We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Friendly Cycle Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bright Velo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bright Velo
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Cycle Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Bright is Cycling paradise. And this was an excellent start to my cycling holiday. Wayne and Susan have in the past year set about creating a place that is perfect if you want somewhere that understands the needs of a cyclist on holiday: Secure bike storage, bicycle hanging racks outdoors, a cafe (Cafe Velo) with momentos and history all over the walls that can keep you in there for hours (great coffee and free WiFi). Wayne has many stories to share of his time as a European Pro. I stayed in a ground floor unit, which was basic but very clean, with comfy bed, hot shower, tea and coffee and fridge in room, TV etc. I would recommend these style of units for cycling trips. Breakfast is available at the Cafe (I didnt try) and Dinner is available at the adjoining Indian restaurant - I did try and it was good. I will be back to Bright to conquer some of the mountains the weather at the time did not let me get to the top of, and look forward to visiting the Cycle Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Paul_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightOriental, Owner at Bright Velo, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Hello Paul,

Many thanks for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please note that we are in the process of theming the Cycle Inn, so next time you should find the units a bit more interesting and a little more updated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Bright in the not too distant future.

Warm wishes,
Susan & Wayne
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    129
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
58
106
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you are into cycling, mountain biking or road, you have to plan a trip to Bright and stay here, this is the Mecca for cyclists in terms of accommodation here. Wayne and Susan are as nuts about cycling as you are, so you are with like-minded people. The rooms are straightforward and no-nonsense and reasonably priced. Cafe Velo is very cool, great coffee and environment. And whether you need cycling advice, directions, ideas, whatever, the answers are only a question away. The accommodation and friendliness is a big part of the reason why I come back to Bright, and will keep coming back. All power to you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunroofsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightOriental, Owner at Bright Velo, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We're not meant to call people by their names on here, but I acknowledge that you are one very good guest and we enjoyed welcoming you back to Bright again, as we will in the future.

Many thanks indeed for your great review. We hope next time to see you with bike in tow and a bit more time to relax and enjoy all Bright has to offer.

I just bought a new mtb today :-) so very happy and excited to get into it.

Take care and warm wishes,
Susan & Wayne
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights on business and tourist trip.
Very good accommodation. We were offered a free upgrade to a room in the main building but declined the offer as the ground floor room was of high standard and closer to the car park. The offer was appreciated and reflects the positive attitude of the owners.
Had a meal in the Indian restaurant which was also very good.

Alan from Yorkshire

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightOriental, Owner at Bright Velo, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Hello Alan,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Bright and we're delighted you had a good time chez nous.

Thank you also for your kind words about the room. I think you stayed in Room 29, which is not my favourite room. I'm working at the moment to upgrade it and make it more cosy and interesting.

If you're back in Australia any time in the future, we hope you'll come back to Bright and to Bright Velo - which is the new branding we'll be using from September.

Warm wishes,
Susan & Wayne,
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Ten of us stayed in 2x2 bedroom apartments and 1 motel room in February 2012. We were in Bright to sample the cyling in the locality and were not disappointed. Manager Wayne took us on 2 guided rides and was full of knowledge on the area and all things cycling (he is a two time Australian road champion). The accommodation was good but the atmosphere of the establishment, especially the Cafe Velo area, was great if you are into cycling.

Room Tip: The apartments are self contained and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobseym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightOriental, Owner at Bright Velo, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hello Bob,

Thanks so much for your review. We're really glad everyone enjoyed their stay.
It was lovely to meet you all - look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Susan & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Cycle Inn is friendly, clean and excellent value. We are a group of four who call ourselves Mulga Bills Bicycle Club. The generous lunch and excellent coffee on arrival is recommended. A gentle scenic ride to Wandilgong and back on the new bitumen river track was just right after a four hour drive from Melbourne.

After a shower and free WiFi access we had dinner at the inhouse Indian restaurant which has hearty food and excellent wine all very keenly priced.

The mainly recreational bike riders were great fellow guests. On our second day we rode to Gapsted (38k) for lunch at the Winery. The rail trail has beautiful scenery, avenues of trees and boutique farms producing everything from berries to wine and hops, along the way. Having two cars with bike racks we could leave one at Everton and ride downhill for 15k from Beechworth to finish a terrific day’s riding. There are lots of wonderful local restaurants and good local wines – we liked the Range restaurant at Myrtleford and Nebbiola light red wine.

Wayne and Susan are wonderful hosts and we preferred the cheaper motel-style units though the bed and breakfast rooms in the original part were freshly renovated. Secure bike parking was provided undercover.

Next time we’ll take up Wayne’s offer of an accompanied tutorial bike ride. And perhaps pricing and naming will be revised to simplify it for guests and return fair margins for the proprietors’ contributions.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightOriental, Owner at Bright Velo, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hey Mulga Bills!

It was great to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks very much for your kind review.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Warm wishes,
Wayne & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.5 km away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#7 of 13 in Bright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.1 km away
High Country Motor Inn
High Country Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Bright
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.5 km away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 km away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Bright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 km away
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Velo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Velo

Property: Bright Velo
Address: 2 Ireland St, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Bright Oriental Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price range (per night): $95 - $130
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Velo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by cyclists for cyclists, Bright Velo is your base camp for the Victorian Alps. We're not five star accommodation but you can have a five star experience with us. You'll find a warm welcome with lots of like-minded people who love cycling and the outdoor life. Whether you are with the peloton or riding solo, be sure to check out Cafe Velo - Padre coffee and plentiful food for hungry cyclists. Like our guests, we value clean air for all and there is no smoking permitted anywhere on our property. Guests who smoke on our property will sadly not be able to rebook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bright Velo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Velo Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing