We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a rare gem in a hidden oasis. Cant wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Onslow Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Onslow B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is a rare gem in a hidden oasis. Cant wait to return!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in the ocean view villas right on the waterfront which cost more than the rooms out the back but were worth every penny spent. We were on a budget but splashed out to get the view in this town and our only regret was not planning a longer stay here. The comunity in Onslow is so welcoming of tourists which is a welcome relief after being ignored in nearby Dampier. We absolutely loved how clean and well equipt the rooms were, and adored the views. Even the little soaps and lotions which had a lovely coconut/vanilla type scent were awesome and better than anywhere else. It is attention to these fine details that the Ashburton Resort gets so right. makes you feel like royalty staying here. We cant wait to come back - please dont change a thing!!!!

Room Tip: pay the extra for the ocean view rooms - you wont regret it!!!! priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
The ocean front suites certainly have a great view and offer probably the best sunrise in the Pilbara! Onslow is a tight knit community and is continuing to grow each year. The Rooms are well equipped and have recently been refurbished
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
10
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I'd like to thank you, Scott and the Team for looking after all of us so wonderfully over the last 5 months (some have been even longer). It has been wonderful staying with you guys, and you have treated us superbly. It truly is a wrench having to leave, but we will definitely come back and visit in the future.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were looked after for the period you were hear. The resort has now been refurbished and is looking even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What a wonderfull little spot, the rooms are fantastic, well priced and overlooking the water and have all the mod cons that you would expect...!
The motel is only a short walk to everything in town, what a bonus!!
The management couple scott & nikki are extremely helpful and friendly, their customer service is second to none
I will definitely be back to stay at The Ashburton Resort Motel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivbeeneverywhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Resort is certainly central to town and in a convenient location over looking Beadon Bay.
We are glad you enjoyed the service and time at the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Maceral Motel
In a word - Onslow ? - Miss it if you can !

122 km to stay at the only Motel in Onslow is disappointing. Admittably management has changed 3 times since we booked 6 months ago, and it seems the concept of customer service has only declined. Not much in this motel works and they take every advantage to charge. The cyclone shutters are permantly lowered causing one to wonder if they are not really secuity shutters (aka bars on the windows) against 'the more disadvantged' local residents.

The local Council policy of spraying for mosquitos carrying encephalitis every night, is both encouraging and concerning.

The local Pub however is very good value - the meals are fine and fit for a mine worker - mere city slickers can dine well on an entree, at a very attractive price compared with the only 'proper' restaurant in town.

1 night in Onslow is ample - No nights is even better.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburtonResort, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very disappointed to read about your negative experience during your stay in November 2010. We would welcome you back to experience the 'NOW' wonderful Customer Service that is provided along with the attention to detail throughout our Resort. You will be truly amazed.....
Onslow itself is ever changing and the town is blessed by its proximity to the ocean and the Ashburton River, just a half hour drive away. The Mackerel Islands are also a must see, often described as a fisherman's paradise. There are 10 islands located 23 kilometres off the coast of Onslow emcompassing coral atolls which boasts perfect white beaches, abundant fish, and spectacular coral for snorkelling. So a night visit just isnt enough in this beautiful piece of paradise.
All Guests comments are vital, however big or small, in making sure we learn from and continue to exceed all of our Guests expectations.I would welcome the opportunity to discuss any further issues with you personally.

Kind regards
Nikki Dagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were suprised when we found this place- it was not what I had expected. I really liked the rooms- the couch was so comfy! Both the kitchen and bathroom were brand new and very modern- not super fancy but not cheaply done either. Even with all the construction and mine workers around in the morning, we were not disturbed at all. We will definately go back to Onsow again.

Room Tip: As far as I know- every room is brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed the facilities at the resort. It is certainly an Oasis in the west and a great place to relax, particularly if heading over to the Mackerel Islands...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Onslow hotels
0.4 km away
Beadon Bay Hotel
Beadon Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Onslow
29 reviews
0.3 km away
Onslow Sun Chalets
Onslow Sun Chalets
#3 of 3 in Onslow
13 reviews
1.8 km away
Discovery Parks - Onslow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onslow Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onslow Beach Resort

Property: Onslow Beach Resort
Address: | Cnr Second Ave & Third Street, Onslow, Western Australia 6710, Australia (Formerly The Ashburton Resort Motel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > The Pilbara > Onslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Onslow
Price range (per night): $222 - $267
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onslow Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the heart of Onslow with the beachfront as your doorstep, the Onslow Beach Resort features 86 pristine executive apartments with clean, modern facilities, including: • Comfortable king size beds • Air conditioning • Private laundry (washer & dryer) • Secure complex • Private poolside area • Private en-suite facilities With many of the apartments offering ocean views, the outlook over the bay is unrivalled. All apartments offer their own private balconies, perfect for watching the world go by after exploring the wonders of the Pilbara. Or, you may wish to relax poolside before visiting the Beach Club for fantastic bistro fare and an ice cold drink at sundown. The menu includes our famous "Minderoo" burger, pizzas, platters, fresh salads and locally sourced seafood & meat. As the 'place to be' in Onslow, you won't want to miss popping whether you're staying with us or just passing through. The Resort is a short stroll to all local facilities including the town supermarket, service station, post office, chemist, visitors centre, boat charters, community sport & recreation centre. We have a variety of holiday activities to suit everyone, including island adventures at The Mackerel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Onslow Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing