We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put it in your bucket list!”
Review of FermentAsian

FermentAsian
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$14 - AU$34
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Small seasonal menu of Northern Vietnamese-influenced cuisine. The focus is on local produce, most of which is grown in the family vegetable and herb garden. The business also boasts the most comprehensive wine list in South Australia, with international focus on wines that harmonise with the subtly spiced Asian cuisine. Don't expect to find a large listing of the sweet-fruited highly-charged and alcoholic Barossa Shiraz's, but you will find pages and pages of Champagne, German Riesling, White and Red Burgundy, Beaujolais, as well as the most comprehensive listing of wines from new and exciting local Barossa, Clare and Adelaide Hills producers. A wine pilgrim's paradise established for the local wine making community, many of whom are seen each night enjoying dinner at fermentAsian. Note that the wine list was awarded the top wine list award in Australia in the gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year awards in July 2016.
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

This was my fifth visit to Ferment Asian and we loved the food as usual.

We ordered a la carte as we had tasted the entire menu. Highlight was the Mayura Station beef, the quality of the meat was excellent. The main was generous serve, probably enough for 3 people. We (2 of us) had 2 small + 2 mains + vege.

Some of the reasons I’m going a bit harsh this time by not giving 5 stars.
- the food menu hasn’t really changed much since 2011, while there were delicious but not necessarily rushing back for any of the dishes.
- the decor of the new section is soulless. To me, it’s like dining in a conference venue. Pot plants and lighting adjustments would have soften the ambience. There was a very sad looking pot plant that need to be cared for.
- while the service was professional and good but lacking of personality and warmth.

Regardless, it is still an institution in Barossa, should be in your restaurant bucket list.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank 456brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2023

Quite an experience. Certainly not a predictable cheap Asian restaurant , a small menu, however the food is memorable & in a class of it's own. Incredible wine list. Top service. Amazing.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kennethstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2023 via mobile

The food was sublime. Service with about 3-4 staff seemed effortless and so efficient. My husband & I sat near 3 tables of about 14 at each table. The service to these tables was like a fine tuned machine!! The owner was out sweeping the front path when we booked at 4pm!
Pork belly and grilled SA squid were beautiful. As was Kaffir Lime Crème Brûlée. Great restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank JACandJOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

In a very modern setting, this Vietnamese restaurant offers delicious food and a VAST wine list (with local faves under $100 through to 1924 French rarities at $$$$).

The $85 per person tasting menu appeared to be popular but not necessary if you want to select your own dishes. The pork belly was fatty but very tasty, betel leaves so good the locals recommend them, and I liked the lime brûlée.

I can see why this restaurant is so well regarded.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank AlexofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023

It's been 5 years since we last visited so naturally we chose this restaurant for dinner on an overnight stay in Tanunda. This time we ate in the large airy room at the back and again were greeted with a smile. We opted to pay $25 for BYO as we had a special bottle of wine to share with our friends. We all had a glass of white to start with which paired perfectly with the spring rolls which were sensational. Being coeliac, it was surprising to find that they were gluten free. Heaven!
My barra curry was lovely and I was very happy with my choice as were the others with the pork belly and squid. The flavours are zingy and fresh. We won't wait so long to return next time.

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank PJswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed FermentAsian also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 

Been to FermentAsian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.