We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oh What a Wonderful Week!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back of House and Pool Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back of House and Pool
Pool
Great Room
Great Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Deck off Great Room
Powder Room off Kitchen
King Master Bedroom
King Master Bedroom
Master Bath
2nd King Bedroom
2nd King Bedroom
EnSuite Master Bath 2nd King Bedroom
3rd Queen Bedroom
4th Bedroom Queen and Bunk set
Lower Level Full Bath
Back Deck and Grill
Tower Loft
Tower Loft
Hot Tub on Tower Deck
Hot Tub for 6
Game Room
Outdoor Shower
3rd Av Ocean Access path
Ocean Access @ 3rd Ave
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Southern Shores, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dm532017
Thiells, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh What a Wonderful Week!”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our family had a great week at Eileen & George's home away from home.
The home is fully equipped for a fun filled vacation. It is very large & comfortable
which gave everyone their own space to relax and recharge.
The pool was a refreshing treat after biking on the nearby bike path.
We walked or biked daily to the nearby 3rd St Beach Access.
We took our grandson for Duck Donuts and Sunset Ice Cream along the boardwalk
in nearby Duck Village. Everyone enjoyed that!
Great space! Great location! Fabulous Family time!

Thank you Eileen & George!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review FLIP FLOP INN. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us next season. George & Eileen, owners"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labladyb
Pomona, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“There's No Place Like Home”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I have been coming to the Outer Banks for a very long time and there is truly no place like the Flip Flop Inn! This gem of a home offers everything (and more) you are seeking from a restful and relaxing vacation. You might even forget that you aren't staying in your own home, because it offers all the comforts you would expect if your home was at the beach.

For example, think about the number of times you may have rented a house and discovered it didn't have a particular pot or pan you might need for a delicious seafood meal or you had to bring your own...(fill in the blank)! The beauty of this house is that the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need to make your vacation one of a lifetime. Another nice touch by the owners is calling on our first day of vacation to make sure everything was going well and that we were happy! What a unique way to make a first impression! In this world where so many things have moved to such an impersonal level, this was so very much appreciated. This attention to detail is what makes this an especially rare rental. The entire feel of this property lets you know you have rented a "home" compared with just renting a "house".

This home has such a great location. It is close enough to the town of Duck to walk, jog, or bike. You will find many great places to shop, dine, or even attend a concert right in the town's center. The town of Duck has done such a superb job of putting together a town square that welcomes visitors from all over with such great activities for adults and children alike. There is something for everyone including: magic shows, morning exercise classes, or movies. Don't forget to take a walk on the outstanding beautiful boardwalk that begins right as you get into town. The sunsets are amazing.

The Flip Flop Inn is a place that I will return to for many years to come. After staying here, I know without a doubt this is the VERY BEST of all the rest. This property should DEFINITELY become your new "home away from home".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Eileen and I are very pleased to be part of the 50th Anniversary celebration. Your family members are most welcome at any time. George & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Trip”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was wonderful. The only thing that was mentioned by my party was a TV was needed in the bedroom with the bunk beds. Maybe cut down the tree in the middle of the driveway. Other than those two things our trip and stay at Flip Flop Inn was wonderful. We love the house, pool and hot tub. I like the tub with the jets in the master suite. I have restless leg syndrome and that tub helps with that so much that I am thinking of getting one for my house. Needed some relaxation and I got it at Flip Flop Inn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review FLIP FLOP INN. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us next season. George & Eileen,owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen1830
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of room for kids and great pool”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the best so far of vacation rentals on Nags Head we have used. Lots of room for large family. Traveled with sons and their children..ages, 8, 7, 6, 5 and 3...they loved the pool. It was not too big for them to play safely...I swear they all learned to swim this trip! This house was well equipped with about all you need...and more. It had all the beach equipment you needed, including beach carts to tote everything to the beach which was a short walk from the house. There were lots of videos and games for bad weather days. Everyone agreed when we go again, we will check out this place first to see if it is available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very well equipped
Liked least: Having to drop off the key rather than leaving them in the house when we left
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 170
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing