We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wanted to try char Barossa ”
Review of Char Barossa

Char Barossa
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$22 - AU$60
Description: Relaxed dining, friendly service & simple food done well. This is our restaurant philosophy with a seasonal menu featuring the flavours from the chargrill. A family-owned business in the heart of the Barossa Valley, we are prominently located in the Main Street of Tanunda. Offering a relaxed & family-friendly environment, you may choose to dine in the comfort of our Dining Room, enjoy the sunshine on our front Terrace or the serenity in our Char Garden out back. We are known to indulge in a fine Barossa wine ourselves and would love to share our recommendations for you to enjoy with your meal from our extensive wine list. We hope to host you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed dining, friendly service & simple food done well. This is our restaurant philosophy with a seasonal menu featuring the flavours from the chargrill. A family-owned business in the heart of the Barossa Valley, we are prominently located in the Main Street of Tanunda. Offering a relaxed & family-friendly environment, you may choose to dine in the comfort of our Dining Room, enjoy the sunshine on our front Terrace or the serenity in our Char Garden out back. We are known to indulge in a fine Barossa wine ourselves and would love to share our recommendations for you to enjoy with your meal from our extensive wine list. We hope to host you soon!
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

Always wanted to try char
Whilst staying in Barossa.
Staff were attentive
I ordered the steak was good but too pricey. (Meat a little cold) shame
Peri peri chicken burger was good n filling

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank LynneM1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2021

Yes we do! The standard menu did not mention which dishes were gluten free so I asked. On a separate page all dietary requirements were listed. And at the bottom it said to let the staff know if you are coeliac. How good is that? The meal was delicious! I ate the prettiest dish of spatchcock with BBQ corn. My husband ate a beautifully cooked Angus eye fillet. We shared a tasting plate of three desserts, once again carefully assembled for me, a coeliac. Thank you Char Barossa.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Carolinesept9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2021

Decided at last minute to try Char in Tanuda - The restaurant was really busy 150+ covers with tables 20+ guests. Not a problem, service was great and the food was excellent. My only small gripe - bigger portion of chips. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

What a great place to finish my birthday weekend in the Barossa. We tried a range of starters/entrees and finished with the rib eye steaks. All the food was incredible. The only think I would change would be to add a cheeky cocktail list on the drinks menu. Will be highly recommending this place to anyone coming to visit the Barossa region.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank jbear1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

Thought we’d give Char a go for the first time and we were so glad we did.
Really friendly staff (thanks Kiwi) who know their stuff.
The food available was varied and interesting with a range of yummy starters, small plates and mains and they’re byo.
The wagyu burger has got to be up there with the best burgers I’ve ever had.
Would recommend Char every time.
Thanks!

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Char Barossa also viewed

Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Char Barossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.