We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Edwina V
Melbourne, Australia

An Enjoyable Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Nov 2023
My wife and I stayed two nights in a Queen Room at the Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was easily the best motel room we have stayed in on recent travels, and was less expensive than all others. The room was spacious, clean, bright, and well appointed, and it included a good-sized comfortable sofa. The bed was also very comfortable. I have no hesitation in recommending the Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel. Dr Edward Vaughan.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: The staff will supply crockery and cutlery if you ask for them.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large room and bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$195
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$139
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$120
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Country Hotel Room with Shared Bathroom
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Sign & External
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$162
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
City Centre Accommodation Ararat
    0.1 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$137
    • Booking.com
    0.0 km from Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Ararat
    Reviews (112)
    Filter reviews
    112 results
    Traveller rating
    45
    38
    21
    4
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    45
    38
    21
    4
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews across the road the main street rooms were very clean truck route lovely hosts great value for money free wifi centre of town would definitely stay here again woolworths motel couch grampians accommodation country
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 112 reviews
    Reviewed 18 October 2023

    No running hot water in the shower in room 8, poor water pressure and leaks from every tap in that room. When you are travelling i would consider an operating shower as an absolute must provide to the client so they can start the day fresh....there is no consideration here for the guest and the issue is not a new one. There was no response from reception when i emailed them at opening time the next day. The broken tiles in the shower are also very unsafe for users.

    location is good in centre of town near the highway and supermrket

    Room tip: Do not choose room 8
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank R1040JRdeanb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 October 2023

    We stayed 1 night here in a family room, which was a decent size with simple amenities - microwave, kettle, TV. Cutlery had to be requested from reception. The ensuite bathroom was large, with ample space by the sink, and a walk-in shower (not a stall/cubicle). There was a dispenser for soap - it was some sort of all-in-one formula - but if you need good shampoo/conditioner, better to bring your own. We found our room neat and tidy, a short walk to groceries and the main street in town. The staff were helpful, yet unobtrusive. There is a small pool on the property but it was too cold for a dip when we visited. Parking is of course available on the property. Overall, we had a pleasant stay that suited the budget.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Natasha H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 October 2023

    Room was clean and well serviced; TV hairdryer, fridge, etc
    Bed was comfortable and alternate bedding provided for cooler and warmer nights. Was quite even though all motel was full. Check-in and out was a breeze. Centrally located. It was great!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Byron C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 September 2023

    Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel is a great motel. It was clean, in a good location, and has lovely management who were flexible and provided great service. We would happily return to the motel in future.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Rebecca M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 August 2023 via mobile

    The bed and the location were excellent,however it was a very cold night and the heater in the reverse cycle struggled to keep us warm,when we retreated to bed we were warm but had to keep our coats on when we were up,in the morning we were well located for coffee and breakfast with several cafes in walking distance

    Room tip: Centrally located
    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank gbrowning57
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews