We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend.”

1918 Bistro and Grill
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$20 - AU$40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The heart of Barossa hospitality, 1918 Bistro & Grill occupies a 100 year old home boasting roaring open fires. The charming ambience, hearty fare and friendly service has long been enjoyed by Barossans. Our iconic restaurant is a must visit for anyone seeking for an authentic Barossa experience.
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

A party of six, everyone enjoyed their meals immensely. The food was beyond excellent, service superb, could not fault a thing. The atmosphere was great, cosy fire to keep warm by. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank EricW121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2021

atmosphere OK
service 1 x OK, 1 x below par
food - I didn't complain on the day because we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and I didn't want to make my host uncomfortable but...

EV olive oil - thin and flavourless but for the parmesan
paella - an insubstantial, salty, gruel-like thing with a few lumps of flesh in it
vegetarian paella - an insubstantial, salty, gruel-like thing
steak - a small lump of flesh, well-cooked, with a sweep of sweet potato mash and nothing else
mushroom tart - deconstruction was a mistake - the pastry was architectural as is concrete, a few mushrooms from a supermarket mixed pack, the truffle sauce on the menu was not available, perhaps the chef was too busy deconstructing?

the main courses were made main only through the addition of side dishes

a far cry from the 1918 of 20 years ago, more akin to the 1918 of 1918 I'd guess.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank justintayl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2021

Loads of atmosphere, dim lights and a roaring fireplace.

Attentive service, well presented dishes, very enjoyable

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CodyMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Personable service! Always friendly and the food is amazing!
Sid knows his food and genuinely offers warm and honest service!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 27Sanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

We heard a lot about this restaurant but unfortunately it didn’t live up to expectations . The food was good but not that good. The staff were friendly.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 1918 Bistro and Grill also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to 1918 Bistro and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.