We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Victorianlad
Melbourne, Australia

Acceptable but elderly motel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2018
I had a standard room here - $95 per night rather than a budget (unrenovated ) one for $75.

The motel is about five minutes' walk from the railway station and tourist information centre. There is a fish and chip shop opposite while the well regarded but expensive Blue Duck restaurant (and bar - being a former hotel) is adjacent. Most other restaurants are down the main street, 10 minutes' walk away.

The woman at reception was perfunctory, not engaging in conversation. She lacked a smile.

My room did not have any noise from the street as the rooms were built at right angles to the road.

The room had a double or Queen and a single bed in it, thankfully with a top sheet. There was an electric blanket. Sheets and doona were in good condition. There was a choice of normal or horrible rubber pillows, and further blankets in a cupboard.

There was a kitchenette with cutlery and crockery plus a microwave, more a NZ style of motel than an Australian one. The television was fairly small but a wall mounted flatscreen.

Lighting was very poor in the room with a single globe above the table and two red chairs plus a bedside small table lamp. This needs improvement!

The bedroom was partly carpeted and partly tiled. The curtain effectively blocked light while the door had a chain on it.

The bathroom had been renovated and had a fixed hairdryer plus squeezable shampoo and soap. The water took a minjute to become hot but was then adequate. A face towel and bath mat plus acceptable bath towels were provided, as well as a hairdryer.

The motel is unattended at night which did not thrill me.

All in all an uneventful stay, especially since only about six units seemed to have patrons that weekday.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Large room and bed
Tripadvisor
AU$159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$140
1.0 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$114
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$92
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sign & External
Tripadvisor
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$134
2.1 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Country Hotel Room with Shared Bathroom
ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
City Centre Accommodation Ararat
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Ararat Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ararat
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
9
8
4
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
8
4
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

The car park is tight when the motel is at capacity. Don't rely on occupants to park in their designated spot.

The rooms have the very basics but does have an air conditioner. The one in my room was a little noisy.

The bathroom is cramped and in much need of renovation. The shower floor slopes to the drain hole and is hard to stand in the shower. It took some time for the hot water to arrive and not much cold was required.

I was concerned with a power board lodged in the window of the bathroom and did not know it's real purpose.

The decor was old and drab however the bed was very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank AUSGR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2017

My expectations were low; a budget motel in the middle of town on a Saturday night. I was sure it would be noisy and uncomfortable. Not so. My 'standard room' was clean, with pleasant grey and white decor and a comfortable queen-size bed (plus a single). It was better equipped than most budget motels, having a top sheet under the doona, plenty of cutlery and crockery, a hairdryer, lots of soap etc. Although fully booked, the motel complex was very quiet and only a short walk from shops, pubs and the Astor cinema. Overall, it was far better than a more expensive motel at which I stayed in Ararat last year.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 95,097,779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Cute and friendly cat greeted us on arrival which was a hit with the kids. The standard room was $115 for three of us. The kids would have liked a swim in the "solar heated pool" but it was freezing (obviously not heated!). Room was very comfortable, good beds - no where to wash your dishes though which meant leaving them on the bench for the cleaner.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The first time I tried this hotel and for the budget price, the refurbished rooms are quite large, clean and well appointed with fridge and microwave for self catering and also good wi-fi. This hotel is the furthest away from the busy railway and highway traffic between melbourne and adelaide , with enough town between to pretty much shield the hotel from truck traffic noise that rumbles throughout the night and can be a bit annoying at some of the other hotels. Owners are friendly and obviously investing cash-flow in doing the rooms up, so for a good value budget option you can overlook the somewhat dated central courtyard still needing its update and get a nice quiet rooms for good prices. RSL just around corner and Indian just up the road both do good meals with the RSL being quite a classy venue in comparison to many of these in smaller country towns

Room tip: Refurbished room 17 In the middle is well shieldd from road noise and had nice laminate wood flooring
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Well there was a group of us and I have to say the bed was comfortable and the water was hot for a shower, but the state of the bathroom was certainly in need of an update and the whole unit needs repainting and updating for the price we paid.

Room tip: Ask if any of the rooms have been refurbished. They were more like workmen's accommodation that we had.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank turoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews