We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
61
23
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
23
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fire lock box home away from home barossa valley two nights within walking distance lovely cottage beds were comfortable bottle of wine air conditioning nespresso machine attention to detail winery wineries oven fridge mattress
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2023

We stayed in cottage 3 for two nights. It was small and outdated in terms of decor and facilities. The mattress in the master bedroom was beyond old. My sister had to sleep on the (uncomfortable couch in the lounge) as the bed sagged badly into a great dip in the middle. In the second bedroom things weren’t much better unfortunately, it felt like a jail cell. None of us enjoyed a good nights sleep.
The kitchen was a joke, so tiny that two people could barely fit. No dishwasher which would have been handy for all the dirty plates that were left in the cupboard. The utensils were ancient and included one grotty old Decor plastic salad server! . The lovely cleaning ladies tried their best to provide new ones but couldn’t. The lounge was pokey and the table and chairs squeezed into a corner. As a party of four adults we felt it was grossly inadequate and very expensive for what was provided. The outside area was nice enough so we sat there when we could.
I did make a written complain to the owners Grant and Helen Burgess . Their representative couldn’t have cared less and was not the least bit interested in our discomfort. I received a reply from her thanking me for my comments as it would help to improve things for future guests. I don’t think so!!! There are plenty of nice places to stay in Tanunda so don’t waste your time staying here

Room tip: If you want value for money stay elsewhere. The only good thing about this place is the location
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Katetherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Chevalier, General Manager at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Hello,
I would like to thank you for your honest review of the property and your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and opportunity to look into your issues and better our services for future guests.
Warm Regards, Melissa and The Tanunda Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2022 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Winery Cottage. The cottage is so homely and cute. Kitchen is well stocked with everything you would need to self cater -decent knives, platters, oven and cook top, Nespresso machine and pods, plus a bottle of wine and bread etc for brekkie in the fridge.

Air con/heating throughout which is handy.

Walking distance to the village and many wineries. Our pick of the area is definitely Artisans. Fantastic place to stop and really understand what you’re drinking.

Best restaurant within walking distance is FermentAsian (fantastic food).

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jetsetteraussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Chevalier, General Manager at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Barossa Valley soon.
Warm Regards, Melissa and The Tanunda Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2022

We spent 4 nights in June in this lovely cottage five minutes walk from the centre of Tanunda. After a disappointing accommodation experience in Clare we were very pleased with Winery Cottage. The beds were comfortable and the cottage was lovely and cosy on our arrival with a gas fire in the lounge, and ducted air conditioning. Attention to detail was apparent throughout the cottage. Our only suggestion would be that the cottage is suitable for 6 people, but there are only sufficient seats in the lounge for four. We enjoyed visiting Underground Cellars next door and tasting their wine and port. Overall a great few days in the Barossa Valley.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CatherineR1738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Chevalier, General Manager at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Hello Catherine,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and tasting. We want to also thank you for your feedback on the seating in our living room.
Warm Regards, The Tanunda Cottages Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2022

This is a beautiful facility with three separate cottages. The exterior is beautiful, as is the interior.

The signage could be a little more pronounced, as we missed it twice when we drove through.

Our booking was through an external website and we didn’t receive the lock box instructions. This meant we had to call and leave a voicemail to get the details.

Our cottage was very roomy with a federation theme throughout. The overall word to describe it is “homely”. We instantly felt at home.

The kitchenette is well appointed and good bathroom facilities.

The bed is very comfortable with crisp clean linen.

This was a fantastic and surprising stay. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank serviceintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Chevalier, General Manager at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2022

Thank you for such a kind review, we look forward to your next stay at Tanunda Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2022

Tanunda Cottages has all the comforts of home. We loved the water filter, the nespresso machine, ducted air, awesome shower & super comfy beds. Make sure you also visit the Underground Cellars next door.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Burge, Agency / Consultant at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and explored Underground Barossa too. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews