We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Malaysian”
Review of Kampung Kitchen

Kampung Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Tanunda
Price range: AU$8 - AU$17
Description: Serving delicious, authentic Malaysian cuisine. Open for lunch and dinner, also serving coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving delicious, authentic Malaysian cuisine. Open for lunch and dinner, also serving coffee.
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

I love the flavours of Malaysia and this restaurant knows how to deliver. Very good value for food that is crafted with care. Provides a good balance to the overpriced winery restaurants in the region. If you want a quick, tasty meal it is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank 904kenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2023

Thrilled to find Kampung Kitchen on our recent stay in Tanunda. We ADORE Malaysia and Malaysian food so it was a pure delight to discover this place - and Ya is so friendly and generous.

We ate Ya's delicious food on two occasions and had we been in the Barossa longer, we'd have returned again and again. Here's what we enjoyed from Kampung Kitchen:-

* Seafood Sambal
* Chicken Green Curry
* Chicken Satay
* Beef Satay
* Seafood Coconut
* Asian Salad
* Char Kway Teow

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gardengirl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2022

Ordering and service seemed a bit haphazard. I had the beef curry. Large is a very large serving, a small would do if sharing or having a mix. The beef was very hot. Nicely spiced, but it was physically very hot, like it had been microwaved. The rice was undercooked, but again very hot. My wife's (chicken) meal was very good. I might give this place a second try, but I wouldn't rush to do it.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank APP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2022

A lovely meal and service experience from a casual takeaway/dine in restaurant. This is being run so well by only 2 very pleasant people with great service ethic. Very busy dine in and takeaway when we arrived. We were greeted by a young man who advised there would be a 30 min wait for dine in meals and that was fine with us. Fantastic forethought to remove any different expectations upfront. Chef/owner then came to our table to check our preference for spicyness in our food. Chef delivered entree with a caution to let cool as they were very hot. He then returned to ask if we were ready for our main. Main was delivered and delicious. He then came to check during our meal if everything was satisfactory. The younger man took our payment and apologised for the waiting time. We assured him that the wait time had not been that long and we were prepared to wait longer having seen the popularity of this place. We were very impressed by the food and service.

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

Greeted by a friendly enthusiastic owner/chef who is passionate about Malaysian food.
For starters we had curry puffs which came piping hot and stuffed with a delightful spiced potato filling and chicken satay. The satay was beautifully marinated, chargrilled and served with a house made peanut sauce full of spice and flavour - light years away from the dried out sad chicken sticks served with barely disguised peanut butter I’ve had in other establishments. For mains there was a duck curry and Sambal beef with spruce and roti. The curry was a duck leg bathed in a rich, dark sauce with a nice complexity. The Sambal was my highlight of the night. Tender strips of beef simmered in a tomato and chilli sauce with the added funk of belachan, so often missing when I have ordered it at other restaurants. The roti was crisp and light and perfect for dipping into the curry. A small bowl of ground fresh chilli was provided for those that like extra heat.
All this for $39 inclusive of 2 soft drinks. No alcohol is served. Unsurpassed value and highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2022
3  Thank 904kenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kampung Kitchen also viewed

Rowland Flat, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Kampung Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.