We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sorry we had only booked one night!”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So sorry we had only booked one night!”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We go to the Outer Banks from Atlanta each fall, and always looking for a neat place to "stop over" on the way back, because of the long drive. We booked a night here, and after arriving, we have decided to come back again, but stay longer, maybe making this spot a destination! This appears to be a family-run property, and everyone we met was very nice. They only have about 10 rooms, and the one we stayed in was very nicely decorated..... Not your typical hotel furnishings. We really enjoyed the screened porch overlooking the marsh, and at night, turned off the air, turned on the ceiling fan, and left the door to the porch open so we could sleep with the marsh sounds at night. Loved it! The breakfast in the morning was quite tasty, and included a turkey sausage/potato/cheese casserole and homemade banana nut bread. How nice to have something homemade! These folks really take pride in their property, and it shows! Short distance to the beach! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gocoastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
What an awesome review! We do take pride in our property and we thank you for taking your time to post this review. Please do come back and stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    50
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
350
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
piney flats
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here two nights and were very satisfied with the inn. It is not ocean front but is within walking distance of the beach. Very quiet and relaxing. Very clean. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were limited but had two homemade items each morning which were very good plus cereal, fruit, etc. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bird Island grand room. It is on the second floor at the far end of the building. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again soon! Thank you so much for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary at the Sunset Inn. We have stayed at other B&Bs on the NC coast, but I'd have to say this was my favorite! It was a total package - nice/clean room, nice/private porch with a view, good breakfasts, friendly and welcoming staff (esp Andrea), short distance to the beach, and convenient to many restaurant/shopping destinations.

We stayed in the Smithville Rm and I loved the blue/white decor - very cozy. It was also close to the dining area, which made it convenient for bringing breakfast back to enjoy in our room. Only pitfall to staying on the bottom floor is being able to hear people walking overhead. Luckily, we seemed to be keeping the same schedule as the folks above us so this wasn't much of a problem.

I highly recommend & hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for spending your 5th anniversary with us! The Smithville room really is a beautiful room and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. Please visit again and hopefully you can spend many more anniversaries with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The inn is located right off the main road to the island. The view from our room was of marshland and the new (very unattractive) bridge. We did not sit out on the porch since the smell was not very pleasant. Essentially, the location is not brilliant. In the evening we thought it would be nice to eat in so we brought in some food, and then found to our dismay that there were no glasses, plates or cutlery of any kind in our room. For wine, we had to do with styrofoam cups - not very romantic. Breakfast was mediocre - and all of the plates and cutlery were disposable. As another guest has pointed out, there is a kind of motel feeling since the common area is closed after 6pm. On the positive side, the staff are very friendly, and did direct us to a good restaurant. Tip: ask if the room you are reserving is one of the rooms that does not have a rocking chair facing the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has access to its own rocking chairs outside the room. Many do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review of the Inn. We are located on the salt marsh which we think is quite beautiful. Yes, we have paper products due to being on a septic system. Our health department requires us to use these items and will not allow glasses, etc. to be placed in the rooms. The island has a new sewer system and we will hopefully be on that shorly so I see "real" china and silverware in our future! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have stayed at The Sunset Inn countless times and count ourselves lucky to be able to make the trip several times each year. After years of renting cottages at Sunset with a large family group, it is nice to know Dave and the staff will have a beautifully appointed room for us where we can truly unwind and let the stresses of everyday life evaporate with the ocean breezes. The "breath" of the marsh calms our souls and the spectacular "sunsets at Sunset" never fail to rejuvenate our imagination. If you are looking for non-stop action, pulsing music and a touristy crowd, please do not call The Sunset Inn. If, however, you enjoy the serenity of a long stroll on a seemingly endless beach, the soft calls of coastal birds and an exchange of "hellos" as you walk the beach, then, by all means, call The Sunset Inn. Your first stay will not be your last . . .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersBWesternNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Inn! We love our guests and it is especially nice to get to know many of our guests personally and see them year after year. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
6.5 km away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
723 reviews
6.3 km away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
512 reviews
13.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,136 reviews
16.2 km away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
436 reviews
19.0 km away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price range (per night): $125 - $265
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing