We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lesley A
Macclesfield, Australia

Overnight bliss

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2017via mobile
Pretty little one bedroom cottage in reasonable distance from the main Tanunda town area & walking distance to Langmeil Winery. Stayed in 'Hoffman' cottage which is furthest from the car park. Easy walk from carpark to cottage along paved footpaths which have security lighting that activates at night. Parking under the carport area is difficult if you have a large SUV type vehicle, but is manageable if not all spaces are being used. The cottage itself is very clean & comfortable, with reverse cycle heating, large screen TV, board games, books & all the kitchen equipment (including stove, oven, microwave, fridge, sink) that you are likely to require. The complimentary Champagne, fudge & fruit basket were a thoughtful addition. Breakfast needs were catered for with a choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, breads & muffins for toasting, croissants, juice, milk & a variety of spreads for the toast or croisssants. I would think these alternatives would ensure that all tastes are catered for. Bathroom is small but adequate, but the bathroom fan that is connected to the light switch was quite noisy & annoying. The spa & sauna are in a separate room nearby but unfortunately the spa was out of order during our stay & it was a little too cold to try out the pool, as even tho' it is heated, it is still outside. Would like to have tried out the electric bikes, but our stay was not long enough, so not sure if they are worth the effort, but the opportunity is available. The bedroom is lovely & the bed was comfortable with a nice outdoor setting available outside the sliding bedroom door. Also available was a gas BBQ adjacent to an undercover seating/dining area, which would be fabulous during a summer visit. Overall, Langmeil is a pleasant place to stay & I would be happy to return.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Langmeil Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Langmeil Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Langmeil Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Langmeil Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 km from Langmeil Cottages
Free parking
    1.4 km from Langmeil Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
    1.1 km from Langmeil Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    General
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$130
    • Priceline
    2.6 km from Langmeil Cottages
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$138
    • StayForLong
    1.7 km from Langmeil Cottages
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.3 km from Langmeil Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Tanunda
    Reviews (68)
    Filter reviews
    68 results
    Traveller rating
    40
    20
    6
    2
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    40
    20
    6
    2
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews barossa valley wine tasting cute cottage walking distance highly recommend staying here
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    25 - 30 of 68 reviews
    Reviewed 21 April 2017

    Tired dated facilties, pokey little 2 rooms straight out of the 1980s. Did not feel welcoming. Breakfast was more like a cheap hotel or a school lunch box. Plastic chair outside the front door. Parking available but quite difficult to nose into. Paving blocks are pushed up and down by tree roots and present quite a hazard to walk on. Photos for this accommodation must have been taken a very long time ago when it was fairly new. The gardens did feel nice and the famous Langmeil winery is right next door. However for what they charge for this accommodation you would expect far better than what you actually get. It felt like everything was done on the cheap. Also check their website for Disability Friendly NOT terms. Anyone with a service dog has to pay even more money and there are special terms for the dog, extra cleaning charges etc. It seemed to me a clear discouragement for anyone with a disability, without actually stating it. I would not recommend this accommodation for many reasons. There are many choices in the Barossa that charge less and are in my opnion, far superior options to this one.

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Rhondera
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 March 2017

    Lovely little 1 bedroom stone cottages. Quaint garden setting. All amenities in a lovely peaceful garden setting BBQ area clean and supplied with BBQ tools Lovely pool and spa and sauna area. Langmeil Winery just 5 min walk down the road. Shops and resurants 15-20 min walk down the road. Fully equiped kitchen was great and the continental breakfast was good too. Probably ask to stay in the 2 that have the new air conditioning units as the one we had worked great but was pretty noisey. Friendly welcome and all info on the area was supplied

    Room tip: Ask for a unit with the new air conditioning
    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Roxene A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

    Absolute highlight of our trip...hiring the electric bikes was amazing. So much fun and such a fun way to see the barossa for us non wine people...just a fun day. Thank you for the tips and setting us on our way safely.
    We cycled all the way to Angaston, back to Nuri, and then to sights in between and off the track. Loved every minute and managed to eat at every interval! No where near used the battery and a five-ish hour cycle was great with stops :)

    Date of stay: March 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Emma W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

    Cynthia very accomodating . The cottages are beautifully cleaned and you want for nothing. Complimentary bottle of champagne. breakfast fit for a king . Local fudge . The swimming pool is warm and inviting . The spar massive . Very peaceful place with a lovely walk down the road to tanunda town . We will definatly be back .

    Date of stay: March 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank hlt_10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights at Langmeil Cottage, Flaxman Cottage. Cynthia welcomed us and showed us around, a good host willing to please. She provided fresh fruit and crossiants for breakfast and the cottage was clean and comfortable. A great location to operate from when wine tasting and close to cafes and restaurants in Tunundra. Recommend this accomodation for a quiet week end getaway.

    Date of stay: February 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 550steve
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews