We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs & Noisy”
Review of Days Inn Selma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Selma
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Selma
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed Bugs & Noisy”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Do not stay here unless you are desperate. They seem to cater to truckers with loud diesel engines that roar all hours of the night outside the rooms. We complained about barking dogs all night long in rooms next to and above ours but management just ignored us.At check out asked for the manager only to be told he was out of town. We called after we left 3 days in a row to express our disatisfaction only to be told manager would get back to us. It is now days later and still no call.
The worst complaint we have is that after check out my wife and i started itching like crazy only to discover our legs bitten up by bed bugs and then found them in our clothing. This is a nasty place to spend a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfarley001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitspramukh, Manager at Days Inn Selma, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for your reveiw. We are really sorry to hear this.The same room is rented evey night and unfortunately nobody complained about bed bugs.Before few days the same room was inspected as somebody filled complaint with NCDA and the officer didn't find anything from any room.Even today the same room is inspected and nothing is found from that room. Sorry fo the trouble. Also,please check your email for an apology letter. Thanks,Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    114
    82
    60
    78
See reviews for
205
99
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I would give ones across the board but it is a decent location right off the interstate, from here it goes downhill,gave a 2 on service because they refunded our money. Woke up with bugs in our bed,my youngest son was actually bleeding from the bites. My family actually had 4 rooms,we were only refunded for 1 room,the second night we stayed at another hotel close by for only 10 dollars more,(best western, it was very nice). I definitely would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crisco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Selma hotels

Montross, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Woke up to bed bugs...the beds were infested (2 queen beds in room)! Even though they gave us our money back they wouldn't reimburse our family staying in the adjacent room because they didn't have any bites. Also blamed us for bringing the bugs...

Also the bathrooms were very, very small in the hotel rooms.

We will never stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: We ended up staying at Best Western which was much cleaner & bathrooms were much bigger. Servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitspramukh, Manager at Days Inn Selma, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Please read the following report from the Johnston county.Already we refunded your money.Sorry for the problem.

Complaint was received by the NCDA and forwarded to our department. Copy of email is attached to this form for file.

Location of Complaint: Days Inn in Selma, NC

Address: 115 US 70 A Hwy, Selma, NC 27576

Date: February 4th

Complaint: Family stayed at the Days Inn around February 4th, (2011) in which they encountered a major bed bug infestation.

Investigation completed by: Ashley Blake on February 15th, 2012.

Comments:
Before visiting the hotel, I tried to make contact with the complaint filer but the given phone number was not in service. Visited the establishment and spoke with Niral Patel, the general manager of the hotel. I asked them to print me a report of every hotel room that was rented on Friday night of February 3rd and Saturday the 4th. Of the rooms that were rented, I randomly inspected 6 rooms for signs of bed bugs or other pest (Rooms# 115, 119, 125, 127, 223, 224). Manger reported that he was aware of the complaint and took me specifically to two of the rooms the complainant rented. Of the 6 rooms that were inspected, no signs of bed bugs or any other pest were noted in the rooms. Manger reported that Kleggs pest control treats the hotel regularly for all pest and vermin. When a bed bug complaint is filed with the facility, he stated that Kleggs is also notified to come inspect and treat the room.

No further investigation is needed at this time.
Thanks,
MP,Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

PROS: This was our pit stop between Disney and Maryland. We arrived fairly late, around 11:30pm, but the front desk staff was still very friendly and helpful. Was very pleased and relieved to see a clean room and beds waiting for us. My husband thinks he slept better on that mattress than the pretty expensive bed we slept on at Disney! We also took advantage of the free breakfast the next morning. Nothing over the top but a pretty nice continental breakfast. Allowed us to eat, and get right on the road without having to make a lengthy morning stop.

CONS: It is a little remote. That being said, we had no issues and our vehicle (plus contents) were safe. There is also no elevator which I found odd for a multi-story hotel. Not a big deal for us (other than it was no fun to carry 2 children up the stairs), but it may be for others.

All in all, a great stop for a great price and would consider it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octscotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Called hotel the day before and got a great rate (under $50). Everything was very clean and the beds seemed almost new. The beds and pillows ere very comfortable and we slept great. Quick, easy check in and out. There are no elevators so if you have problems with stairs request 1st floor. Breakfast was good but if you are in a hurry forget the waffles (we waited 10 minutes for our turn at the waffle iron but had the time to burn). Easy access to 95 and to the antique shops in downtown Selma.

Room Tip: No elevator and relatively tight stairs to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
1.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Selma
158 reviews
0.9 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 6 in Selma
29 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Selma / Smithfield I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, Smithfield
3.8 km away
Best Western Smithfield Inn
Best Western Smithfield Inn
#2 of 10 in Smithfield
802 reviews
3.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Smithfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Selma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Selma

Property: Days Inn Selma
Address: 115 US Highway 70a E, Selma, NC 27576-3413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Selma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Selma
Price range (per night): $78 - $108
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Selma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Days Inn Selma, NC. We are located just off of Interstate 95 at Exit 97 for Selma and Hwy 70 bypass. All Guestrooms are Interior Corridors, Complimentary Daybreak Breakfast with additional Hot Items, such as Sausage, Eggs, Sausage gravy, Belgian Waffles. Our hotel offers a complimentary 24-hour business center complete with wireless high-speed Internet access. The Days Inn Selma, NC offers a complimentary USA newspaper M-F. Each guest room is equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. We offer wireless high-speed Internet access in every room as well as in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Selma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Selma
Holiday Inn Selma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing