We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little surprising”
Review of FermentAsian

FermentAsian
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$14 - AU$34
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Small seasonal menu of Northern Vietnamese-influenced cuisine. The focus is on local produce, most of which is grown in the family vegetable and herb garden. The business also boasts the most comprehensive wine list in South Australia, with international focus on wines that harmonise with the subtly spiced Asian cuisine. Don't expect to find a large listing of the sweet-fruited highly-charged and alcoholic Barossa Shiraz's, but you will find pages and pages of Champagne, German Riesling, White and Red Burgundy, Beaujolais, as well as the most comprehensive listing of wines from new and exciting local Barossa, Clare and Adelaide Hills producers. A wine pilgrim's paradise established for the local wine making community, many of whom are seen each night enjoying dinner at fermentAsian. Note that the wine list was awarded the top wine list award in Australia in the gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year awards in July 2016.
Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

This restaurant is very popular in the Barossa, but a few things were a bit of a surprise for us. We were shown to our table by a polite waiter, and given a very long time to peruse the very extensive wine list, before given our food menu. We chose wine by the glass (starting at $14 per glass) as the bottles were very expensive.

We shared a most delicious prawn and mango salsa entrée as our starter. We both chose the barramundi in a green curry sauce for our mains. It was not light and fresh as we expected a Vietnamese dish to be. The fish was cooked perfectly, but the taste was overwhelmed by the sauce which was very flavourful, but too thick.

The dessert of orange curd and ginger ice cream was delicious, but we were surprised by how tiny the serving was.

It is a lovely restaurant, but we won’t be returning.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank JudyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2024

Really disappointing food, pretty much devoid of flavour. The betel leaves with pork tasted like minced beef, the Hanoi spring rolls needed some salt added, and the grilled mayura beef did have some flavour but tasted ike it had been soaked in lime juice for 2 days.
We have had literally hundreds of SE asian meals, and this was probably the poorest, street food in SE Asia is a lot lot better. Street food in Hanoi makes spring rolls that taste substantially better than these.
Service was of a high standard.
Wine menu is far too presumptuous, why so many bottles priced at over $1000 - you need way better food to justify spending that much on wine to accompany it.
We won't be heading back.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelbugaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

I remain convinced that this is one of South Australia’s best restaurant experiences Excellent service, consistent, high quality local seasonal food, world class wine list in an amazing setting. This restaurant celebrates 14 years and just never misses a beat. Toui and her team must be congratulated. I feel humbled and sustained eating at Fermentasian. Thank you

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank RogerAliSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

Booked FermentAsian on a whim. So glad we did, fresh delicious and innovative menu. The wine pairings with the chefs choice menu was exceptional. Knowledge and friendly staff. Definitely give this place a try.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank MurrayW345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

This was my fifth visit to Ferment Asian and we loved the food as usual.

We ordered a la carte as we had tasted the entire menu. Highlight was the Mayura Station beef, the quality of the meat was excellent. The main was generous serve, probably enough for 3 people. We (2 of us) had 2 small + 2 mains + vege.

Some of the reasons I’m going a bit harsh this time by not giving 5 stars.
- the food menu hasn’t really changed much since 2011, while there were delicious but not necessarily rushing back for any of the dishes.
- the decor of the new section is soulless. To me, it’s like dining in a conference venue. Pot plants and lighting adjustments would have soften the ambience. There was a very sad looking pot plant that need to be cared for.
- while the service was professional and good but lacking of personality and warmth.

Regardless, it is still an institution in Barossa, should be in your restaurant bucket list.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank 456brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed FermentAsian also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 

Been to FermentAsian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.