We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many thoughtful touches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barossa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barossa House
Ranked #3 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Many thoughtful touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a brief one night stay, arriving on dark. Door access was easy, which was a relief as sometimes private properties represent a difficulty when arriving outside of standard hours.
This gorgeous historic property is beautifully presented both inside and out. On the whole it is a delightful place to stay but if you don't like the doily look then it's not for you.
We booked one of the smaller rooms (Photinia room) which was charmingly decorated but on the down side has a very cramped ensuite, with the peculiar arrangement of having the bathroom sink outside the ensuite in the main sleeping area. We managed the tiny ensuite for one night, but really, I wouldn't book this room again, and if you are l larger sized folk it would be quite a struggle to manage the shower.
This property shines in the area of welcoming inclusion by the owners. We only met one of the owners next day over breakfast but I felt instantly at ease. The B&B was fully booked that night and all other guests had already gathered around the one large dining table for breakfast when we entered the room, and conversation flowed easily between owner and guests; this doesn't always happen at hosted B&B's and we've had some pretty awkward times at breakfast at other places. The meal was good quality and most enjoyable. Well done Barossa House on understanding the importance of hospitality including friendliness, not just facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    41
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
99
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, could have stayed for longer! Great central location right in the heart of the Barossa Valley, great bike/walking trail opposite. A beautiful older style home consisting of four b&b bedrooms, shared lounge and dining room. Comfortable & spotless rooms. Bed/linen/bathroom all excellent quality. We enjoyed a big cooked country breakfast, also cereals/stewed fruits/homemade jams/toast/tea/coffee/juices etc. Much of the produce is sourced locally from the Valley, all fresh and seasonal. Nothing was too much trouble for Kaz. Friendly and so helpful, she is a wealth of local knowledge and more than happy to share with us. Many well known and smaller boutique wineries in the area and don't miss a visit to Maggie Beer's Farm Shop. A great way of exploring this beautiful part of South Australia.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourturnnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at Barossa House recently and were so impressed with the amenities and service. We had a room under the main roof and while it is quite small, it is wonderfully quiet as it is back from the road. We had the usual tea and coffee in the room but a plunger and fresh ground coffee was also provided (always a bit special) and there was even a beautiful decanter of Port and some delicious chocolates to indulge in. There are 2 bikes with helmets which guests are welcome to use and as there is a bike track directly across the road, we made sure we took up the cycling offer.

We were blessed with magnificent weather, so our early evenings were spent on the spacious verandah, sipping drinks and watching the dazzling sunsets. The bed linen is first class, as is the Royal Doulton china for your coffee or tea and the firm mattress was greatly appreciated by my husband!!

The following morning we arrived to a sumptuous country breakfast comprising cereals, fruit, juice, yogurts and endless bread for toasting. Sounds great right? Oh, but that is just the beginning. You are then treated to a magnificent (there's really no other word for it) freshly cooked breakfast including the softest poached eggs imaginable and the most delicious slow cooked tomatoes in the history of the planet. The best bit was that we had 2 nights which meant 2 yummy breakfasts!!! Ah, it's a tough life.

Lee and Judy were away the weekend we were there but we were well taken care of by Kaz who is an absolute treasure. She is so warm and welcoming and chatted to us about what to see and do in the Barossa area. She seemed to know what we wanted even before we did and her unique charm made the weekend that bit more personal and certainly very special. Thanks Kaz, you're a true legend!!!

Would recommend this beautiful retreat to couples and those seeking a bit of spoiling and some peace and tranquility.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hippychic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed in the new King suite – really excellent. Tastefully decorated, thoughtfully organised. Bed is perfect for good sleep. Don’t expect much of a view though.
Cooked breakfasts are superb, with plenty of fresh and homemade provisions on top.
Location is short drive into town for some excellent restaurants (Ferment Asian is so exceptional that we ate there both nights).
Also took the offer with the host, Lee, for the wine tour day – well worth it – he took us to the boutique wineries where we got to sample wines not always on the general tasting availability. He is also very knowledgeable and friendly.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at Barossa House for one night during a trip to SA. We were kindly upgraded to a larger room at the back of the property after I was a little concerned about the road noise which was very considerate. The room was spacious and nicely decorated as well as very comfortable. There was free port and chocolates, a cool double shower and tea and coffee facilities. The included cooked breakfast was very tasty and we were made to feel very welcome by Lee our host. The location is right in the middle of the wineries and the little ducklings on the property were very sweet.

The only negatives would be that the bed was a bit soft for our liking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
8.5 km away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.5 km away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.7 km away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.9 km away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
2.2 km away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa House

Property: Barossa House
Address: 2992 Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price range (per night): $198 - $258
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barossa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa House Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing