We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lancelin Sand Dunes
from USD 92.90
More Info
from USD 123.40
More Info
from USD 120.50
More Info
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
182
115
22
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
115
22
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand boarding great fun slide down general store fun activity surf boards two hours quad bikes fine sand soft sand petrol station wear sunglasses a lot of fun blue skies photo taking wheel drive kids and adults
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

First time trying out sandboarding! The whole experience was fun and thrilling! 2 hours felt like just the blink of an eye, but I guess we wasted more time on climbing back up. It was quite tiring too given that the sand board was quite heavy and we gotta climb the steep sand dune.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

A must go place that just around 1-2 hours drive from Perth. Sand board is available for rent at the sand dunes (AUD10 per piece). We noticed that there are broken glass pieces on the sands (not just once but few other areas too). please be careful to avoid any injury.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank MonkeyAhMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Wanagarren Reserve - We drove back along the highway from the Lancelin Sand Dunes which are just stunning. They are powdery and white and feel so cool underfoot. They are like something from the desert but better because of their whiteness. We drove for about 4km to Wanagarren rest area where we stayed the night as it was too dark to continue to drive as there were roos and emus all over the place. We were only 10km from the Pinnacles at Cervantes, so it is close enough to get there early in the morning. We saw the sunrise from Wanagarran Nature Reserve this morning – that’s the second time, we stayed over in our RV at this location, and it never gets boring. The grass trees or black boys as they used to be called are outstanding – in their hundreds – in the early morning light.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank annettelaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

This was voted the highlight of our 2 week journey sound south west WA by our 14 year old. Massive dunes, you hire boards from some small businesses near the dunes ( we paid $10 per board) and then wear your self out sliding down the dune, the scrambling up them again to repeat the process ; awesome fun
Be aware the area is totally undeveloped; no cafes/ food, no toilets, and at your own risk driving across the rocks to get to were the dunes are; but it’s worth it!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Booking a board online is $12, but when we reached the dunes, it is just $10. For the 3 of us, we booked 1 board and we had a very fun time sandboarding down the dunes. We were recommended to play at a different part of the dunes because there were no rocks and gentler slope. The board was heavy especially when you need to carry up the slope - this could be a very good exercise. After a few rounds, we were just feeling short of breath all the time. On the other side of the gentle slope, there was a steep slope, we tried and it was more sliding down. We were done, the wheel of our car got stuck in the sand, some guys managed to help us free our car. We saw a few cars got stuck as well while leaving. Must try activity near Perth.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bigtupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews