We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectation”

1918 Bistro and Grill
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$20 - AU$40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The heart of Barossa hospitality, 1918 Bistro & Grill occupies a 100 year old home boasting roaring open fires. The charming ambience, hearty fare and friendly service has long been enjoyed by Barossans. Our iconic restaurant is a must visit for anyone seeking for an authentic Barossa experience.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

We were looking for a light dinner in this very pretty restaurant. The service was prompt and friendly. However, the food was a disappointment. We started with some garlic bread, which was quite good, and then followed with the French onion soup. This was not the traditional soup which we were hoping for, but a slightly burnt and watery onion soup which was strongly flavoured with some sort of strong stock and not pleasant to eat. The cheesy raft which would normally be cooked on top of the soup was a single piece of bread and a few tiny slices of cheese, balanced on top of a large piece of beef bone. I was not able to finish my serving, even though it was quite small. We won’t return.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank JudyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2024

After two days of cycling through the Clare Valley we crossed over into the Barossa and stayed in Tanunda. The 17 riders and three support crew were provided with a six course degustation dinner with matching wines by the wonderful team at 1918. What an experience - and the chef and his team did a fantastic job of looking after those of us that were coeliacs or had other food allergies/intolerances. We all were offered amazing creations that tasted delicious and the matching wines were fabulous. This meal was part of an organised bike tour, so menus, prices, etc were arranged long before we visited. As a result very had to comment of price, but we felt that we experienced a first class meal.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2024

This was a very well presented and inviting restaurant, Entree was Ciabatta with butter and artisan salts. Mains followed, Cauliflower Steak and Kangaroo Loin Fillet. Sides where Crispy Chat Potatoes and Green Beans. Finally another chef who knows how to cook kangaroo.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

We had a marvelous family dinner at 1918 in late March on Good Friday evening. The food and wine were superb, and the very friendly staff added to the good atmosphere. We will certainly come back to this unique place.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Dr. Ulf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

Super dinner. Friendly attentive staff and delicious food!

Also really enjoyed the delicious mocktails.

Particularly recommend the garlic bread and French onion soup

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank 88MaryB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 1918 Bistro and Grill also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to 1918 Bistro and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.