We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate in the Barossa 🍫”

Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe
Ranked #5 of 14 Quick Bites in Tanunda
Description: Discover more than just chocolate at the Barossa Valley Chocolate Company! Our Café provides something for the whole family, with an All-Day Dining Menu that covers options for Brunch, Lunch, Snacks, Share Platters & Sides, Stone Baked Pizzas, House-made Desserts and an extensive Kids Menu. The Café champions local ingredients and regional produce, including locally-roasted coffee using an exclusive blend just for BVCC and Hot Chocolate Frogs, made using our BVCC Belgian chocolate. Visitors can watch our chocolatiers creating our 250+ chocolate products by hand. This includes artisanal treats such as honeycomb, peanut brittle and fudge that are enrobed in premium, sustainably sourced Belgian chocolate and included in our house-made gelato and desserts. Our award-winning pralines collaborate with local businesses for unique creations. Unique interactive and educational experiences include our signature Wine & Chocolate Pairings, featuring Vineyard Road premium Barossa Valley wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Discover more than just chocolate at the Barossa Valley Chocolate Company! Our Café provides something for the whole family, with an All-Day Dining Menu that covers options for Brunch, Lunch, Snacks, Share Platters & Sides, Stone Baked Pizzas, House-made Desserts and an extensive Kids Menu. The Café champions local ingredients and regional produce, including locally-roasted coffee using an exclusive blend just for BVCC and Hot Chocolate Frogs, made using our BVCC Belgian chocolate. Visitors can watch our chocolatiers creating our 250+ chocolate products by hand. This includes artisanal treats such as honeycomb, peanut brittle and fudge that are enrobed in premium, sustainably sourced Belgian chocolate and included in our house-made gelato and desserts. Our award-winning pralines collaborate with local businesses for unique creations. Unique interactive and educational experiences include our signature Wine & Chocolate Pairings, featuring Vineyard Road premium Barossa Valley wines.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

The Barossa Valley Chocolate Co. is a lovely place to visit and buy chocolates but I probably wouldn't eat there again. The first time my partner and I visited we were with family and we all ordered lunch however our meals never arrived. The staff offered to refund our meals and still make them for us but as we were leaving we declined the offer to re-make our food.

We went with a group of family again today and had lunch. My partner ordered the 'OMG burger' and I ordered the 'don't go bacon my heart' pizza. Our food did arrive this time thankfully but was average. The burger was stacked so high and so crooked that my partner had to take it apart and eat it with a knife and fork. The pizza was alright but very saucy and lacked toppings.

They have a huge range of chocolates available to purchase and I would return for this aspect but would not order food again.

There was also a delicious moscato available to purchase and I bought a bottle to take home.

The atmosphere and location is beautiful and the staff are lovely. Definitely worth a visit! 😊

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank ambersinsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lachlan A, Marketing at Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your valuable feedback. Firstly, we're so sorry about the mix up on your first visit and thank you for giving us another chance. Thank you for the feedback on the menu, we're always trying to improve, so this is very valuable. Thank you also for your kind words on our chocolate range and wines - we do our best! Hope to see you again soon for another visit. Lachlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2021

Very over priced. Not much to see when we were there as they were not making any chocolates. We did buy a box of chocolates, but felt that it was over priced

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lachlan A, Marketing at Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hi Trisha, thank you for your feedback. Our chocolate is more expensive than supermarket offerings but this is due to every product being made and packaged on-site using local ingredients for inclusions wherever possible and premium Belgian chocolate. We do continually review our prices and make any adjustments where we see necessary and will take this on board during our next review. We are sorry that you missed our Chocolatiers in action during your visit. We do try and schedule it so that something is happening in the kitchen at all times, but must have missed the mark here. Again, we will review this and hopefully for your next visit there is a marked improvement to the experience. Thanks again for your feedback. Lachlan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2021 via mobile

Incredible wine.
Incredible food.
Incredible service.
Delicious chocolate.
Wonderful views.
Convenient location.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank hojuben84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lachlan A, Marketing at Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2021

Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

Didn't know this place existed but was a good find. Wide variety of chocolates and great place to have a coffee and cake.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Cr0ws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

Being a chocoholic this was a must do on our list. The building is modern in a lovely setting so guessing it has recently moved from older premises. It's clean and clinical with plenty to choose from but has zero character for a chocolate shop. Hoping their chocolate tastes nice.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank javery67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lachlan A, Marketing at Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2021

Hi there, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Thank you for your review. We are continually making efforts to inject personality and character into our site, so we hope on your next visit you are blown away by some of our new additions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe also viewed

Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Barossa Valley Chocolate Company Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.