We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
15
9
4
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
9
4
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open fire old house within easy walking distance suite microwave property accommodation key barossa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed in the Sapphire Suite and enjoyed the open fireplace (plenty of wood left for the night and it was set up and ready to be lit when we got there) and a large corner spa in the bathroom which was really good. The suite was spotless and the bed was comfortable for us and it was very quiet. There is a full size fridge, microwave, plates etc but not really anywhere to wash them except for a washing up bowl and water needs to be accessed from the bathroom. However this didn't bother us as we ate out. Very short walk to main street of Tanunda. We would stay here again.

Room tip: Sapphire room has its own private entrance at front of building
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We took the whole house and it was great, exactly what we needed for 13 people. There was lots of space and it was generally very well equipped to cook although hard to fit everyone in the dining room at the same time. There were only 15 beds so not sure how it sleeps 19 and given it's old style think it would be weird to just have a room there. That said if I had a big group I would use it again and would also highly recommend vintage chef catering. Teagan and her team were amazing and made a birthday dinner party a holiday highlight.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely and reasonable place to
Stay in a quaint old house - our room had a kitchen as well that was really well appointed.
The owners were unbelievably nice to us and I can't say enough good things about them. Really nice little touches included like a litre of milk in the fridge and chic chip cookies, olive oil and condiments and then
a hair dryer in the bathroom
The place also had a nice and clean indoor pool. Easy check and out too. Can't recommend them highly enough

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kmeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We decided to book the Emerald Suite based on its advertised proximity to town. We're running the marathon on the weekend and thought it to be ideal.

In all honesty, the Emerald Suite's only redeeming feature is the fireplace, which was well stocked, as was the kitchenette. This is really one room, with a sofa in the corner and a fridge in the other.

If you're in a similar situation, looking for a weekend of peace, I'd highly recommend checking with 'Barossa Dreams' that there isn't a large family booked next door.

While we are parents ourselves, and have the utmost compassion for others with kids, this really isn't the place to have a peaceful weekend away. I can appreciate that hiring the whole place (when all the adjoining doors can be opened up) would be fun, but the Emerald 'Suite' just leaves you feeling like you're locked away in the guest room.

So couples, look elsewhere. Big families, rejoice!

Room tip: Check if a family with young children are booked at the same time.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benjileow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

THis is a Fantastic Little house, with different kinds of "apartments"/ roomswith Place for a lot of people, well enough for our Group of 13, including my two grandkids of 1,5 and 3,5 years old. House is according to info, from 1890 and the old charm, is all around you! Very nice! ( Just remember to check in at Getaways office some hundred meters away - we did and the staff there was very nice! )
As we had the whole house, it was really our "own" Little Place - of course - this time only for one(1) night. Some used the pool - it wasn't that warm,but kids doesn't care! Some used the washing machine - perfect! Parking space for your car as well - on the backside of the building !
If we will be back, we will for sure stay here again!

Christer & Gunilla with kids and grandkids,
Stockholm, Sweden.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews