mtns. We toured the water fall, canoed the lake and came home to a wonderful house. Best thing about Bear Lake Reserve is the you actually see the bears! All we can say is don't miss out on this get-a-away!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAC415
Irmo, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect mountain retreat”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing house! We spend Labor Day weekend 2015 there with family and it was perfect! The location really made you feel like you were away from it all while still have the comforts of a home. We didn't turn on the televisions the whole weekend--the view of the mountains and the company were more than enough to keep us entertained! The beds were comfortable, the water pressure awesome, the couches plenty and the outdoor dining was perfect! Every morning we had coffee and breakfast on the porch. Every evening we had dinner and drinks out there too. One night, we even had a fire and made s'mores-even if it wasn't exactly a cold night! You can't see the neighbors from the porch which made us feel even more secluded. And it's pet friendly!!! Plenty of places to walk the pups around there.

We went to Sylva one day and Cashiers another. Just close enough to grab some food, groceries and great beer at one of the local breweries.

I would recommend this place for any one looking to get away for a week or even long weekend. It would be great for a couple, family, or group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view. The location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crustydog
Taylors, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing time with wonderfull views and quality lodgings.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival, we were greeted by Brandon, who answered all our questions and made sure that our stay was without any problems. The house was awesome. Well worth the price for staying there. The views from the back deck were incredible. We were greeted by a Black Bear cub on our first night and were able to sight bears on several occasions after that. it was a very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable experience for us. I would not hesitate to go again. The House has everything that you could need there. The drive there was enjoyable. Everyone that we met there was friendly and helpful. A very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything.
Liked least: I did not find anything I did not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KY
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing